Report/Result – Clayton Velo Spring Classic


Tour of Britain Sprints winner a few years ago, Pete Williams solo’d to victory in the Clayton Velo Spring Classic on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Clayton Velo Spring Classic

A full field of 80 started the race in cold but dry conditions for the 15 lap 58 mile handicapped race. First group away consisted of 27 Juniors followed by group two made up of category 2,3 and 4 rider.


Pete Williams with his trophy 

Last away giving the juniors a 6.5 min start was the Pro/Elite25 strong scratch group. Primes every lap kept the juniors hungry for the £10 on offer, Fabien Brenan North City velo mopping up 4 of them!.

It took almost 2 hours before the scratch group made its way to the head of the race splitting in two in the process with pressure coming Michael Ashurst (Champion Systems) and from the One Pro Team and Maddison Genisis.

But the juniors were not giving in with eventual winner Pete Williams making contact with two laps to go on his own. The juniors couldn’t hold him and Pete took the solo victory with the plucky Juniors in the prizes with best placed Robert Scott VCUK PH Mass in 5th.

Rain and sleet made the race the Classic it is in the last half hour and Pete was joined on the podium by team mates Sam Williams and Josh Hunt who caught the juniors in the last few miles.

The winner received the Dave Wilkinson Memorial trophy, a long time Clayton rider who sadly passed away last year doing what he liked best, riding his bike.

1 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling
2 Samuel Williams One Pro Cycling
3 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling
4 David McGowan Pedal Heaven RT
5 Robert Scott VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Team
6 Adam Hartley VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Team
7 Alistair Rutherford The Nab Racing Elite
8 Joshua Lawless Team Moda-Anon
9 Simon Wilson Team Polypipe
10 George Atkins One Pro Cycling
11 Dillon Byrne Champion System VCUK Racing Team
12 Timothy Jones Cycle Sport Pendle
13 Michael Ashurst Champion System VCUK Racing Team
14 Andy Leigh Team Handi-Ness
15 Edward McParland All Terrain Cycles
16 Max Spedding VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Team
17 Andy Brown Glasgow Cycle Team
18 Ralf Hodgson VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Team
19 Shaun Pearson THR Racing
20 Alex Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Altura MGD
21 Hamish Graham Green Jersey RT
22 Jacob (J) Booth Dave Hinde Racing Team
23 Billy Harding Paul Milnes – Bradford Olympic RC
24 Ellis Kirkbride North City Velo Cycling Team
25 Declan Hudson Liverpool Century RC
26 Jack Stanton-Warren Clay Cross Road Team
27 Matthew Lythgoe The Nab Racing
28 Jay McCarthy Green Jersey RT
29 Karl Smith Bott Cycle Team
30 James Claydon The Nab RT
31 Ryan Coulton Salt Ayre Cog Set
32 Stephen Abbott THR Racing
33 Samuel Monkhouse Salt Ayre Cog Set
34 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD
35 Andrew Coupe Wheelbase Altura MGD
36 Karl Owen Team Chronomaster
37 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle
38 Fabian Brennan North City Velo Cycling Team
39 Simon Deplitch Team Chronomaster
40 Ben Howe Cycle Sport Pendle
41 Luke Mullen Lancaster University Cycling Club
42 Ryan Ashcroft St Helens CRC
43 Rebecca Rimmington IKON – Mazda
44 Samuel Pickering THR Racing
45 Ewan Mathieson Glasgow Cycle Team
46 Angus Claxton Glasgow Cycle Team
47 Jake Dobson Newcastle Phoenix Cycling Club
48 Harry French Cycle Sport Pendle
49 Alasdair Fairhurst Lune RCC
50 Conor Jardine Salt Ayre Cog Set
51 Aaron Denver Chorley Cycling Club
52 Grant Martin Spokes RT
53 Alexander Hutchinson Pedalsport Cycling Club

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,