Result – Velo29 Winter Series round 7


Alex Dalton and David Beattie winners at round 7 of the Velo29 WInter Series at Croft in the North East

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Velo29 Winter Series round 7

Today saw the last round of the Velo29 Winter Series on Croft Motor Circuit.

The 7 round series, starting in early January seemed optimistic with such an early start however all rounds ran with only a short delay on the 3rd round due to a frosty circuit. There was a few touch and go and a little salt needed on the shaded corners!

Riders as far South as Cambridge and a big number from across the border attended each week with 160 riders taking place in the today’s last round, plus 69 youth races!

Ladies Overall

Ladies overall podium

The series is probably the biggest Winter racing event in the UK and has grown in popularity in its 5 year history. Previously the last round would be the North East Trophy however due to increasing costs and lack of Elite interest a decision was made to award the Trophy to the overall winner of the Winter Series. A ladies event was added this year which proved to be popular, with typically 20 ladies in each event.

A huge number of new racers enjoy the series, Croft is safe and fast and Velo29 do a lot of work to convert their Sportive riders to racing. More than ever this year new people have given racing a try, hopefully a good number will stay in the sport.

The trophies were presented today, Seonaid Thompson of Albarosa was a deserving winner of the ladies race, an impressive 6 out of 7 wins, only missing the delayed round choosing not to race due to the weather.

Mens Overall#

Men’s overall podium

Andrew Scorey of Berwick Wheelers had the men’s prize wrapped up with a week to go, a very consistent performance throughout. Julian Varley was 2nd and Ben Hetherington of Achieve Northside Skinnergate was a popular third, had there been a “most attacking rider” prize, it would surely gone to Ben!

The next Velo29 event is the Daffodils Sportive from Thirsk on the 18h April with more racing to come in the summer at the Stockton Cycling Festival and Bishop Auckland Cycle Races.

1 Alex Dalton Squadra RT
2 Carl Donaldson Alnwick CC
3 Julian Varley
4 Ellis Kirkbride North City Velo Cycling Team
5 Jack Rees Achieve Northside Skinnergate
6 Fabien Brenan North City Velo Cycling Team
7 Joel McGlynn
8 Andrew Scorey Berwick Wheelers CC
9 Alex Luhrs Achieve Northside Skinnergate
10 connor swift polypipe
11 Chris Mather M Steel
12 Arthur Didelot Albarosa Cycling Club
13 David Beattie Hawick CC
14 David Johnson Blumilk
15 David Ogg Clay Cross
16 Fergus Robinson
17 Rhys Donnelly Edinburgh RC
18 jake beach vertex
19 David Atkinson Achieve Northside Skinnergate
20 Pierre Vernie Clay Cross
21 robert gray york cyceworks
22 Freddie Jagger
23 Christopher Mark NRG/Godleys RT
24 John Cann Blumilk
25 adam ribertson blumilk
26 Richard Jones Achieve Northside Skinnergate
27 Hamish Carrick Speg – Project 51
28 aaron handley sheffrec cc
29 Steven Lacey
30 martin hopkinsob fietson tempo
31 colin humphries achieve
32 Matthew Williams Chevin Trek
33 Ben Rowe Achieve Northside Skinnergate
34 Ben Hetherington Achieve Northside Skinnergate
35 Fabian Brennan North City Velo Cycling Team
36 David Bollan
37 Jacob Brown Kingsnorth International Whlrs
38 Richard Moore Squadra RT
39 Brad Stokes Achieve Northside Skinnergate
40 Jacob Trotter Squadra RT
41 dykan flasher prolgue rt
42 henry johnson marton rt
43 Mathew Dalby
44 Jack Taylor Team WattCycle
45 Andrew Waring
46 Simon Gaunt
47 TBC
48 mark johnson albaross
49 Lee Cairns Team Swift
50 Darren Williamson
51 jason hunt achieve
52 Ruper Norris
53 Raimon Marin N/A
54 Darren Pian
55 martin brearey cleveland wheelers
56 Matthew Matthew Matthew
57 Tom Timothy Achieve Northside Skinnergate
58 mike milken fietsen tempo
59 Chris Sleath Watt Cycle
60 rob ure Kelso Wheelers
61 Jacob Fuller Petuaria RT
62 Sam Lane-Ryan
63 Jonathan schofield specialized harrogate
64 tim wilccck asfra rt
65 Joe Davison Achieve Northside Skinnergate
66 Paul Sill
67 Elliot metcalfe nutcracker

1 David Beattie Hawick CC
2 Domonic Cordner Durham University Cycling Club
3 Fergus Robinson Allen Valley Velo
4 Doug Slatter Berwick Wheelers CC
5 David Leaming Yh Training Scarborough RC
6 Craig Horseman Rock to Roll Cycles Ltd
7 Simon Massey Team WattCycle
8 David Trotter Gaint York Race Team
9 Dominic Blythe Berwick Wheelers CC
10 Oskar Brailsford Geared Up Cycles
11 Ben Spencer Adept
12 Matthew Dalby Harrogate Nova CC
13 Christian Armstrong Teesside Clarion C & AC
14 Angus Mathers Army Cycling Union
15 Rupert norris Kelso
16 Michael Graham N/A
17 Robert Ure Kelso
18 Mark Ceedy Southshields Velo
19 Jonathan Cave Cappuccino Cycling Club
20 Simon Walker Yh Training Scarborough RC
21 Steven Lacey Barnsley RC
22 Stephen Kirkbride North City Velo Cycling Team
23 Justin Ramel Blaydon Cycle Club
24 Tim Irwin Tyneside Vagabonds CC
25 Simon Gaunt Kelso
26 Michael walker Durham University Cycling Club
27 Edward Raddon N/A
28 Darren Williamson
29 Graham Findlater Gosforth RC
30 Robbie Mitchel Auchencrow Thistle
31 Trevor Finn Achieve Northside Skinnergate
32 Andrew Waring Berwick Wheelers CC
33 Andrew May Achieve Northside Skinnergate
34 Colin Stevenson Kelso
35 Stephen Air EMC
36 Neil Wilson Berwick Wheelers CC
37 Sam Lane-Ryan Chorlton Velo
38 Luke Wilkinson Team WattCycle
39 Ed Hopper
40 Chris Tidd Team WattCycle
41 Darren Moore Achieve Northside Skinnergate
42 Steven Craigs Blaydon Cycle Club
43 Raimon Marin N/A
44 Patrick Markey-Bell Durham University Cycling Club
45 Alex Peace Durham University Cycling Club
46 Paul Flook Edinburgh RC
47 Peter Prior Stockton Wheelers
49 Colin Telfer Hawick CC
50 James Plumstead
51 Phill Smith Team WattCycle
52 Liam Thomson Kelso
53 Alex Reid Durham University Cycling Club
54 Leo Banahan Durham University Cycling Club
55 Pete Roebuck Yh Training Scarborough RC
56 Paul Dixon Team WattCycle
57 Richard Crawley Albarosa Cycling Club
58 Gordon Dalglish Kelso
59 Nigel Carrick Berwick Wheelers CC
60 Fred Napier Houghton Cycling Club
61 Carl Turner North City Velo Cycling Team
62 Carl Maynard Cleveland Wheelers CC
63 James Blythe Berwick Wheelers CC
64 Simon Rhodes Hamsterley Trailblazers

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,