News – New name for RTTC Series


The RTTC Time Trial Circuit Series has been re-branded as the Classic Series for 2015

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – New name for RTTC Series

Link: RTTC Website

The format of the series is much the same as in recent years but includes several established classic events.

The series starts on 22 March with the Stafford RC Promotion which was the 2nd event in the series last year when the Weston-Great Haywood-Uttoxeter was used for the first time in the TT Series.  On that occasion the Mens event was won by Matt Bottrill with a new course record of 45-55, some 3-05 off the record held by Charles Taylor. In the Womens event Anna Turvey beat Wiggle Honda rider Joanna Rowsell by a slender 9 seconds, but the top five all beat the ladies course record.

Entries for the first round close at 18:00 on Tuesday 10 March.


Round 2 is the Buxton CC Mountain Time Trial at Longnor on Good Friday (3 April). Last year this event had a bumper entry of 150 riders and saw Matt Clinton come out on top, beating Tejvan Pettinger by only two seconds. Whilst the eventual series winner Dame Sarah Storey was beaten into 2nd place by teammate Katie Archibold whilst Rowsell had to settle for third.

In this round the Men/Espoirs complete three laps of the 11 mile circuit whilst the Women, Juniors, Paracyclists and Vtarans do two (though some vets chose to do an extra lap last year). Overal winner on Target Time in 2014 (2nd at Buxton), Geoff Platts has been the winner of the Mens event too here in the past

Round 3 is the Beacon RC event on Sunday 26 April. The Beacon event is a new one to the series but is an established classic in its own right. Matt Clinton has won the event for the last two years, winning the 39 mile event last year in 1-25-32 from former TT Series winner Dean Robson, whilst Liz Powell took the ladies honours. Other famous winners include LEJOG record holder Gethin Butler, Stewart Dangerfield, Willi Moore, Ray Booty and John Patson (some on the longer course though). Whilst amongst the women the promoting clubs Ruth Eyles has won on three occasions, Rebecca Slack twice and 2013 BBAR Paula Moseley once.

Round 4 sees the series move to the Lake District for the Circuit of Lake Bassenthwaite on sunday 3rd May. This picturesque circuit of 15 miles is covered once by all categories except the Men/Espoirs who over it twice. In 2014 the eventual series winner, Matt Bottrill averaged just over 29 mph to win by 4 minutes from James Ratcliffe. However Matt fell some 31 seconds short of the course record of 1-03-37, will he return in 2015 to try again? Sarah Storey was fastest lady pushing Anna Turvey into 2nd with Katie Archibald taking 3rd. The Bassenthwaite circuit has always been popular with the Paracyclists. Rik Waddon won last year.


Round 5 on 17 May takes us to the VC 10 promotion at Buckleberry, Berkshire. Last year on a warm sunny day, Postman Matt once again won the Mens event and Sarah Storey took victory in the Womens from Emily Robertson. Whilst Steve Berry was the fastet veteran, Geoff Platts won on Target Time and James Falconer took the Junior award. This coures has been described by former Womens winner, Rebecca Slack as one of her favourites.

Round 6 of the series will once again also be the RTTC Circuit Championship. The event is being promoted on behalf of the London North District by Paul Thomson. Further details about this will be published later.

There are 6 events with up to 4 events to count and there are categories for Men, Women, Espoirs, Juniors, Veterans, and Paracyclists.

There is also an age related competition for the over 40’s that is based on “Target Times” that vary depending on the riders age. The older you are, the longer you get. Female competitors receive an extra eight years allowance (a 40 year old women would receive the allowance of a 48 year old man). The Target Times also vary depending on the distance of the event.

Further details can be found on Page 220 of the 2015 Handbook

In addition to any prizes offered by the event promoters, cash prizes of £25, £15, £10 are given to 1st, 2nd and 3rd in each category (Men,Women, Vet(Scratch), Vet(Target), Junior, Paracycling. The overall winners of the Mens and Womens categories each get £250, whilst the other categories get £125.00. 1st,2nd and 3rd in each category each receive medals that are awarded at Champions Night.

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,