Report – course record for Bottrill


Matt Bottrill takes another course record in the A5 Rangers 31 mile hilly time trial on Saturday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – course record for Bottrill

On Saturday afternoon, the warm weather from the previous week gave way to bitter cold winds in the A5 Rangers 31 mile hilly time trial. Riders would race two laps of an undulating course and very technical circuit starting in Litchborough near Towcester in Northamptonshire.

The course would take in the villages of Duncote, then the major climb of Weedon had to be tackled & then the final village of Farthingstone before finishing back at Litchborough to give an opening lap distance of 15.4 miles.

The race got underway at 1pm and it was soon clear that is was going to be an hard days racing with riders wrapping up the best they could just to stay warm. The final seeds got underway and it was Danny Axford of Artic Tacx Rt that took the lead. This was soon followed by Andrew Jackson of Team Swift who set the standard followed closely by a Luke Rowe of TMG Horizon CT.

It was a good close battle between them and Andy Jackson was fastest with a time of 1:12:11. Matt Bottrill, was the last seed to start with Simon Smart & Natalie Atkins, owners of Drag2zero out on the course. Bottrill, was on a mission to impress and was soon into his stride, with an opening lap of 33:45.

It was clear that he’s was already in reaching distance of his previous course record of 1:07:40, in full flight and with the temperature getting lower, Bottrill gave it everything, nearly catching Andy Jackson on the line! Bottrill, had even ridden faster the second lap to stop the clock in 1:07:24, his third course record in three weeks.

Afterwards Bottrill said of the ride “I surprised myself today. I thought there’s no way I’m going to set a course record in these conditions but once in my stride I could see the speed was good so I just gave it everything I could. And it worked! I’m really happy with where I’m at and I know there’s more to come.”

Result (not complete)

1. Matthew Bottrill, drag2zero 1.07.25
2. Andy Jackson, Team Swift 1.12.11
3. Luke Clarke, TMG Horizon 1.13.37
4. Danny Axford, Arctic Tacx RT 1.13.42
5. Simon Norman, Arbis Colbert RT 1.14.13
6. David Meade, Pinkley CRC 1.16.30
7. Scott Walker, MG Décor 1.17.30
8. Stewart Wright, Planet X 1.17.46
9. Stuart Wilson, Bonito Squadra Corsa 1.18.29
10 Gareth Pymm, Team Zenith GC 1.20.06
First Team: Neil Barford and Alistair Shed, 45 Road Club 1.22.16 and 1.28.48

Derek Reeve Memorial Trophy: Stuart Wilson
First Woman: Cath Weiss, Baines Racing 1.34.41

A5 Rangers Hilly 15.4 single lap time trial
1. Dave Lazenby, Baines Racing 37.57
2. Gregory Ashley, Team Jewson 41.38
3. Mark Avil, A5 Rangers 41.40
4. Lee Edmonds, Mercedes AMG Petronas 41.50
5. Richard Saqladi, Speedhub 42.06
6. Hugo Hocknall, Teams Salesengine 42.47
7. Russell Green, Team Jewson 44.08
8. Paul Sexton, VC Norwich 44.41
9. Pete Trotman, A5 Rangers CC 45.46
10. Paul Woodham, Bossard Wheelers 46.53
First Woman: Laura Owen, MG Décor 52.55
First Team: Greg Ashley and Russell Green, Team Jewson

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,