Report – Peter Young Memorial Road Race


No surprise as talented 19 year old Rory Townsend wins the Peter Young Memorial Road Race on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Peter Young Memorial Road Race

Sunday 15th March | by Graham Robins

Rory Townsend the 19 year old rider from Addlestone riding for Pedal Heaven won today’s race in Surrey taking the big bunch sprint from team mate Dave Creegan on a tough course running close to the M3 motorway in Surrey.


The race was divided into two different courses which crossed over. The first lap rolled away from the HQ and included seven and a half laps in a figure of eight pattern with each lap being 8.8 miles in length. The distance of the first part of the race being 66 miles before turning onto the shorter Staple Hill course for a further seven laps of 2.9 miles making 21miles and a total race distance of 87 miles. The course was damp from the early morning rain, although the race stayed dry until two laps to go when it started again.

The first couple of laps passed without too much incident as riders looked for spaces on the road, but as they climb up Windsor road towards the roundabout five riders began to forge ahead and they soon open up a gap of 15secs. The five leaders were Vojtech Blazejovsky (Brixton Cycle Club), Jonathan Harris AND Joseph Sutton (PMR @Toachim House), Felix Barker (Cycling Team Friuli) and William Harper  Pedal Heaven RT). The lead stayed away for a full lap before the Moto’s were pulled out of the gap when the gap began to tumble and then further on this lap the race all came back together.

Over next two laps there were a couple of attacks from riders but nothing was allowed to get away, but on the final full lap a strong group of eight riders built up a strong lead of over 30secs and at one point it was getting close to 40secs. The leading group heading towards the short finishing circuit were Craig Wallduck (Dream Cycling), William Gouldourne (Corley Cycles- drops RT), George Wood (Richardsons-Trek RT), Ashley Cox (CC Luton), Jamie Caldwell (Richardsons-Trek RT), David Creegan and Rory Townsend (Pedal Heaven RT) and Rob Sharland (Paceline RT).

As the race started the seven final laps the peloton reacted and soon pulled the race all back together again with Pedal Heaven putting in a lot of work on the front. A couple of laps passed before the next reaction from the bunch when two riders William Harper  and Alex Tinsley from (Twickenham CC). These two leaders managed to stay away for three laps building up a gap of well over 30secs which they managed to hold on until two laps to go when once again the gap started to come down to 20secs and at the bell the gap was as low as 8secs with the bunch very active.

At the 1km to go and the race all back together there was going to be a big bunch sprint. As the bunch approached the finish line up Staple Hill the whole race was across the road and Rory was the strongest to pull out to take the win on the line.

1 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT
2 David Creeggan Pedal Heaven RT
3 William Goulbourne Corley Cycles – Drops RT
4 Tom Neale Catford CC Equipe/Banks
5 Alexander Murison Easton Ritte
6 Anthony Gibb Full Gas Racing
7 Matthew Clarke London Dynamo
8 Benjamin Marks
9 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT
10 Andrew Syme Primerea Sport
11 Robert Ward Danny Shane – Storck Racing
12 Jake Hales Spirit Bikes Racing Team
13 Joel Natale Dulwich Paragon CC
14 Wouter Sybrandy Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
15 Chris Jackson Strada-Sport
16 Vojtech Blazejovsky Brixton Cycles Club
17 Jonathan Harris PMR@Toachim House
18 Harry Godding Catford CC Equipe/Banks
19 Joseph Sutton PMR@Toachim House
20 Lewis Atkins Pedal Heaven RT
21 Lee Frost Tri UK
22 Felix Barker Cycling Team Friuli
23 Andrew Hastings Richardsons-Trek RT
24 Kris Jasper
25 Peter Allen Private
26 Andy Lyons Richardsons-Trek RT
27 Stuart Spies London Dynamo
28 James Bradley Twickenham CC
29 Ben Chapman Catford CC Equipe/Banks
30 Ashley Cox CC Luton
31 Oliver Davies OVB
32 Harry Veale
33 Joshua Jones Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
34 James Stuart Norwood Paragon
35 Mike Smith
36 Simon Bromley London Dynamo
37 PMR@Toachim House
38 Paul Elcock G.S. Henley
39 Pedal Heaven RT
40 Craig Wallduck Dream Cycling
41 Lawrence Carpenter Catford CC Equipe/Banks
42 Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC
43 Edward Palfreeman Corley Cycles – Drops RT
44 John McClelland Bush Healthcare CRT
45 Joshua Lawless Team Moda-Anon
46 Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK
47 Roy Chamberlain Corley Cycles – Drops RT
48 Andy Betts Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
49 Chris McNamara Pedal Heaven RT
50 Richard Poynter London Phoenix CC
51 Mike Wragg Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT
52 Jamie Scott Corley Cycles – Drops RT
53 Jamie Caldwell Richardsons-Trek RT
54 Craig Wilson VC Meudon

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,