Report – Mid Shropshire Wheelers Circuit Races 1


Elliot Jones, Maisie Duckworth, and Brian Alldis among the many winners at round 1 of the Mid Shropshire Wheelers Circuit Races at Shrewsbury on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Mid Shropshire Wheelers Circuit Race 1

Thanks to Dave Mellor (Dave Mellor Cycles)
The balmy spring day of last weekend gave way to absolutely freezing cold wind for Mid Shropshire Wheelers Circuit Race 1 at Shrewsbury Sports Village on Sunday. This first race of the season at the home of Mid Shropshire Wheelers was the start of a 10 race programme of circuit races on this purpose built 1km road circuit.

It was also Round 1 of the British Cycling ParaCycling National Series and of the 200 riders entered almost 50 were taking part in disability categories. On a freezing day when all the officials deserved medals spirits were kept high not only by exciting racing but with a Red Nose Day fundraiser selling Red Nose Cakes and £100 was raised by the Mid Shropshire Wheelers SkyRideSocial group who called in after their ride.

Races started at 10am with under 8s and under 10s and finished at 4pm with the Senior Men after a Women’s only race which will happen at every Sunday race at Shrewsbury SportsVillage.

The pattern of the day seemed to be 2up breakaways and second places for MSW with I-Rides Elliot Jones getting the better of the promoting clubs George Rowlands in the Senior Mens race, Matthew Lewis just beat promoting clubs Devon Round in the Youth A, Brian Alldis finally pulled away from Steven Arnold in the Handbikes and Wolverhampton’s Maisie Duckworth just got the better of National Time Trial Champion Hetty Niblett of Mid Shropshire Wheelers in a bunch gallop.

E/1/2/3/4 Men
1 Elliot Jones I – Ride
2 George Rowlands Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Phil Giles Beeston Cycling Club
4 Corey Ashley Beeston RC
5 Graham South Paramount
6 Peter Banham Freds
7 Kenny Cliffe Hinckley Cycle Racing Club
8 Alex Simmons BowlPhish
9 Ben Manfield Yorke Wolverhampton Whls
10 James Ireson Wolverhampton Whls
11 Kirk Vickers Mid Shropshire Wheelers
12 Jack Stanton Warren Clay Cross RT
13 Danny Smith Lichfield City CC
14 Daniel Watts Royal Air Force CC
15 Danny Parker Greenwheel Cycles
16 Greig Burt Beeston Cycling Club
17 George Evans Mid Shropshire Wheelers
18 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers
19 Ewan Grivell-Mellor Mid Shropshire Wheelers
20 Benjamin Goddard Revolutions Racing
21 Elliott Pike Cadence Sport
22 Matthew Radford Wolverhampton Whls
23 Daniel Richardson Beeston Cycling Club
24 Andrew Evans Hafren CC
25 William Pickles Mid Shropshire Wheelers
26 Tony Ryan Chester RC
27 Craig Green Greenwheel Cycles
28 Alex Jones Twickenham CC
29 David Murphy Liverpool Mercury
30 Mark Allen Congleton CC
31 Ethan Davies Wolverhampton Whls
32 Gialio Cerin Wolverhampton Whls
33 Sam Khazaei
34 Martin Christmas Graham Weigh Racing
35 Jonny Ackroyd

E/1/23/4 Women
1 Maisie Duckworth Wolverhampton Whls
2 Hetty Niblett Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Catherine Coley Ludlow CC
4 Annesley Park Giordana
5 Phoebe Martin Cadence Sport
6 Nicky Healy Mammoth
7 Mellissa Brand Icon
8 Sophie Jo Wylie Morris M and D Cycles / Fusion RT / WORX
9 Elizabeth Saul Para-T
10 Margaret Biggs Team Bader – DBF
11 Christine Bertram Cult Cycling
12 Chloe Selman Performance Cycle Coaching
13 Sally Hurst Para-T
14 Gemma Trotter Crawley Wheelers
15 Alison Salthouse Newport Shropshire CC

Handcycles – Trikes Male and Female
1 Brian Alldis West Suffolk Wheelers & Tri Club
2 Steven Arnold Help for Heroes Cycling
3 Alan Cook The Handcycling Association of the UK
4 Alex Brooke Turner Dulwich Paragon CC
5 Josh Boggi Help for Heroes Cycling
6 Luke Jones TRCC (Towy Racing Cycle Club)
7 Jennifer Browning
8 Caroline Wareing
9 Stuart Lloyd
10 Hannah Hunt The Handcycling Association of the UK
11 Lizzie Tench
12 Rhys Lewis
13 Elizabeth McTernan Alford Wheelers
14 Neil Malcolm The Handcycling Association of the UK
15 Craig McCann Houghton Cycling Club
16 Hannah Dines Team Thomsons Cycles
17 Edward Jones Petuaria RT
18 Jack Smith
19 Richard Heather

Youth A Boys
1 Matthew Lewis Wolverhampton Whls
2 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 William Lewis Wolverhampton Whls
4 Charlie Cox Lichfield City CC
5 Joe Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
6 Bailey Wilmott Derby Mercury
7 Josef Feiven Solihull CC
8 Tyler Brennan Bulls
9 Adam Allison
10 Max Gibbons Climb On Bikes CC
11 Joseph Lister Wolverhampton Whls
12 Joshua Sandman Climb On Bikes CC
13 Will Manfield Wolverhampton Whls
14 Martin Whyatt Mid Shropshire Wheelers
15 Matthew Sonn Climb On Bikes CC
16 Joshua Andrews Climb On Bikes CC
17 Rory Evans Climb On Bikes CC
18 Dylan Hall Wolverhampton Whls
19 Morgan Petty Wolverhampton Whls
20 Benjamin Hardwick Wolverhampton Whls
21 Xavier Sullivan-Touye Solihull CC
22 Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC

Youth A Girls
1 Melisa Baker Wolverhampton Whls
2 Gabriella Homer Wolverhampton Whls
3 Sophie-Jo Wylie-Morris M and D Cycles / Fusion RT / WORX
4 Lucy Nelson M and D Cycles / Fusion RT / WORX
5 Francesca Storey Newport Olympic Cycling Club
6 Esme Niblett Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Youth B Boys
1 Lewis Askey Lichfield City CC
2 Daniel Cooper Lichfield City CC
3 George Mills-Keeling Wolverhampton Whls
4 Owain Roberts Towy Riders
5 William Duggins Lichfield City CC
6 Jack Rootkin-Gray Solihull CC
7 Jamie Crump Wyre Forest CRC
8 Matthew Kingston Lichfield City CC
9 Hayden Norris Lichfield City CC
10 Rhys Thomas M and D Cycles / Fusion RT / WORX
11 Farley Barber Lyme RC
12 Leo Bungay Mid Shropshire Wheelers
13 Ethan Roberts Wolverhampton Whls
14 Ethan Wilmot Derby Mercury
15 Samuel Anslow Wolverhampton Whls
16 Andrew Dalzell Lichfield City CC
17 Alex Hall Wolverhampton Whls

Youth B Girls
1 Hollie Owens Mid Shropshire Wheelers
2 Josie Nelson Solihull CC

Youth C Boys
1 Ben Askey Lichfield City CC
2 Alex Thompson Wolverhampton Whls
3 Ben Lawrence Wyre Forest CRC
4 Taylor Carr Lichfield City CC
5 Joseph Brookes Halesowen A & CC
6 Freddie Handley Mid Shropshire Wheelers
7 Henri Bedford
8 Max Williams
9 Nicholas English Mid Shropshire Wheelers
10 Joseph Lycett Mid Shropshire Wheelers
11 Sam Marsh Heanor
12 Sam Smith Towy Riders
13 Alex Barker Halesowen A & CC
14 Jack Young Mid Shropshire Wheelers
15 Ben Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers
16 Rory Bungay Mid Shropshire Wheelers
17 Alexander Ward Wolverhampton Whls
18 Freddie Handley Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Youth C Girls
1 Grace Lister Wolverhampton Whls
2 Rhiannon Tansley Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Evelina Black Eastlands Velo
4 Georgie Duggins Lichfield City CC
5 Holly Styler Halesowen A & CC
6 Daphne Jones Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Youth D Boys
Pos Name Club
1 Luke Harris Halesowen A & CC
2 Thomas White Wolverhampton Whls
3 Joshua Jackson Lyme RC
4 Rudy Killworth Welland Valley CC
5 Sam Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers
6 Huw Wilson Welland Wilson
7 Alexander Sharpe Halesowen A & CC
8 Thomas Brodey
9 Izaak Curtis Lyme RC
10 Ewan Doran Mid Shropshire Wheelers
11 Finley Boulton Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Youth D Girls
1 Awen Roberts Towy Riders
2 Bethany Bennett Towy Riders
3 Stephanie Kingston Lichfield City CC
4 Caitlin Harvey Lichfield City CC
5 Rebecca Woodvine Mid Shropshire Wheelers
6 Grace Styler Halesowen A & CC
7 Tia Carr Lichfield City CC

Youth E Boys
1 Sebastian Ball Mid Shropshire Wheelers
2 Edward Black Bolton Hot Wheels CC

Youth E Girls
1 Lottie Styler Halesowen A & CC
2 Danielle Barker Halesowen A & CC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,