Tour of Normandy – 2nd for Peters & 3rd for Scully


Time bonuses deny Alex Peters the win in Tour of Normandy, Tom Scully third for Madison Genesis

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tour of Normandy – 2nd for Peters & 3rd for Scully

Winning the bunch kick for second and the bonuses that go with that, was enough to give Dimitri Claeys the victory in the 2015 Tour of Normandy with the race leader going into the stage, Alex Peters finishing the race in second place overall. Tom Scully was third.



The final stage of the 35th Tour de Normandie Sunday between Torigni-sur-Vire and Caen saw the riders once again battling the rain and strong winds. Held in appalling weather with strong winds with gusts recorded between 50 and 80 km/h, this final stage of the Tour de Normandy saw seven riders go into the stage covered by less than 10 seconds with Alex Peters in yellow.

From 20k, Gaetan Bille (Verandas Willems) escaped on his own and despite the strong wind which sometimes blew to more than 60 km/h,the powerful Belgian solidered on. Behind Alexis Bodiot and Tim Vanspeybroeck (Team 3M) tried to reach the leader but they were never be able to make the connection on the winding roads offering no respite to the riders.

After catching the chasers after 100k, the peloton charged on to Caen. The crosswind caused a lot of damage with the peloton splitting until there were only 30 left in the lead.

Floris Gerts (BMC Development) gave it his all going for a solo victory after attacking at the entrance of Caen where a loop of 3 km was covered three times. Gerts opened up a gap of 30 seconds and was the virtual yellow jersey at the start of the last lap. But, behind, Team Joker and Verandas Willems gave it their all as they knew there were time bonuses awarded on the finish line.

Taking advantage of six seconds remaining bonus, the Belgian Claeys jumped up the GC ladder to the top stop to win the Tour de Normandy 2015. He became the first Belgian to win the Tour de Normandy.

1. Gert Floris, BMC
2. Dimitri Claeys, Verandas
3. Coen Vermeltfoot, De Rijke

8. Owain Doull, Team Wiggins
12. Andy Tennant, Team Wiggins
13. Alex Peters, SEG
16. Tom Scully, Madison Genesis
20. Mark Christian, Team Wiggins
26. Tom Stewart, Madison Genesis
30. Mark McNally, Madison Genesis
33. Ali Slater, An Post
48. Jake Tanner,3M
49. Conor Dunne, An Post
53. Mike Northey, Madison Genesis

1. Dimitri Claeys, Verandus
2. Alex Peters, SEG @ 6 secs
3. Tom Scully, Madison Genesis 9 secs

10. Owain Doull, Team Wiggins
14. Tom Stewart, Madison Genesis
17. Andy Tennant, Team Wiggins
18. Mark Christian, Team Wiggins
22. Mark McNally, Madison Genesis

Young Rider
1. Alex Peters, SEG

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,