Report & Results – Salt Ayre Series week 1


Dillon Byrne & Andy Horwood winners at week 1 of the Edge Cycle Works Salt Ayre Circuit Race Series

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Salt Ayre Series week 1

In the E/1/2/3 race a smaller field of 15 riders made for an attacking race, with small breaks constantly forming in an attempt to escape the bunch. Dillon Byrne of Champion System VCUK was the first rider to attack and he featured in all the moves as did Jack Pullar of Velosure Starley Primal.

The two Elite riders were constantly trying to get away and were joined by Julian Pearson of Team Moda-Anon and Ellis Kirkbride of North City Velo in a break that held a gap of 15-20 seconds for 10 laps before finally being brought back by the chasing bunch. With 3 laps to go more attacks splintered the group and Dillon Byrne and Jack Pullar escaped to contest a 2-up sprint with Dillon taking the win by a clear 3 bike lengths.

Ellis Kirkbride led home the bunch for 3rd in a tight sprint with Jake Cowen of the Nab RT taking 4th.


1 Dillon Byrne Champion System VCUK
2 Jack Pullar Velosure Starley Primal
3 Ellis Kirkbride North City Velo J2
4 Jake Cowen The Nab RT
5 Hamish Fletcher-Cooney Lancaster University CC
6 Ben Harrison GWE RT
7 Neil Robinson Lune RCC
8 Tom Gibson MWE
9 Julian Pearson Team Moda-Anon
10 Steve Abbott THR Racing
11 James Claydon The Nab RT
12 Stuart Reid Wheelbase
13 Chris Nicholson Wallis RT
14 Chris Vaughan THR Racing
15 Robert Patchett THR Racing


Category 3/4
In the 3/4 race a good field of 40 riders, including youths, juniors and women took to the start line under clear skies for the first week of racing at Salt Ayre. Any attempts to break free from the pack were quickly chased down and after 45 minutes of racing the bunch came to the finish all together with Andy Horwood of Chorley CC taking the win from local rider Ryan Coulton of North City Velo, and Stephen Dent of Nevis Cycles RT in 3rd. Gabby Duckworth of Lune RCC, another local rider, was the first woman across the line.


1 Andy Horwood Chorley CC
2 Ryan Coulton North City Velo
3 Stephen Dent Nevis Cycles RT YA
4 Alasdair Fairhurst Lune RCC
5 Martin Bretherton THR Racing
6 Tom Clarke Red Rose Olympic J
7 Wilf Sargeant Lancaster University CC
8 Elliott Reed Salt Ayre Cog Set YA
9 Jonny Wong Salt Ayre Cog Set J
10 Joss Livesey BC private member
11 Mike Rollason Lancaster University CC
12 Leon Barnes Lancaster CC
13 Nicholas Marjdin Lune RCC
14 Samuel Pickering THR Racing
15 Josh Varty BC private member
16 Kevin Chadwick Lakes RC
17 Tom Hordie Leisure Lakes Bikes
18 Sam Monkhouse Salt Ayre Cog Set
19 Simon Mulholland THR Racing
20 Steve Wilson Barrow Central Wheelers
21 Ben Hepwood BC private member
22 Conor Jardine Salt Ayre Cog Set J
23 Tom Lowe Lancaster University CC
24 Tom Crump Lancaster University CC
25 Gaby Duckworth Lune RCC W2
26 Gemma Sargeant Racing Chance Foundation W2
27 Jon Connah Chorley CC
28 Mike Wong THR Racing
29 Phil Peake Lune RCC
30 Paolo Brucciani Lune RCC
31 Mark Strickland Settle Wheelers
32 James Dauville BC private member
33 John Dodgin The Edge Cycleworks
34 Patrick Flanagan Scorton RC
35 John Agnew BC private member
36 Ian Rutherford The Edge Cycleworks

Next weeks racing will feature a womens only race followed by an open 2/3/4 race.

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK