News – Women’s Tour de Yorkshire


Yorkshire will welcome a star cast of racing talent as the first ever Women’s Tour de Yorkshire sees over 100 of the UK’s most exciting riders take part.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Women’s Tour de Yorkshire

Olympian and Paralympian riders include Dame Sarah Storey and Joanna Rowsell, and Commonwealth Games heroine Katie Archibald, who are all part of the Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International team. Matrix Fitness have also entered a strong team with Yorkshire-born riders Jessie Walker and Penny Rowson. Other riders include Grace Garner and Nicola Juniper in the Giordana Triton Team, and Amy Roberts and 2014 National Circuit Race Champion Eileen Roe will be in the Wiggle Honda Team.

In a rare opportunity to race on closed and marshalled roads with National Escort Group assistance, the race will take in four laps of a 20km circuit. The race is being organised by Welcome to Yorkshire and will be started by Bob Howden.

Bob Howden said, “For the first edition of a race this is an impressive line-up. The Women’s Tour de Yorkshire creates a brand new race for domestic riders to pit themselves against Olympians and Paralympians and we look forward to seeing the race grow and develop”.

Racing clockwise around some of York’s key historic sights, organisers are encouraging spectators to come and create an electric atmosphere for the race which will start at 10.30am on day 2 of the Tour de Yorkshire, Saturday 2nd May.

The start and finish line is at the northern end of the Knavesmire Road in York – the same place that will see the men’s race cross the line on their own two circuits of York before the finish of their Stage 2 later the same day.


The race will include a sprint classification where points can be gained by sprinting to the finish line at the end of laps one, two and three. The top three riders crossing the line will be awarded 3, 2 and 1 points.

In total ten podium prizes will be awarded with one thousand pounds being awarded to the overall winner. There are prizes for the sprints winner, top three placed 2nd and 3rd Category riders and first, second and third overall placings.

Marc Etches, Race Director for the Women’s Tour de Yorkshire, said “Having such a significant prize fund for a circuit race, with £1,000 for the overall winner, states the intention clearly that the race wants to attract the top riders. It’s a huge boost to women’s cycling in the UK. I’m sure we will see some tactical, daring and hard fought racing”.

In addition to the prize money, Yorkshire bouquets from Flowers From The Farm will be awarded as well as Yorkshire hampers from Drewton’s Farm Shop. Organisers are hoping spectators will turn out to support the first ever Tour de Yorkshire Women’s Race on Saturday 2nd May starting at 10.30am on Knavesmire Road in York and it becomes a major women’s cycling event in the UK.

Suzie Richards 3rd Albarosa Cycling Club
Amy Souter 2nd Albarosa Cycling Club
Seonaid Thompson 2nd Albarosa Cycling Club
Kayleigh Brogan 2nd Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
Alice Cobb 2nd Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
Amy Gornall 2nd Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
Lucy Harper 2nd Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
Elinor Thorogood 3rd Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
Ruby Chappell 1st Behind The Bikeshed
Alice Barnes 3rd Betch.NL-Superior-Brentjens MTB Racing Team
Madeline Verdegaal 2nd Boston Whls CC
Lauryn Dawber 3rd Carnac-Planet X
Donna Edmondson Booker 3rd Crosstrax
Helen Tickner 3rd
Edita Janeliunaite Elite Forno d’Asolo – Astute
Lorna Fisher 3rd GKV RT
Annabel Simpson 3rd Hope Factory Racing
Melissa Brand 2nd IKON – Mazda
Julie Erskine 1st IKON – Mazda
Emma Grant 2nd IKON – Mazda
Corrine Hall Elite IKON – Mazda
Ella Hopkins 3rd IKON – Mazda
Louise Mahe 1st IKON – Mazda
Rebecca Rimmington 1st IKON – Mazda
Hannah Benson 3rd Ilkley Cycling Club
Delia Beddis 2nd Les Filles Racing Team
Claire Munton 3rd Malteni Race Team
Laura Stafford 3rd Manchester Whlrs Club
Ruth Taylor 2nd Manchester Whlrs Club
Penny Rowson 2nd Matrix Fitness
Jessie Walker 1st Matrix Fitness
Lucy Shaw Development 2nd Matrix Fitness
Ann Walsham 3rd Maxx Road Team
Amira Mellor 3rd Paul Milnes – Bradford Olympic RC
Katie Archibald Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Clemence Copie 1st Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Lauren Creamer 1st Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Katie Curtis 1st Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Bethany Hayward 1st Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Ciara Horne 2nd Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Joanna Rowsell Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Gabriella Shaw Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Dame Sarah Storey Elite Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Anna Turvey 2nd Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
Sinead Burke 2nd PH-MAS VCUK Womens Cycling Team
Natalie Hodson 2nd PH-MAS VCUK Womens Cycling Team
Alison Kinloch 2nd PH-MAS VCUK Womens Cycling Team
Clara Sandelind 2nd PH-MAS VCUK Womens Cycling Team
Sarah Graham Private Member 3rd
Hannah Righini-Brand Private Member 3rd
Catherine Waters Private Member 3rd
Gabrielle Saunderson 3rd Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA
Louise Scupham 3rd Scarborough Paragon CC
Nicola Moore 3rd Squadra RT
Joanne Blakeley 2nd Team 22
Eve Dixon 1st Team 22
Jennifer Edwards 2nd Team 22
Gina Riley 2nd Team 22
Sarah Rose 2nd Team 22
Sarah Byrne 3rd Team Giordana – Triton
Eleanor Dickinson 2nd Team Giordana – Triton
Grace Garner 1st Team Giordana – Triton
Elizabeth Holden 2nd Team Giordana – Triton
Nicola Juniper Elite Team Giordana – Triton
Keira McVitty 1st Team Giordana – Triton
Lauren OBrien 2nd Team Giordana – Triton
Annasley Park 2nd Team Giordana – Triton
Abby-Mae Parkinson 2nd Team Giordana – Triton
Annabel Sill 2nd Team Jadan
Frances White 2nd Team Jadan
Chloe Fraser 2nd Team Rytger
Amy Hill 1st Team Rytger
Ellie Coster 2nd Team USN
Emily Kay 1st Team USN
Manon Lloyd 1st Team USN
Emily Nelson 2nd Team USN
Amy Brice Elite Team Velosport
Jennifer Crouch 2nd Team Velosport
Abigail Dentus 1st Team Velosport
Hayley Simmonds 2nd Team Velosport
Karen Poole 2nd Team WattCycle
Anna Weaver 3rd Team WattCycle
Lydia Boylan 1st Team WNT
Charline Joiner 1st Team WNT
Brit Tate 1st Team WNT
Lauryn Therin 2nd Team WNT
Jo Tindley 1st Team WNT
Hannah Walker Elite Team WNT
Elizabeth Stedman 3rd University of Sheffield CC
Sian Botteley 2nd Velosure Starley Primal
Laura Cheesman 2nd Velosure Starley Primal
Pia De Quint Elite Velosure Starley Primal
Josephine Gilbert 2nd Velosure Starley Primal
Tanya Griffiths 1st Velosure Starley Primal
Anna Christian 2nd Wiggle Honda
Amy Roberts Elite Wiggle Honda
Eileen Roe 1st Wiggle Honda

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK