Results – Condor 3 Day


16 year old Matthew Webber of the Catford Equipe Jeff Banks wins the Condor 3 Day

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results – Condor 3 Day

matwebbercatfordMatthew Webber (Catford-Banks) triumphed overall after three hard days of racing, placing second on a stage taken with a last minute attack on stage 3 of the Condor Cycles London 3 day by Austin Cameron (Look Mum No Hands!).

The stage was a brutal affair raced in windy conditions on a deceptively difficult circuit. Fought out over 33 laps of Cyclo Park, Gravesend, attrition started from the word go.

Early breaks formed and were recaptured, eventually coming down to three riders at the head of affairs, Christophe Demoulin (Bonito Squadra Corse), Matt Webber(Catford-Banks), and Austin Cameron.

Meanwhile, many riders left the rear of the peloton as a third hard day of racing took it’s toll, and overnight leader Ken Buckley (BCPM) forced the pace with constant accelerations in an effort to close an ever opening gap.

For Buckley it was not to be despite powerful riding. As the finish approached, Cameron left his breakaway companions to reach the chequered flag alone, with Webber and Demoulin just over 10 seconds adrift. The chasers, led in by Buckley, finished at 1 minute 28 seconds.

Second on GC going into the stage and finishing second overall, Christophe Demoulin was rueing the moment the red mist got the better of him as he swore at young Matt Webber who got to the line ahead of him. Demoulin was docked 30 seconds which cost him the race saying “he didn’t do an ounce of work for the last half hour but rules are rules, I broke them and it cost me the race. It’s a lesson learnt for sure”.

Condor Cycles London 3 day provisional stage 3 result


Top 6
1. Austin Cameron (LMNH)
2. Matthew Webber (Catfor-Banks)
3. Christophe Demoulin (Bonito Squadra Corse)
4. Ken Buckley (LMNH)
5. Jerzy Kuzminski (London Bicycle Workshop CC)
6. Dimitri Demishev (CC Hackney)

Final overall (provisional)
1. Matthew Webber (Catford-Banks) 5-20-37
2. Christophe Demoulin (Bonito) @13”
3. Ken Buckley (BCPM) @29”
4. Jack Billyard (RP Race Team) @1-26”
5. Cameron Woolsey (Spirit Bikes) @1-30”
6. Matt Exley (Corley-Drops RT) @1-35”
7. Charles Page (Edgware RC) @1-36”
8. Jerzy Kuzminski (London BWCC) @1-40”
9. Remundus Rasgaukus (BCPM) @1-48”
10. Dimitri Demishev (CC Hackney) @1-50”
Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,