Report & Results – Welwyn Track League


John McClelland starts to find some form at the Welwyn Track League on May 1st at the Gosling sports park Velodrome

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Welwyn Track League

1ST MAY 2015 Sponsored by Peloton Hatfield

John McClelland starts to find some form

Another great night of racing at the Gosling sports park Velodrome on Friday night, with some very competitive rides in the senior racing. There were good numbers again with 40 senior riders and 30 youth riders.

In the senior A racing John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) started to show the form which has won him the title a number of times, winning the block pursuit with a perfectly timed sprint and picking up 2nd in the 10 miler at the end of the evening. Victory in the 10 miler went to Alexander Murison (Easton Ritte) after a group of 8 riders went off the front with 8 laps to go getting a very good gap from the main field and ending in a very tactical final 4 laps.

Alex Pierce (Wilsden CC) dominated the senior B racing winning every race, much to the annoyance of James Ambrose-Parish (Lee Valley) who finished second to Pierce in the scratch and points.

The youth riders were not to be outdone by the seniors providing the crowd with some great competition. Ryan Green (Lee Valley) in the Youth A group, had the legs again this week winning the devil and the scratch. Simon Bird (Lee Valley), did get the better of Green in the hare and hounds holding him off in the closing sprint.

In the Youth CDE group a different rider won every race, due in part to the slight change in the racing programme of previous years. This was highlighted in their final race – an extremely close Italian pursuit.

The best results for the home club came from Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers), winning all the youth B racing apart from the hare and hounds which was won by Emily Knight (Lee Valley).


Senior A
10 lap Scratch – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Martin Ruepp (Strada Sport) Alexander Murison (Easton Ritte)
10 lap Block Pursuit –John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Andrew Hastings (Richardson’s Trek RT) Martin Ruepp (Strada Sport) Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator)
10 Lap Points – Martin Ruepp (Strada Sport) Alexander Murison (Easton Ritte) John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Mike Broadwith (Arctic Tacx RT)
10 mile – Alexander Murison (Easton Ritte) John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Martin Ruepp (Strada Sport) Mike Broadwith (Arctic Tacx RT)

Senior B
10 lap scratch – Alex Pierce (Wilsden CC) James Ambrose-Parish (Lee Valley) Keith Bryceland (Welwyn Wheelers) Chris Burns (Welwyn wheelers)
10 Lap Block Pursuit – Alex Pierce (Wilsden CC) Keith Bryceland (Welwyn Wheelers) Ben Webster (Welwyn Wheelers) Eric Paillet (North Road)
10 Lap Points – Alex Pierce (Wilsden CC) James Ambrose-Parish (Lee Valley) Chris Burns (Welwyn wheelers) Eric Paillet (North Road)

Youth A
8 lap Scratch – Ryan Green (Lee Valley) Simon Bird (Lee Valley) Matthew Sheppard (Lee Valley)
8 lap Points – Matthew Sheppard (Lee Valley) Simon Bird (Lee Valley) Ryan Green (Lee Valley)
Devil – Ryan Green (Lee Valley) Simon Bird (Lee Valley) Ben Selfe (Lee Valley)
10 lap Hare & Hounds – Simon Bird (Lee Valley) Ryan Green (Lee Valley) Toby Miles (Welwyn Wheelers) Matthew Sheppard (Lee Valley)

Youth B
6 lap Scratch – Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers) Sophie Lewis (CC Ashwell) Adam Lightfoot (CC Ashwell)
6 lap Hare & Hounds – Emily Knight (Lee Valley) Sophie Lewis (CC Ashwell) Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers)
Devil – Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers) Adam Lighfoot (CC Ashwell) Emily Knight (Lee Valley)
6 lap Points – Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers) Adam Lightfoot (CC Ashwell) Oisin Murphy (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) Sophie Lewis (CC Ashwell)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scratch – Joe Kiely (Welwyn Wheelers) Jenna Miles (Welwyn Wheelers) Michael Sumner (Welwyn Wheelers)
4 lap Hare & Hounds – Jodie Taylor (Colchester Rovers) Caitlin Loveless (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) Amelia Hopper (Colchester Rovers)
4 lap Block Pursuit – Tom Sharples (Welwyn Wheelers) Joe Kiely (Welwyn Wheelers) Jenna Miles (Welwyn Wheelers)
Italian Pursuit – Winning Team Jodie Taylor (Colchester Rovers) Jack Emerson (Colchester Rovers)
Sammy Gage (Welwyn Wheelers) Michael Sumner (Welwyn Wheelers) Tom Sharples ( Welwyn Wheelers) Joe Kiely (Welwyn Wheelers)


Sponsored by Peloton Hatfield
Cumulative Points Rankings

Senior A
Felix English JLT Condor 16
John Mcclelland Bush Healthcare CRT 14
Martin Ruepp Strada Sport 11
Charles Page Edgware RC 10
Alexander Murison Easton Ritte 9
Frank Longstaff Team Terminator 8
Mike Broadwith Arctic Tacx RT 4
Andrew Hastings Richardson’S Trek RT 4
George Olive Finchley RT 4
Joshua Roberts Zappis Racing Team 3
Joel Stewart Kenton CC 1

Senior B
Alex Pierce Willesden CC 17
Ethan Vernon Corley Drops RT 11
Mostyn Taylor Crockett 7
James Ambrose-Parish Lea Valley Youth CC 6
Keith Bryceland Welwyn Wheelers 5
Chris Burns Welwyn Wheelers 3
Ben Webster Welwyn Wheelers 2
Eric Paillet North Road 2
Bradley Clark Green Arrow CRT 1
Brian Evans Hertfordshire Wheelers 1
Laurence Lisher Green Arrow CRT 1

Youth A
Ryan Green Lee Valley Youth CC 19
Matthew Shepherd Lee Valley Youth CC 14
Simon Bird Lee Valley Youth CC 10
Nathan Blackmore Welwyn Wheelers 5
Ben Selfe Lee Valley Youth CC 4
Alexi Edwards Palmer Oark 4
Gwilym Park Welwyn Wheelers 4
Toby Miles Welwyn Wheelers 3
Gareth Lewis Cycle Club Ashwell 3

Youth B
Sam Asker Welwyn Wheelers 19
Oliver Stockwell Welwyn Wheelers 12
Sophie Lewis CC Ashwell 9
Adam Lightfoot CC Ashwell 7
Emily Knight Lee Valley Youth CC 7
Oisin Murphy Hillingdon Slipstreamers 4
Owen Williams Lee Valley Youth Cc 3
Jamie Dene Welwyn Wheelers 1

Youth CDE
Tom Sharples Welwyn Wheelers 13
Joe Kiely Welwyn Wheelers 12
Jenna Miles Welwyn Wheelers 12
Jodie Taylor Colchester Rovers 9
Jack Emerson Colchester Rovers 5
Caitlin Loveless Hillingdon Slipstreamers 3
Michael Sumner Welwyn Wheelers 3
Sammy Gage Welwyn Wheelers 2
Amelia Hopper Colchester Rovers 2

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,