Results – Ford CC Velopark Crits


Bob Downs and  Mick Bath winners at the LVRC Ford CC Velopark circuit races on May 3 in London

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results – Ford CC Velopark Crits
Under the regulations of the League of Veteran Racing Cyclists

Unfortunately the grey skies and drizzle meant that only 11 riders signed on. However this didn’t prevent the race from being active from the start. Despite the pace it stayed together with the first prime being taken by Geoff Bores, Ford CC. Shortly after the prime Bob Downs and Geoff Bores managed to get away.

However they only had 15 secs lead until the second prime taken by Downs when the lead had stretched to 35secs. Bores and Downs continued to work together until the final sprint which Downs took comfortably. Chris Edwards led the rest home in 3rd place.

1st Bob Downs Condor Team E 1-06-24
2nd Geoff Bores Ford CC E st
3rd Chris Edwards Kingsnorth Int E @ 40secs
4th Dan Fentiman o/c st
5th Dave Woods Kingsnorth Int F st
6th Ollie Macpherson Planet Velo F st
7th Pete Constable Velo Schils E st
8th Craig Lane o/c @ 1 lap
9th Tony Richardson SFA Abellio E @ 1 lap
10th Leigh Aldrich VC Elan A @ 1 lap
11th Roly Crayford SFA Abellio H @ 1 lap

1ST Bob Downs
2nd Geoff Bores
3rd Chris Edwards
4th Pete Constable
5th Tony Richardson
6th Leigh Aldrich

1st Dave Woods
2nd Ollie Macpherson

1st Roly Crayford


There were constant attacks right from the gun pace was high from the start with a break of 5 soon establishing itself. The escapees comprised Martin Jones, Andrew Bates, Mick Bath, Hugh Vivian and Martin Meades.

The first prime was taken by Martin Jones at which the lead was 40 secs. After 40 minutes of racing the gap had stretched to 1 minute. A prime for the bunch was taken by Neil Pearson. The break continued working together until with 3 laps to go when Jones attacked and only Bath was able to go with him.

At the line Bath just took the win by half a wheel with Martin meads leading the rest of the break home. The bunch sprint was taken by Neil Pearson from Jason Fitchew.

1st Mick Bath API Metrow 1-15-02
2nd Martin Jones ColourTech st
3rd Martin Meades Ciclos Uno @ 34secs
4th Andrew Bates ColourTech st
5th Hugh Vivian Finsbury Park st
6th Neil Pearson ColourTech @ 53secs
7th Jason Fitchew Ford st
8th Mick Lee ColourTech st
9th Adrian Ward Shaftesbury st
10th Trevor Banham Diss st
11th Julian Niles-Cunnington Condor st
12th Mark Simpson st
13th Lee Sayers 4T Velo st
14th David Churchill Old Portlians st
15th Martin Elms Rapha st
16th Colin Smith ColourTech st
17th Bruce Samuel South Downs Bikes st
18th Ian Haworth Old Portlians st
19th David Crowe ColourTech st
20th Alistair Petty st
21st Marcus Boret SFA Abellio st

Category Results

1st Martin Jones
2nd Neil Pearson
3rd Alistair Petty


1st Jason Fitchew
2nd Lee Sayers
3rd Bruce Samuel
4th Ian Haworth
5th Marcus Boret


1st Martin Meades
2nd Andrew Bates
3rd Hugh Vivian
4th Adrian Ward
5th Mark Simpson
6th Colin Smith
7th David Crowe


1st Mick Bath
2nd Mick Lee
3rd Trevor Banham
4th Julian Niles-Cunnington
5th David Churchill
6th Martin Elms


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,