Result – University RR Champs


Rory Townsend and Julia van Campen winners at the British University RR Championships in North Yorkshire on Saturday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – University RR Champs

Bucs Road Race report.
The national university road race championship was held in the gorgeous North Yorkshire countryside. Instead of the heatwave the shone upon last year’s race, this year was blessed with some fine Yorkshire conditions, (wet and Windy).

The heavy overnight rain had left a little standing water, and as such, the the decision was made to neutralise the race for couple of hundred yards each lap so the riders could safely negotiate a northern puddle. Fortunately a few laps into the ladies race, a kind gentleman from Edinburgh University rolled up his trousers and found the blocked drain to release the water into the stream below!

The women were off first, and there were many attempted attacks but nothing was allow to stick. This kept the pace high, coupling with the wind out on course resulted in a small group forming off the back and slowly sweeping up riders who could no long stick in the front group as fatigue took its toll. On the final lap the group had been whittled down to not many more than 10 riders.

The finish took riders back past the HQ, making them having to resist the temptation to swing off for warm clothes, coffee and cake and instead head on up Yearsly bank at 0.5 miles long hitting over 14% in places. The front group was split to pieces with Julia van Campen appearing over the top first, cheered along by her university of Sheffield team mates, to hold off Hayley Simmonds (Cambridge), with 3rd place going to Rebecca Waters (university of surrey) in one of her first road races.

The afternoon was the turn of the men. With high entry level (160 riders), this year the entry had been limited to 2 riders per team, coupled with the number of high calibre of riders, this lead to a very fast race with the wind dropping as the weather improved.

Many riders attempted to split the race, and breaks of up to 10 riders managing to get clear but with the low number of team mates behind to control the race, these never gained more than 25 secs before being rapidly pulled back to the bunch. At the half way mark Max Stedman (Exeter) and Dan Bigham (Oxford Brooks) were allowed to quickly get a gap on 1.5 minutes, but no sooner had the convoy been rearranged this was rapidly pulled back.

The race stayed together until the final time though the village of Stillington at the lowest point of the course, Rory Townsend (St Marys University) attacked taking Peter Barusevicus (Sheffield Hallam ) with him. However, Rory had his head down and legs set to full power and he was soon on his own.

Attacking the lower parts of the finish climb, Rory had time to high five friends watching just before the finish before getting both hands in the air! As the Bunch came over the top it was Andy Nicholls (Sheffield) leading the charge but he had gone too soon and was swiftly rounded by Max Stedman (Exeter) for 2nd and Alex Luhr (Northumbria) for 3rd.

An honourable mention must also go to William Bromiley (Bath), who suffered a loose saddle on lap 6, which fell off on lap 8 but who still managed to hang on and finish with the main bunch!


1 Julia van Campen University of Sheffield
2 Hayley Simmonds University of Cambridge
3 Rebecca Waters University of Surrey
4 Tamara Davenne Oxford University
5 Elizabeth Stedman University of Sheffield
6 Eleanor Campbell University of Liverpool
7 Rebecca Johnson University of Edinburgh
8 Lydia Gurley University of Birmingham
9 Josephine Gilbert Loughborough University
10 Emily Barnes University of Birmingham
11 Floren Scrafton University of Birmingham
12 Laura Clode Loughborough University
13 Jess Atkinson University of Cambridge
14 Bethan Stubbs University of Exeter
15 Hannah Farran Northumbria University
16 Olivia Withers Oxford University
17 Hayley Preston University of Warwick
18 Aileen Baird University of Birmingham
19 Iona Sewell York St John University
20 natalie hodson University of York
21 Helen Roby Leeds Beckett University (Carnegie)

Men’s Road Race Results
1 Rory Townsend St Mary’s University
2 Max Stedman University of Exeter
3 Alex Luhrs Northumbria University
4 Andrew Nichols University of Sheffield
5 peter anderson University of Glasgow
6 Thomas Timothy Durham University
7 Peter Barusevicus Sheffield Hallam University
8 Edward McParland University of Leeds
9 Jack Stanton-Warren University of Manchester
10 HARLEY MATTHEWS Loughborough University
11 Felix Barker University of Cambridge
12 ALASTAIR BARNARD University of Bath
13 Jack Taylor University of Edinburgh
14 Alastair Hepworth University of York
15 Jacob Kennisson University of Nottingham
16 James Hedley-Smith Loughborough University
17 Matthias Newsome Durham University
18 Chris Palfreeman University of Leeds
19 Jude Taylor University of Warwick
20 Elliot Jones Leeds College of Art
21 Matthew Clarke University of Nottingham
22 Tarn Flynn University of Manchester
23 Dan Bigham Oxford Brookes University
24 Charlie Powell University of Birmingham
25 Finlay Young Heriot-Watt University
26 Scott Matthews University of Southampton
27 WILLIAM BROMILEY University of Bath
28 Dean Penfold Newcastle University
29 Tom Arnstein University of Strathclyde
30 Matthew Nowell Sheffield Hallam University
31 Ben Butler Bangor University
32 Charlie Leech University of Southampton
33 David Brearley University of Hull
34 David Hewitt University of Cambridge
35 Will Perrett University of Derby
36 Ryan Witchell University of Bristol
37 Daniel Colman Cardiff University
38 James Claydon University of Central Lancashire
39 Thomas Key University of Southampton
40 Joe Locket Cardiff University


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,