News – Tour Series Ready to Go


Britain’s fastest teams race into action at Ryde on the Isle of Wight this week for the opening round of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Tour Series Ready to Go

Britain’s fastest teams race into action at Ryde on the Isle of Wight this week for the opening round of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series cycling, which takes place on Thursday 14 May, and this year’s rider line-up is set to be better than ever.


Olympic, World and Commonwealth Champions will be among the line-up in both the men and women’s Series, as teams confirmed their final squads for the five weeks of competition, which get underway this week.

Among those listed in the 10-rider men’s squads for the Pearl Izumi Tour Series are Olympic Champions Ed Clancy, Sir Bradley Wiggins and Steven Burke, 2014 Commonwealth Games Gold medallist Tom Scully and current Australian Criterium Champion Steele Von Hoff.

While the women’s Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series, which starts five days later in Redditch on Tuesday 19 May will feature Olympic Champions Laura Trott, Dani King and Joanna Rowsell, plus multiple Paralympic Champion Dame Sarah Storey and Commonwealth Games medallist Charline Joiner.

JLT Condor presented by Mavic arrive at Round One as the defending Champions, having in 2014 become the only team to win the Series twice during its six year history. To defend their title the team of Ed Clancy, the most successful rider in Series history, will face a revised format, which will see the winning team on the night decided by their lowest cumulative time.

Two teams make their debuts, led by Team WIGGINS, the new squad of 2012 Tour de France winner Sir Bradley Wiggins, who is currently in training for his Hour Record on 7 June and may feature in later Pearl Izumi Tour Series rounds.


WIGGINS showed their pre-Series form at the weekend, with former Tour Series Champion Andy Tennant winning the Cycle Wiltshire Grand Prix round of the Elite Road Series. Tennant beat another former Series Champion Yanto Barker of ONE Pro Cycling, the team of England cricketer Matt Prior, who will also make their Pearl Izumi Tour Series debuts in Ryde, with a 10-rider squad containing six former Tour Series Champions.

Team Raleigh GAC are led by Elite Road Series Spring Cup winner Steve Lampier and also include Polish rider Karol Domagalski and three-time World Track Cycling Champion Morgan Kneisky, as well as youngster George Pym, who took up racing having watched the Tour Series in Exeter in 2009 as a spectator.

The SportGrub Kuota, Pedal Heaven and Velosure Starley Primal teams will vie for a new trophy to be presented to the highest ranked non-UCI Continental team come the end of the 2015 Series in Bath on Thursday 11 June.

Riders will also fight for a new look Points Jersey, sponsored by the world’s leading online bike store Chain Reaction Cycles, with riders now scoring points at the finish, in addition to the three hot spot sprints during the race, making each round worth up to 20-points towards the Chain Reaction Cycles Points Jersey.

The opening round takes place at Ryde, Isle of Wight, on Thursday 14 May, with highlights shown on ITV4 at 8pm on Friday 15 May. Each of the nine men’s teams will field five of their ten rider squad, in first a mid-afternoon Team Time Trial consisting of two laps of the Ryde circuit, before the one-hour circuit race at 7.30pm. Two guest teams will also race on the Isle of Wight, with Wightlink LCM systems taking part in the Team Time Trial and Ride 24/7 racing in the evening race.

Starting at Redditch on Tuesday 19 May the Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series enters its fifth year with the best ever line-up, led by defending Champion and reigning British Circuit Race Champion Eileen Roe, who is due to lead an all-British Wiggle Honda line-up alongside 2012 Olympic Champion Dani King at selected rounds.

Ahead of June’s Aviva Women’s Tour both Matrix Fitness and Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International will field five riders at every round, with Laura Trott and double World Champion Elinor Barker in the former’s suqd and Dame Sarah Storey, Joanna Rowell and World Champion Katie Archibald, who won two rounds in 2014, among the latter’s.

Fans in the south of England or travelling to Round One of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series at Ryde on the Isle of Wight can also visit the Pearl Izumi outlet store at Gunwharf Quays (Unit 91) in Portsmouth, just a short walk from where the Wightlink ferries depart to the Isle of Wight.


Past winners of the unique, team based Pearl Izumi Tour Series are Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011), Endura Racing (2012), Team UK Youth (2013) and Rapha Condor JLT (2014).

Round One Thursday 14 May Ryde, Isle of Wight
Round Two Tuesday 19 May Redditch
Round Three Friday 22 May Aberystwyth
Round Four Tuesday 26 May Motherwell
Round Five Thursday 28 May Durham
Round Six Friday 29 May Barrow
Round Seven Tuesday 2 June Croydon
Round Eight Thursday 4 June Canary Wharf
Round Nine Tuesday 9 June Peterborough
Round Ten Thursday 11 June Bath

The nine teams for the 2015 Pearl Izumi Tour Series will be JLT Condor presented by Mavic; Madison Genesis, NFTO Pro Cycling, ONE Pro Cycling, Pedal Heaven RT, SportGrub Kuota; Team Raleigh – GAC; Team WIGGINS; and Velosure Starley Primal. Joining them will be one guest team per round.


JLT Condor presented by Mavic
1 Graham Briggs
2 Ed Clancy
3 Felix English
4 Luke Grivell-Mellor
5 Richard Handley
6 Kristian House
7 Richard Lang
8 Joe Moses
9 Tom Moses
10 Harry Tanfield

NFTO Pro Cycling
31 Dale Appleby
32 Tom Barras
33 Ian Bibby
34 Rhys Lloyd
35 Sam Harrison
36 James Lowsley Williams
37 Zach May
38 Jonathan McEvoy
39 Rob Partridge
40 Steele Von Hoff

Pedal Heaven
61 Lewis Atkins
62 Will Fox
63 Simon Holt
64 Gruff Lewis
65 David McGowan
66 Alex Paton
67 Max Stedman
68 Rory Townsend
69 Mitch Webber
70 Stephen Williams

Madison Genesis
11 Matt Cronshaw
12 Matt Holmes
13 Liam Holohan
14 Tobyn Horton
15 Martyn Irvine
16 Mark McNally
17 Mike Northey
18 Erick Rowsell
19 Tom Stewart
20 Tom Scully

SportGrub Kuota
41 Stephen Adams
42 Will Bjergfelt
43 Ryan Davis
44 Adam Duggleby
45 Dan Fleeman
46 Adam Kenway
47 Richard Hepworth
48 Adam Martin
49 Ollie Maxwell
50 Ryan Perry

ONE Pro Cycling
71 George Atkins
72 Yanto Barker
73 Marcin Bialoblocki
74 George Harper
75 Marc Hester
76 Josh Hunt
77 Jon Mould
78 Chris Opie
79 Peter Williams

Team Raleigh – GAC
21 Calvin Beneke
22 Karol Domagalski
23 Andrew Hawdon
24 Morgan Kneisky
25 Steve Lamper
26 Sam Lowe
27 Evan Oliphant
28 George Pym
29 Liam Stones
30 Ian Wilkinson

Velosure Starley Primal
51 Stephen Bradbury
52 Josh Burns
53 Marius Cordier
54 James Davey
55 James Gullen
56 Jack Kirk
57 David Lines
58 Adria Moreno Sala
59 Joseph Petrowski
60 Jack Pullar

81 Steven Burke
82 Mark Christian
83 Jon Dibben
84 Owain Doull
85 Luc Hall
86 Chris Lawless
87 Iain Paton
88 Daniel Patten
89 Andrew Tennant
90 Sir Bradley Wiggins

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,