Report & Results: Brooks Cycles Track League


After last weeks start to the years racing being delayed due to rain the Brooks Cycles Track League 2015 season at Newcastle under Lyme got off to a great start on Thursday 14th May

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results: Brooks Cycles Track League

After last weeks start to the years racing being delayed due to rain the 2015 season got off to a great start on Thursday 14th May. The weather forecast was not good earlier in the week for the day however luckily it was wrong and there was no rain on the day at the Lyme Valley Velodrome.

The nights started with the Freewheelers League and 20 riders put in some spirited racing with a good number of new riders to the league who have come through the successful Friday night sessions. After a race program of 12 events the top points scorers in each league were;

Group 1 Ross Hooley Lyme RC 8 Points
Group 2 Thomas Mould Lyme RC 7 Points
Ross Ferguson 7 Points
Group 3 Christian Morley Lyme RC 7 Points


In the Main league the Sprinters League saw the 500m Handicap kick off the proceedings. The mass charge for the line saw long markers Caleb Hill ( Lyme RC) and Joe Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles) taking 1st and 2nd place from the scratch rider Matt Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo) in 3rd. The team sprint saw James Hollins ( Uttoxeter Cycles) Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles) and Matt Rotherham take the win. The sprint final was a very close affair with Matt Rotherham taking his second victory over Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles)

The A Class endurance races saw Jacob Booth ( Dave Hinde Racing) win the 10 lap scratch, devil and points race to place himself at the top of the league table. The B Class events saw a really good turnout of riders with some close racing. Mark Love ( Tuxford Clarion) had a very good night in winning the 10 lap scratch, devil and the final 10 mile scratch.

Last year Youth League rider James Duncalf ( Lyme RC) stepped up well to the B league as he scored 5 points with 2nd in the points race and 2nd in the 10 lap scratch.
In the Youth League it was a close affair with a number of riders scoring well. George Hancock (Lyme RC) won the 200m time trial, Sam Hall (Lyme RC) the block handicap and Farley Barber (Lyme RC ) taking the final 6 lap scratch.


Group 1

Race 1
1st Zach Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Ross Hooley Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Williams

Race 2
1st Aaron Hardy
2nd Ross Hooley
3rd Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Chris Deall
2nd Ruby Jennings
3rd Aaron Hardy

Race 4
1st Ross Hooley
2nd Chloe Shepherd
3rd Zach Edwards

Group 2

Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Holly Edwards Lyme RC
3rd Thomas Mould Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ross Ferguson
2nd Thomas Mould
3rd Evie Davis

Race 3
1st Ross Ferguson
2nd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
3rd Thomas Mould

Race 4
1st Holly Edwards
2nd Thomas Mould
3rd Evie Davis

Group 3

Race 1
1st Daniel Jones Lyme RC
2nd Owen Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Emma O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Christian Morley Lyme RC
2nd Nicholas Sandbach
3rd Owen Shepherd

Race 3
1st Christian Morley
2nd Sam Waller
3rd Owen Shepherd

Race 4
1st Evie Strachan
2nd Sam Waller
3rd Emma O’Neil


Youth 200m TT
1st George Hancock Lyme RC
2nd Aiden Morley Lyme RC
3rd Tom Hughes Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Laps Scratch
1st Jacob Booth Dave Hinde RT
2nd Joe Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Caleb Hill Lyme RC

Sprinters League 500m Handicap
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Matt Rotherham Sportcity Velo
4th Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
5th Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
6th Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

B Class 10 Lap Scratch
1st Mark Love Tuxford Clarion
2nd James Duncalf Lyme RC
3rd Simon Bradeley Pro Vision

Youth Block Handicap
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
2nd Tom Hughes
3rd Farley Barber Lyme RC

A Class Points
1st Jacob Booth
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Caleb Hill

B Class Points
1st Simon Bradeley
2nd James Duncalf
3rd Mark Love

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Matt Rotherham
James Hollins Uttoxeter Cycles
Barney Swinnerton
2nd Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

Josh Spendelow
Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

3rd Chris Pyatt
Phil Houlton
Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo

B Class Devil
1st Mark Love
2nd Conner Fearon Weaver Valley
3rd Carl Allsop Uttoxeter Cycles

Youth Team sprint
1st Tom Hughes
Harry Brayford Lyme RC
Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Jacob Booth
2nd Caleb Hill
3rd Simon Bradeley

Sprinters League Sprint Final
1st Matt Rotherham
2nd Sean Mayer
3rd Tom Rotherham

Ladies Sprint Final
1st Paige Dutton Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC
3rd Jeanette Baxter Brooks Cycles

Youth 6 lap Scratch
1st Farley Barber
2nd Tom Hughes
3rd Sam Hall

10 Mile Scratch
1st Matt Rotherham
2nd Jacob Booth
3rd Tom Rotherham

B Class
1st Mark Love
2nd Phil Booth Weaver valley CC
3rd Aiden Morley

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,