Report – Brooks Cycles Track League


The latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League took place on Thursday 21st May under sunny skies and for a change it was warm.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Brooks Cycles Track League

21st May 2015

A full program of events took place with races starting with the Freewheelers League which over the years has produced many riders who have progressed on to the main league with our most successful rider being Kian Emadi who is in line for a place on the British Olympic Squad for Rio. This week saw 20 riders take part in this league with some great racing witnessed by the watching parents and supporters. The top point’s scores on the night in each league were as follows;

Group 1 Ruby Jennings Lyme RC 7 points
Group 2 Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC 9 points
Group 3 Emma ONeil Lyme RC 9 points

The Sprinters League this year is going to be a very exciting league with the standard of racing is higher than ever before. Matt Rotherham and younger brother Tom of Sportcity Velo both scored 7 points on the night and clearly they are the riders to beat this year in this league. The main sprint event of the night was the Keiren League where Matt came first with Tom second closely followed by last years league winner Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles) in third. The opening flying 2 –up lap was won by Tom Rotherham and Barnaby Davis and the Team sprint was won by Josh Spendelow, ( PM) Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles ) and Matt Rotherham.

The A Class Endurance League saw an increase in riders this week with first time rider Daniel Bigham ( Beeline) putting in a superb display of attacking riding as won the 10 lap scratch, devil and taking 3rd in the points race. James Farrington ( Sportcity Velo) won the Points race and the final 10 mile scratch was won by sprinter Tom Rotherham.

The B Class events saw some close racing with Bradley Simpkin ( Halesowen AC) winning the 8 lap scratch and devil. James Brayford ( Lyme RC) won the course de primes and the final 10 mile was won by Caleb Hill ( Lyme RC). In the youth events Louis Evan (Lyme RC) won the opening flying 200m TT and the 6 lap scratch. Team mate Tom Hughes won the Devil and Bradley Hill ( Lyme RC) Megan Williams ( Newcastle RC 2001) and Tom Hughes won the Team sprint.


Group 1

Race 1
1st Matthew Cuthbertson
2nd Zach Edwards Lyme RC
3rd Izaak Curtis Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ruby Jennings
2nd Ross Hooley Lyme RC
3rd Aaron Hardy Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Ross Hooley
2nd Izaak Curtis
3rd Matthew Cuthbertson

Race 4
1st Ruby Jennings
2nd Aaron Hardy
3rd Izaak Curtis

Group 2

Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Daniel Jones Lyme RC
3rd Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Thomas Mould Lyme RC
2nd Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Holly Edwards

Race 3
1st Minnie McKenzie
2nd Holly Edwards
3rd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Minnie McKenzie
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Thomas Mould

Group 3

Race 1
1st Sam Waller Lyme RC
2nd Olly Davis Lyme RC
3rd Emma O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Sam Waller
2nd Emma O’Neil
3rd Olly Davis

Race 3
1st Emma O’Neil
2nd Harley Johns
3rd Olly Davis

Race 4
1st Harley Johns
2nd Emma O’Neil
3rd Sam Waller


Sprinters League 2-Up TT
1st Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo
Barnaby Davis PM

2nd Martin Stephens PM
Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

3rd Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
Jack Payne Sportcity Velo

Youth 200m TT
1st Louis Evans Lyme RC
2nd Harry Horn Lyme RC
3rd Tom Hughes Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Lap Scratch
1st Daniel Bigham Beeline
2nd Alex Simmons BowlPfish Bontrager
3rd Jacob Booth Dave Hinde RT

B Class 8 laps Scratch
1st Bradley Simpkin Halesowen AC
2nd Harvey Jackson Halesowen AC
3rd Mike Perry Pro Vision

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Josh Spendelow PM
Matt Rotherham Sportcity Velo
Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

2nd Martin Stephens PM
Jack Payne
Barnaby Davis

3rd Chris Pyatt
Sean Mayer
Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

Youth Team Sprint
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001
Tom Hughes Lyme RC

A Class Points Race
1st James Farrington Sportcity Velo
2nd Jacob Booth
3rd Daniel Bigham

B Class Devil
1st Bradley Simpkin
2nd Alan Chell PM
3rd Mike Perry

Youth Devil
1st Tom Rotherham
2nd Ryan Brookes Halesowen AC
3rd Louis Evans

A Class Devil
1st Daniel Bigham
2nd Jacob Booth
3rd Caleb Hill

B Class Course De primes
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Phil Booth Weaver Valley CC
3rd Bradley Simpkin

Keiren Final
1st Matt Rotherham
2nd Tom Rotherham
3rd Sean Mayer
4th Phil Houlton
5th Steve Cronshaw
6th Jack Payne

Ladies Keiren Final
1st Debbie Capewell Brooks Cycles
2nd Paige Dutton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC

Youth 6 lap scratch
1st Louis Evans
2nd Tom Hughes
3rd Megan Williams

10 Mile Scratch
1st Matt Rotherham
2nd Tom Rotherham
3rd Jack Payne

B Class
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Harvey Jackson
3rd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,