Report & Results – Shrewsbury Grand Prix


Dale Appleby (NFTO) & Jessie Walker (RST Racing/NFTO) winners at the Shrewsbury Grand Prix on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Shrewsbury Grand Prix

Thousands of people lined the streets of Shrewsbury today (Sunday May 31) as a major cycle race returned to town. Bigger and better than last year, the town came alive as spectators lined almost every inch of the 850-metre circuit for the Shrewsbury Cycle Grand Prix.

The event organised by the Shrewsbury based Paramount Cycle Team featured more than 150 riders in four separate races, with spectators enjoying almost four hours of fast paced wheel-to-wheel action.

The women were first to take to the circuit in the Pure Telecom Women’s Pro Race with last year’s winner Brit Tate returning to defend her title. But the 21-year-old from Team WNT had to settle for second place after being out performed by Jessie Walker of RST Racing/NFTO – daughter of British legend Chris Walker.


Matt Shaw of Solihull CC emerged victorious in the Hatchers Solicitors Junior Race, followed by Benjamin Hardwick, of Wolverhampton Wheelers and Joe Swinnerton of Swinnerton Cycles in third.

Sixteen-year-old Tomos Owens, the youngest member of the Paramount racing team put on a great show for the crowd, finishing in a respectable fifth place.

Dale Appleby of NFTO claimed the £750 top prize in the Stan’s Cycles Pro Race – the main event of the night featuring local, regional and national riders from across the UK.

Shrewsbury cyclist Mike Jones, 48, of sponsors Stan’s Cycles, made a last minute decision to ride in the Pro Race alongside his son Elliot and was received with thundering cheers from the local crowd.

But the biggest roar of the night was saved for Paramount rider and sponsor Chris Pook who finished second in the Cooper Green Pooks Amateur Race behind Chris Childs of Stourbridge Velo.


Speaking after the race, he said: “I’m absolutely elated to have finished second. There was a really good buzz and it’s great to ride in your home town. I’m really proud to have helped put this race on. Thanks to all the organisers, sponsors, marshalls and everyone involved. I’ll be back racing next year pending good training over the winter.”

Race organiser Ben Lawrence thanked the huge crowds for turning up and supporting the event. He said: “It has been a really fantastic day. The quality of racing was superb and the event has once again proven to be a huge success”.

“The Grand Prix is all about inspiring people to take up cycling and this year’s event has once again helped generate a real buzz about the sport locally.

“It was fantastic to see so many people turning out to support riders and the event and we cannot thank everyone enough.

“Almost every inch of the circuit was lined with spectators which is testament to how popular the sport has become and how fantastic Shrewsbury is as a place for events.

“We would like thank our sponsors Beaumont Lawrence, Stan’s Cycles, Pure Telecom, Cooper Green Pooks, Hatchers Solicitors, Bensons and Walnut Renovation for the support they have shown to Shrewsbury and cycling and the help they have given to make this a hugely successful event for the second year running.”

The Shrewsbury Grand Prix, which was newly launched last year after 20 years.


Shrewsbury Cycle Grand Prix 2015 Results

Pure Telecom Womens Only Race
1. Jessie Walker-Matrix Fitness
2. Brit Tate-Team WNT
3. Beth Crumpton-North West CC
4. Lauren Creamer-Pearl Izumi Sports Tours
5. Lydia Gurley-Bonito Squadra Corse
6. Alison Kinloch – PH-MAS VCUK womens cycling team
7. Emma Birtles – Lichfield CC
8. Laura Clode – VC St Raphael
9. Ellie Russell-Sports City Velo
10. Eleanor Jones- VC St Raphael

Hatchers Solicitors Junior Race
1. Matt Shaw – Solihull CC
2. Benjamin Hardwick – Wolverhampton Wheelers
3. Joe Swinnerton – Swinnerton Cycles
4. Oliver Dighton – Halesowen A & CC
5. Tomos Owens – Paramount CRT
6. Matthew Lewis – Wolverhampton Wheelers
7. Charlie Fox – Lichfield CC
8. Joshua Price – Ride 24/7
9. Ben Healy – Solihull CC
10. Huw Owen – Energy Cycles Junior Road Team

Stan’s Cycles Pro Race
1. Dale Appleby -NFTO
2. Steven Roach- Cycle-Tec
3. Jacob Tipper -Neon-Velo-Cycling
4. Jake Hales
5. Simon Holt Pedal Heaven
6. William Brown – Achieve Northside Skinnergate
7. George Moore – Bicicielo
8. Edmund Bradbury – NFTO
9. Jack Escritt – HMT Academy with JLT Condor
10. Ashley Marshall – Achieve Northside Skinnergate
11. Oliver Moors – Project 51
12. Jack Waller –
13. Dan Bingham –
14. Joey Walker RST Racing Team
15. Alexander Simmons – Bowlphish Bontrager Racing

Cooper Green Pooks Amateur Race
1. Chris Childs – Stourbridge Velo
2. Chris Pook – Paramount CRT
3. Nicholas Whitley – Chester RC
4. Will Morgan – Wrexham Roads Club
5. Jonathan Freeman – Liverpool Century RC
6. Sean Grosvenor – Ystwyth Cycling Club
7. Stuart Smith – Lichfield City CC
8. Craig Guy – Fred Williams Cycles
9. Nick Morris –
10. Chris Edwards – GBC Racing Team

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,