Report – West Suffolk Wheelers’ Grass Track


Andrew Leveton & John McClelland winners at the West Suffolk Wheelers’ Grass Track Meeting near Bury St Edmunds

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – West Suffolk Wheelers’ Grass Track

West Suffolk Wheelers’ Grass Track Meeting near Bury St Edmunds.

Fornham All Saints , June 7th | by Fergus Muir

John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) won the 8K, the final event of West Suffolk Wheelers’ grass track meet after leading out early and taking a wide line round the final bend , before kicking on a slightly smaller gear than usual, chosen on account of the faintly uphill finish straight.

McClelland held off Chelmsford rider Mitch Powell, the latter riding a 50+ year-old Holdsworth road/track frame, part of his family inheritance. Third place went to Martin Smith (Chesterfield Coureurs).


Also counting for National League points in a programme that included races for age-groups as young as the Under 10s, was the 800 metres in which Andrew Leveton (VC St Raphael) was the winner of the Final, from Smith with Powell third.

The sunny but not excessively hot day was perfect for picnicking by the track at Fornham Community Centre where the 250 metre oval, laid out with longish straights and tightish bends, dried and became faster through the early part of the programme, though in later sprints bikes showed a skittish tendency on the final bend.


Showing remarkable calm and skill in his first grass-track meet Dougal Toms from Norwich club Iceni Velo won the Under 16 omnium from Toby Miles and Kieran Jarvis, the latter having already competed in the morning at the nearby Mud, Sweat and Gears MTB races in Thetford Forest.

Provisional Results – National League Counting Events:

8 KM Scratch (National Endurance League) 1 John McClelland (Bush Healthcare), 2 Mitch Powell (Team Terminator), 3 Martin Smith (Chesterfield Coureurs).

800 m, Men: (National Short Distance League) 1 Andrew Leveton (VC St Raphael, 2 Martin Smith (Chesterfield Coureurs), 3 Mitch Powell (Team Terminator). 800m women: 1 Lynn Clarke (Fenland Clarion).


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK