Report – Brooks Cycles Track League


Two British squad riders shone at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League on Thursday 11th June at Newcastle Under Lyme

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Brooks Cycles Track League

Two British squad riders shone at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League on Thursday 11th June 2015.

Under blue warm skies, 2015 Paralympic World Champion Pete Mitchell ( Black Line Coaching ) won the Sprinters League Sprint Final in a close finish as he just got past local rider Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles).

The Sprinters League is getting stronger every year with the quality of riders increasing. With three specific Sprint events every week, sprinters get a good workout. The other sprint events were the Team Sprint which went to Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles), Jack Payne ( Sportcity Velo) and Joel Partington ( PM) in a quick 42.06 seconds.

The opening 500m handicap league event was won by Barnaby Davis ( PM ) from Martin Stephens a( PM) and Brian Fudge ( Brooks Cycles).

In the A class endurance races British ODP Squad member Matt Walls ( Velocity Global Bikes) won the 8 lap scratch, course de primes and was a member of the winning team pursuit team to take a hat trick of wins.

The other A class events were a longest lap event over one lap of the track which was won by Joel Partington and then in the last event of the night Joel went on to win the 10 mile scratch with a well timed sprint effort after a tough race.

The B Class races are starting to see the emergence of another strong youth A rider who is showing great promise for the future. James Duncalf ( Lyme RC) won all four B events in the 8 lap scratch, devil, points and 10 mile scratch as well as the B longest lap. James has come through from the successful Freewheelers league which shows the value of that competition.

The Youth league saw Megan Williams ( Newcastle RC 2001) do a great ride in the opening block handicap to take the win. Special mention in this event to first time rider at Newcastle Eve Black ( Eastlands Velo) who nearly held on to her long mark starting position but still came a great third place.

The other youth events were the 6 lap scratch won by Charlie Fisher ( Newport CC) and Tom Hughes ( Lyme RC) taking the devil. The team sprint went to Bradley Hill ( Lyme RC) Harry Brayford ( Lyme RC) , Megan Williams, Farley Barber (Lyme RC) Tom Hughes and Hannah Davis ( PM).


The opening Freewheelers League 20 riders took part with the top points scorers being as follows;

Group 1 Matthew Cuthbertson 10 points
Group 2 Cameron O’Neil 7 Points
Group 3 Evie Strachan 9 Points

Freewheelers Results
Group 1

Race 1
1st Matthew Cuthbertson
2nd Zach Edwards Lyme RC
3rd Ross Hooley Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Aaron Hardy Lyme RC
2nd Ruby Jennings Lyme RC
3rd Matthew Cuthbertson

Race 3
1st Matthew Cuthbertson
2nd Aaron Hardy
3rd Ruby Jennings

Race 4
1st Ross Hooley
2nd Matthew Cuthbertson
3rd Zach Edwards

Group 2

Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Charlie Shroder
3rd Talisha Morley Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Thomas Mould Lyme RC
3rd Talisha Morley

Race 3
1st Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Holly Edwards

Race 4
1st Thomas Mould
2nd Talisha Morley
3rd Cameron O’Neil

Group 3

Race 1
1st Evie Strachan
2nd Sam Waller Lyme RC
3rd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Emma O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Sam McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Gracie Walters

Race 3
1st Evie Strachan
2nd Emma O’Neil
3rd Olly Davis

Race 4
1st Logan Sutton
2nd Evie Strachan
3rd Emma O’Neil

500m Handicap League
1st Barnaby Davis PM
2nd Martin Stphens PM
3rd Brian Fudge Brooks Cycles

A Class Longest lap
1st Joel Partington PM
2nd Matt Walls Velocity Global Bikes
3rd Caleb Hill Lyme RC

B Class Longest lap
1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Mike Perry ProVision
3rd Jerrod Latham Manchester Wheelers

Youth Block Handicap
1st Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001
2nd Harry Horn Lyme RC
3rd Eve Black Eastlands Velo
A Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Matt Walls
2nd Jacob Booth Dave Hinde Racing Team
3rd James Farrington Sportcity Velo

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st James Duncalf
2nd James Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
Jack Payne Sportcity Velo
Joel Partington
2nd Caleb Hill
Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
Pete Mitchell Black Line Coaching
3rd Brian Fudge
Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
Barnaby Davis

Youth Team Sprint
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Harry Brayford Lyme RC
Megan Williams
Farley Barber Lyme RC
Tom Hughes Lyme RC
Hannah Davis PM

A Class Course de primes
1st Matt Walls
2nd Joe Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Ethan Davis Wolverhampton Wheelers

B Class Devil
1st James Duncalf
2nd James Brayford
3rd Phil Booth Weaver Valley CC

Youth Devil
1st Tom Hughes
2nd Alex Coates Lyme RC
3rd Louis Evans Lyme RC

A Class Team Pursuit
1st Matt Walls
James Farrington
Liam Zwtschnikow Lyme RC
Mark Love Tuxford Clarion

B Class Points
1st James Duncalf
2nd Conner Fearon
3rd Andrew Bonnett

Sprinters League Sprint Final
1st Pete Mitchell
2nd Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Phil Houlton

Youth Scratch
1st Charlie Fisher Newport CC
2nd Tom Hughes
3rd Alex Coates

A Class 10 Mile
1st Joel Partington
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Matt Walls

B Class
1st James Duncalf
2nd Ethan Davis
3rd Phil Booth

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK