Result – Velothon UCI RR


Martin Mortensen of Cult Energy Pro winner of 2015 Velothon in Wales on Sunday, Russell Downing from the same team wins the sprint for 4th

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Velothon UCI RR

Team Press Release

CULT Energy Pro Cycling Dane, Martin Mortensen won today’s very first edition of Velothon Wales covering 174 kilometers with approximately 2200 meters of elevation. A great day for the Danish squad concluded with several riders in the top of the classification.

A breakaway with CULT Energy rider, Martin Mortensen was established early on and the gap was bridged by a larger group including Karel Hnik, Romain Lemarchand and Joel Zangerle. CULT Energy Pro Cycling instantly decided to keep the pressure on. Lemarchand went full gas on the hardest climb along the way to stress and tire the group. Soon after, Martin Mortensen once again launched a fierce attack, which only three other riders were able to respond to. Entering the final kilometer, Mortensen leaped off one final time and had time to celebrate this well-deserved win crossing the finish line.

Velothon Wales victor, Martin Mortensen was one big smile after the podium ceremony: “We followed André’s plan to ride for me and everything we agreed on this morning was executed on the road, almost to perfection. When Romain, Karel and Joel bridged the gap to me, we decided to launch the next rocket in line and Romain put the hurt on everyone in the group”.

“With 40 kilometers to go, I wanted to split up the group and went away on a smaller climb with two companions. Entering the final loop, I had a feeling of being the strongest of us but I thought it would be wiser to stick together as the chase group was breathing down our necks. With 800 meters to go, I launched the attack and made it to the finish line. This is my last race before the Danish national championships and what better way to start the nationals than with a fresh win in my pocket,” says Mortensen.

DS, André Steensen says: “We wanted to dominate the race and as a part of the plan, we had a rider in the initial breakaway. It wasn’t a problem at all when they bridged the gap the first time. Martin was obviously the strongest out there and we decided to push the pace on a climb where Romain minimized the front group and we were present with 4 riders out of 18 in total. Martin kept pushing the pace and eventually, he still had one good push in him that boosted him across the finish line. I know Martin hasn’t had an easy spring season but he has been fighting hard to get here and that makes the taste of the victory even sweeter,” concludes the happy sports director.

1 MORTENSEN, Martin Cult Energy Pro Cycling 04 h 26′ 25”
2 KONOVALOVAS, Ignatas Team Marseille 13 KTM á 00′ 05”
3 HABEAUX, Gregory Wallonie – Bruxelles ”
4 DOWNING, Russell Cult Energy Pro Cycling á 01′ 00”
5 BIALOBLOCKI, Marcin One Pro Cycling ”
6 KNEISKY, Morgan Team Raleigh GAC ”
7 DELFOSSR, Sebastian Wallonie – Bruxelles ”
8 NEILANDS, Krists Rietumu – Delfin ”
9 ZANGERLE, Joel Cult Energy Pro Cycling ”
10 EVRARD, Laurent Wallonie – Bruxelles ”
11 DOULL, Owain Team Wiggins ”
12 HOLOMAN, Liam Madison Genesis ”
13 STASSEN, Julien Wallonie – Bruxelles ”
14 PEYSKENS, Dimitri Team 3M ”
15 BICHLMANN, Daniel Bike Aid ”
16 HNIK, Karel Cult Energy Pro Cycling ”
17 LAMPIER, Steven Team Raleigh GAC ”
18 LOUBET, Julian Team Marseille 13 KTM ”
19 LUKSEVICS, Viesturs Alpha Baltic – Maratoni.LV ”
20 BIBBY, Ian NFTO ”
21 SAINT MARTIN, Clément Team Marseille 13 KTM ”
22 WILLIAMS, Stephen National Team Great Britain ”
23 HOLMES, Matt Madison Genesis ”
24 DUNBAR, Eddie NFTO ”
25 MONTGOMERY, David Team 3M ”
26 DOMAGALSKI, Karol Team Raleigh GAC ”
27 PEARSON, Dan National Team Great Britain ”
28 PENVEN, Clement Team Marseille á 01′ 35”
29 PYM, George Team Raleigh GAC á 03′ 07”
30 PRUUS, Peeter Rietumu – Delfin ”
31 HUNT, Joshua One Pro Cycling ”
32 SMIRNOVS, Andris Rietumu – Delfin ”
33 SISKEVICIUS, Evaldas Team Marseille 13 KTM ”
34 MCCONVEY, Connor Team 3M ”
35 WILLIAMS, Peter One Pro Cycling ”
36 WARNIER, Antoine Wallonie – Bruxelles ”
37 ISTA, Kevin Wallonie – Bruxelles ”
38 BARKER, Yanto One Pro Cycling ”
39 TENNANT, Andrew Team Wiggins ”
40 DE JONGE, Maarten Bike Aid á 04′ 12”
41 STÖHR, Pavel Sparta Praha ”
42 LOWE, Sam Team Raleigh GAC ”
43 PORTER, Elliot Team 3M ”
44 CARPENTER, Dante JLT Condor ”
45 LEMARCHAND, Romain Cult Energy Pro Cycling á 04′ 16”
46 PARTRIDGE, Robert NFTO á 04′ 18”
47 STÖHR, Jan Sparta Praha á 07′ 48”
48 COSTA SORIA, Axel Start – Massi Cycling Team á 13′ 36”
49 KEUSER, Andreas Start – Massi Cycling Team ”
50 LATHAM, Chris National Team Great Britain ”
51 CATALA CASENY, Ruben Start – Massi Cycling Team ”
52 BLAIN, Alexandre Team Marseille 13 KTM ”
53 SCHNAPKA, Matthias Bike Aid ”
54 STEWART, Thomas Madison Genesis ”
55 MCNALLY, Mark Madison Genesis ”
56 ROWSELL, Erick Madison Genesis ”
57 BAYLIS, Thomas One Pro Cycling á 15′ 24”


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,