Report & Results – Harrogate Big Bike Bash


Thomas Pidcock (Speedflex RT) & Chris Opie (One Pro Cycling) winners at the Harrogate Big Bike Bash

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Harrogate Big Bike Bash
(thanks Richard)


Today was the first legacy race for Harrogate after the incredible success of last year’s Tour de France visit to Yorkshire. Centred around a weekend of closed roads and guided rides, the evening crits were nothing short of spectacular. In the picturesque town of Harrogate, North Yorkshire and set on the beautiful Stray an enormous crowd filled a huge event village. With food vendors, beer tents and a massive live music stage, the party was in full swing as the riders arrived.

First to race were the 2nd, 3rd and 4th cat riders with a handful of junior and youth A riders. From the rolling start, there was clear way this race was going. Local boys Tom Pidcock of Speedflex RT and Adam Hartley of VCUK PH-Mas took the race by the horns and tore off from the field. These two 15 year old Youth A riders led for virtually the entire race with Adam getting caught just before the line and young Tom taking a comfortable win. Two stars for the future?

The main event was a real delight with two world tour superstars riding by invition. The crowd were treat to the racing prowess of Yorkshireman Adam Blythe and the big kiwi Sam Bewley – both of Orica Greenedge Pro Cycling. They were not to have it all their own way however with Chris Opie of One Pro Cycling in rude form taking an early lead. It took all of Sam Bewley’s strength and Adam Blythe taking Pete Williams out the back door to close him down. The race settled down in the mid stages only for the rampant Opie to go clear in the final laps to take a well deserved win in front of enormous crowds.

Harrogate did themselves proud hosting an incredible event. Big and better next we hope.

1 Chris Opie – One Pro Cycling
2 Joshua Hunt – One Pro Cycling
3 Richard Hepworth – SportGrub Kuota
4 Samuel Williams – One Pro Cycling
5 Ryan Davis – SportGrub Kuota
6 Martin Woffindin – Cycle Sport Pendle
7 William Brown – Achieve Northside Skinnergate
8 Samuel Bewley – Orica Greenedge
9 Pete Williams – One Pro Cycling
10 Adam Blythe – Orica Greenedge
11 Jack Rees – Achieve Northside Skinnergate
12 Timothy Thomas – Achieve Northside Skinnergate
13 Ashley Marshall – Achieve Northside Skinnergate
14 David Morris – Harrogate Nova
15 Adam Hartley – VCUK PH-Mas
16 Richard Benson – NFTO Race Club

1 Thomas Pidcock – Speedflex RT
2 Lee Brown – Holmfirth CC
3 Adam Hartley – VCUK PH-Mas
4 Glen Turnbull – Patron
5 Shaun Douby – Birdwell Wheelers
6 William Cowen – Clay Cross RT
7 Lloyd Kellet – Airedale Chemical RT
8 Greg Taylor – Speedflex RT
9 Andrew Webster – Team Moda Anon
10 Robert Ormrod – Ilkley CC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,