Report & Results – VC Norwich Road Races


Grant Martin (Ipswich BC) won the VC Norwich Road Race, outsprinting Kendal Noctor (Feather Cycles) at the end of the 67 mile race in west Norfolk.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – VC Norwich Road Races
(by Fergus Muir)

Great Cressingham, Norfolk (Sat 27th June)

Grant Martin (Ipswich BC) won the VC Norwich Road Race, outsprinting Kendal Noctor (Feather Cycles) at the end of the 67 mile race in west Norfolk. The key moment came on fifth of the nine laps when a group of ten eased off the front of the bunch. The break, presently whittled down to eight riders, remained intermittently in sight of the bunch for two more laps, but eventually pulled clear.

P1170909a Cameron wins

At the finish, alongside the Great Cressingham village fete, Martin, liberally tattooed and from a moto-cross background, took a “wait and see approach, then as he said “Put the hammer down” and was four bike lengths clear at the line.

Second was Kendal Noctor (Feather Cycles) a winner at the Redbridge crits two days earlier, who was just ahead James Rix (Glendene CC). Laura Cameron was the winner of the 45 mile women’s race in the afternoon. The field largely stayed together, though Cameron’s London Phoenix team had a pair of riders away briefly, and felt afterwards that one more rider might have made the break viable.

Cameron, from Clapham in south London, finished well clear of the rest of the charging bunch, from which her London Phoenix clubmate Aoifi Doherty took second spot and Lucy Harper third.



Provisional Results:


P1170886 Martin wins


1 Grant Martin Ipswich Bicycle Club
2 Kendal Noctor Feather Cycles Racing
3 James Rix Glendene CC
4 Michael Auger Iceni Velo
5 Morris Bacon Strada-Sport
6 Chris Guy Iceni Velo
7 Matthew Webster Loughborough Students CC
8 Ian Perry Colchester Rovers CC
9 Anthony Moye Easton Ritte
10 Patrick Graf Cambridge CC
11 Freddy Pett Strada-Sport
12 Tim Gill Ilkley Cycling Club
13 Luke Morgan Corley Cycles – Drops RT
14 Martin Barkes Ipswich Bicycle Club
15 Gavin Carter Stowmarket & District CC
16 Lewis Pendle Iceni Velo
17 David Warwick Fast Test Racing Team
18 Charlie Wright VC Norwich
19 James Browne VC Norwich
20 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
21 Philip Large Iceni Velo
22 Matt Bridges Strada-Sport
23 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC
24 James Fairbank Feather Cycles Racing
25 Patrick Martin WyndyMilla
26 Mark Howard Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
27 Jonathan Vaughan Aylsham Road Club
28 Richard Carrington Mildenhall CC
29 Jack Hardwicke Ipswich Bicycle Club
VC Norwich Women’s Race
1 Laura Cameron London Phoenix CC
2 Aoife Doherty London Phoenix CC
3 Lucy Harper Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
4 Joy Lisney Cambridge CC
5 Petra Dolejsova London Phoenix CC
6 Sophie Edmondson Feather Cycles Racing
7 Gemma Melton
8 Susan Freeburn PMR@Toachim House
9 Louise Marsden VC Norwich
10 Melanie Paddington EHF Velopro
11 Jennie Tillott St Ives CC
12 Jennifer Lake Squadra Donne
13 Natalie Brooks Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club
14 Aileen Baird University of Birmingham CC
15 Ceri Macalpine Velo Club Peloton
16 Francesca Hall Kings Lynn CC
17 Anneke Prins Welwyn Wheelers CC
18 Emma Porter Penge Cycle Club

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,