Result – Sotonia Summer RR


A win for Benjamin Marks in the Sotonia Summer Road Race in Hampshire

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Sotonia Summer RR
(by Eamonn Deane – photos here)

Ben Marks ( won the Sotonia CC Summer Road Race at Owslebury in Hampshire. Marks proved too strong for James Boyman (Farnham RC) who could not respond to Marks sprint at the end of the 60 mile race.


Boyman had been part of a four man break that had escaped on the first of 7.5 laps of the tough circuit. Andrew Pickett(Eden Veranda), Paul Double (VC Venta) & Scott Michaels (Southampton Uni CC) made up the quartet that had attacked through the finish line, one lap later they had built a lead of 40 seconds. Marks & Phillip Peters (Danny Shane-Storck Racing) bridged across at the midway point, lifting the pace and dropping Michaels.

A chasing group of seven formed leaving the disorganised bunch over three minutes down as the race entered the last lap. Time triallist Boyman knew Marks was the strongest and tried his luck on that final lap, he managed to dislodge Pickett & Double but could not shake off the Cycleworks rider and was resigned to his fate as Marks powered away with the chequered flag in sight.

Benjamin Marks: “ We sat on, had a bit of a break, then pulled the gap out again, I knew James (Boyman) was strong , he has won here before, so I just followed everything he did, he was pulling hard through the corners dropping everyone and we had a gap, I just went for it at the finish and James sat up, I have had a lot of second places this year so it’s nice to win. I am riding home to Petersfield now so that’s 100 miles for today”

James Boyman “I cant sprint, I am a tester! As soon as we got to a k to go I tried to make it hard for Ben but it was not going to happen”

Phillip Peters “ It was hard work to get across to the break, it was a tough chase, James & Ben were strong”


1 Benjamin Marks
2 James Boyman Farnham RC
3 Philip Peters Danny Shane – Storck Racing
4 Andrew Pickett Eden Veranda Racing
5 Paul Double Velo Club Venta
6 Liam Walsh VC St Raphael
7 Matthew Downie DHC Racing
8 Kris Jasper
9 David Billings VC St Raphael
10 George Stainton-Ellis Team Moore Fitness RC
11 Daniel Bone I-Team Cyclists’ Club
12 George Smith Gillingham and District Wheele…
13 William Griffiths Southampton University RC
14 Scott Michaels Southampton University RC
15 Andrew Gough Velo Club Venta

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK