Preview – Stockton Next Stop for Pros


Can George Atkins (One Pro Cycling) make it a hat rick this year at the Stockton Velo29-Altura Town Centre Criterium on Friday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview – Stockton Next Stop for Pros

The Stockton Velo29-Altura Town Centre Criterium is the next stop for the British pro teams on Friday evening


George Atkins (One Pro Cycling) in fine fettle at Otley off the front with Tom Barras (NFTO)

Stockton Velo29-Altura Town Centre Criterium back for the 4th time on an updated circuit around the newly refurbished Stockton High Street.

The Stockton Velo29-Altura Town Centre Criterium is the next stop for the British pro teams on Friday evening where Jon Mould of One Pro Cycling is entered backed up by a strong team. After a solo win in Stafford and third at the hotly contested Otley GP, Mould is in a rich vein of form and one of the favourites for the race.

Starting at 6.30 pm in the evening, the race is part of the 2015 Stockton Velo29-Altura Festival and has attracted a strong line up of riders. The start list is a who’s who of favourites and depending on who ride for the team entered, the favourites list is a long one.

The circuit which has been used for previous editions of this popular event is fast but also has its technical bits as well and will suit the crit rider. With the Stockton GP on the Sunday, many of the teams will be bringing strong squads to the North East to do both races. JLT Condor for example have Olympic hero Ed Clancy on the start sheet along with a home town favourite in the North East, Harry Tanfield. Others such as Graham Briggs, Tom Moses and Felix English are also likley winners.

Madison Genesis have a small team of riders entered and Matt Cronshaw was very active in Otley and is another rider who could do some damage given some space. As well as Jon Mould, One Pro Cycling have former winner George Atkins entered along with Peter Williams who ran Scott Thwaites so close at the Skipton town centre event last week. NFTO have some real firepower entered  with all their top guns on the list led by Aussie champion Steele Von Hoff and Chorley GP winner Ian Bibby.


Winner at the Tour Series in 2015, Steele Von Hoff of NFTO

Other teams sure to be in the mix for the podium are Pedal Heaven with the likes of David McGowan and Alex Paton whilst SportGrub KUOTA have William Bjergfelt and Richard Hepworth among their line up. Wheelbase Altura’s Stuart Reid is another who could spring a surprise in the race for the podium.

Previous years have brought various outcomes, in 2012 Tobyn Horton (Raleigh GAC) won a 3 man sprint on rain soaked roads. In 2013 George Atkins (100% ME) lapped the majority of the field in an impressive solo victory and George (Team Raleigh) won again in 2014, this time in a bunch sprint.

Can George, now riding for One Pro Cycling make it a hat trick this year?


Course Changes
The organisers have removed a dog leg turn and increased the length of the main straight to make the course less technically demanding. The new look High Street looks great and they’ve included a run through the show piece fountain which will be switched off of course!

The event is part of a 3 day Festival delivered by Stockton Borough Council and Velo29-Altura Events. On Saturday there is a Sportive which starts on a closed road section of Sunday’s GP course and rides across the North Yorkshire Moors, on Sunday as well as the GP there is a full Family Fun day including Youth, 2/3/4 & ladies racing and a stack of bike related entertainment including the Asda Street Velodrome.

Full details

1 William Brown Achieve Northside Skinnergate
2 Ashley Marshall Achieve Northside Skinnergate u23
3 Graham Briggs JLT Condor
4 Edward Clancy MBE JLT Condor
5 Felix English JLT Condor
6 Luke Grivell-Mellor JLT Condor u23
7 Richard Handley JLT Condor
8 Joseph Moses JLT Condor u23
9 Thomas Moses JLT Condor
10 Harry Tanfield JLT Condor u23
11 Matt Cronshaw Madison Genesis
12 Joe Evans Madison Genesis u23
13 Mark McNally Madison Genesis
14 Tristan Robbins Madison Genesis u23
15 Matthew Kipling MTS Cycle Sport Scott RT
16 James Moss MTS Cycle Sport Scott RT
17 Alex Anderson Neon-Velo Cycling Team u23
18 Steven Lawley Neon-Velo Cycling Team
19 James Lowden Neon-Velo Cycling Team
20 Alex Minting Neon-Velo Cycling Team u23
21 Peter Murdoch Neon-Velo Cycling Team
22 Hugo Robinson Neon-Velo Cycling Team u23
23 Jacob Tipper Neon-Velo Cycling Team
24 Tom Barras NFTO
25 Ian Bibby NFTO
26 Eddie Dunbar NFTO u23
27 James Lewis NFTO
28 Jonathan McEvoy NFTO
29 Robert Partridge NFTO
30 Steele Von Hoff NFTO
31 Joseph Wiltshire NFTO u23
32 George Atkins One Pro Cycling
33 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling u23
34 Dexter Gardias One Pro Cycling
35 George Harper One Pro Cycling
36 Marc Hester One Pro Cycling
37 Jonathan Mould One Pro Cycling
38 Samuel Williams One Pro Cycling u23
39 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling
40 Will Fox Pedal Heaven RT
41 Gruffudd Lewis Pedal Heaven RT
42 David McGowan Pedal Heaven RT
43 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven RT
44 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT u23
45 Stephen Williams Pedal Heaven RT u23
46 Oliver Moors Project 51 u23
47 Calvin Beneke Raleigh GAC
48 Karol Domagalski Raleigh GAC
49 Andrew Hawdon Raleigh GAC
50 Morgan Kneisky Raleigh GAC
51 Sam Lowe Raleigh GAC u23
52 Brad Morgan Raleigh GAC
53 George Pym Raleigh GAC u23
54 Liam Stones Raleigh GAC
55 William Bjergfelt SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
56 Ryan Davis SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
57 Richard Hepworth SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
58 Jason White
59 Joshua Lawless Team Moda-Anon
60 Julian Pearson Team Moda-Anon
61 Andrew Turner Team Moda-Anon
62 Mark Christian Team Wiggins
63 Luc Hall Team Wiggins u23
64 Christopher Lawless Team Wiggins u23
65 Iain Paton Team Wiggins u23
66 Daniel Patten Team Wiggins
67 Michael Thompson Team Wiggins u23
68 David Lines Velosure Starley Primal
69 Andrew Coupe Wheelbase Altura MGD
70 Lewis Craven Wheelbase Altura MGD
71 Ben Davis Wheelbase Altura MGD
72 Alex Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Altura MGD u23
73 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD

As a form guide, here is the top 20 from the last two major crits, Otley and Stafford:

1. Daniel Mclay Bretagne-Seche Environnement
2. Christopher Latham 100% ME
3. Jonathan Mould One Pro Cycling
4. Morgan Kneisky Raleigh GAC
5. Scott Thwaites Bora–Argon 18
6. David McGowan Pedal Heaven RT
7. Felix English JLT Condor
8. George Atkins One Pro Cycling
9. Dale Appleby NFTO
10. Liam Stones Raleigh GAC
11. Alistair Slater An Post – ChainReaction
12. Mark Stewart 100% ME
13. Graham Briggs JLT Condor
14. Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC
15. Alex Minting Neon-Velo Cycling Team
16. Tom Barras NFTO
17. Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis
18. Germain Burton 100% ME
19. Gabriel Cullaigh 100% ME
20. Alex Paton Pedal Heaven RT

1. Jonathan Mould One Pro Cycling
2. Adam Blythe Orica Greenedge
3. Morgan Kneisky Raleigh GAC
4. Jonny McEvoy NFTO
5. Andrew Tennant Team Wiggins
6. Harry Tanfield JLT Condor
7. Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC
8. David McGowan Pedal Heaven RT
9. George Atkins One Pro Cycling
10. Dale Appleby NFTO
11. Graham Briggs JLT Condor
12. William Bjergfelt SportGrub KUOTA CT
13. Felix English JLT Condor
14. Jacob Tipper Neon-Velo Cycling Team
15. Alex Paton Pedal Heaven RT
16. Liam Stones Raleigh GAC
17. Tom Barras NFTO
18. Calvin Beneke Raleigh GAC
19. Christopher Lawless Team Wiggins
20. Rhys Lloyd NFTO

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,