Men’s Duncan Murray Wines Road Race


Stuart Ridsdale of the Rugby RCC wins the cat 3/4 Men’s Duncan Murray Wines Road Race on Sunday, July 26

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Men’s Duncan Murray Wines Road Race
(thanks Dean Barnett)

The men’s race was run off in a similar pattern, unfortunately for the host club James Garratt just ran out of enough steam as he was caught with 2 miles to go. The junior rider eased away from the pack mid-way round the second lap. An excellent rider against the watch James was soon into his aerodynamic position. His efficient pedalling style soon enabled him to open up a two minute gap as behind the bunch was getting smaller and smaller as the terrain was taking its toll. With a crash in the main group with one lap to go this also saw some riders bail out as the race passed the HQ.

As the rain got heavier, James was starting to suffer. The lone leader hit the base of the Oxendon climb and his legs went bang. James could sense the bunch was closing in they jostled behind turning from Farndon heading back towards Naseby for the last ascent of the Naseby climb.

In Clipston the catch was made and speed at the front went up another notch. First to crest the climb and take a fine victory was Stuart Ridsdale Rugby RCC. Stuart has a likening to Welland Valley events having won the AA Brown event in June. Joining Stuart on the podium was second place Jordan MacSween, St Ives CC, and third place Tom Murray Greenwheel Cycles.  Simon Hopkins took the award for the first Welland rider across the line.

Many thanks to everyone who contributed to the Duncan Murray Wines Road Races today. In damp miserable cold conditions members and friends of Welland Valley CC contributed to the smooth running of an excellent promotion. Special thanks to Duncan & Megan Murray for their continued support, Duncan was on hand to present the awards.

1 Stuart Ridsdale Rugby RCC
2 Jordan MacSween St Ives CC
3 Tom Murray Greenwheel Cycles
4 Steve Tait Mapperley CC
5 Pete Bradshaw Rockingham Forest Wheelers
6 Andrew Cross Team Milton Keynes
7 Thomas Rutter Cheltenham & County CC
8 Gerard Henry Cult Racing
9 Julian Mills Club Corley Cycles
10 Paul Cole GBC Racing Team
11 Luke Bonnett Beeston RC
12 Scott McCann Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT
13 Richard Evershed Cheltenham & County CC
14 Andrew Hicklin Fusion Cycling Club Dronfield
15 Phill O’Connor Banbury Star CC
16 Graham Knight Team Milton Keynes
17 Samuel Brown
18 Paul Hardy Wellingborough Cycles
19 Jason Green Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club
20 Leigh Smith Equipe Velo
21 Christopher Hart CC Luton
22 Simon Hopkins Welland Valley CC
23 Paul Beattie Rockingham Forest Wheelers
24 Simon Moss Equipe Velo
25 Tom Perry 45 Road Club
26 Josh Beckett High Wycombe Cycling Club
Finishers not placed Loz Cox & Vic Barnett Welland Valley CC
Number of starters = 68

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK