Result – StradaSport Summer Road Race


Andrew Holmes of VC Revolution won the cat 3/4 StradaSport Summer Road Race in Norfolk on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – StradaSport Summer Road Race

By Fergus Muir


Andrew Holmes from Colchester club VC Revolution flew up Skeets Hill, Shotesham to win the Strada Sport Road Race in Norfolk, following a long chase after lone break man Tim Guy.

In warm, sunny conditions Mark Richards (VC Baracchi) and Lewis Pendle (Iceni Velo) were the first to establish a significant break., theirs lasting two laps. Guy (Iceni Velo) launched his solo bid with 30 miles of the 50 mile race still remaining. Holmes (VC Revolution) had been in every attempt to organize a chase, most particularly in the company of Ben Keeley (King’s Lynn CC).

However on the last lap of the Shotesham Circuit, as Keeley faded, Elliot Fullerton (VC Norwich) bridged to join Holmes. They had Guy in sight as they approached Stoke Holy Cross Church. Half a mile later, at the foot of Skeet’s Hill, Holmes attacked, dropped the other two and took the win six seconds from Fullerton.

An exhausted Guy finished third with a thoroughly stretched-out out bunch sprint going to Soham rider Lee Desborough (4th) from Holmes’s clubmate Oli Edwards, Gavin Carter (Stowmarket & District) and James Browne (VC Norwich). Josh Aiken (SDCC), who had been notably active at the front, was eighth and Mark Richards (VC Baracchi) animator of the first significant break, ninth.


1. Andrew Holmes VC Revolution
2. Elliot Fullerton VC Norwich @ 6 secs
3. Tim Guy Iceni Velo @15 secs
4. Lee Desborough St Ives CC @33 secs
5. Oliver Edwards VC Revolution
6. Gavin Carter Stowmarket & District CC
7. James Browne VC Norwich
8. Joshua Aiken Stowmarket & District CC
9. Mark Richards VC Baracchi
10. Lewis Pendle Iceni Velo
11. Neal Hughes Autostrasse Porsche RT
12. Ian Perry Colchester Rovers
13. John O’Neil North Norfolk Whs
14. Paul Miller Maldon & District CC
15. Ben Keeley Team V02 Bikes
16. Stephen Clark Ipswich Bicycle Club
17. Simon Hance Ipswich Bicycle Club
18. Joshua Andrews Fast Test Racing Team
19. Jamil Shehadeh Colchester Rovers CC
20. Tom Begg Cambridge CC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK