Report & Results: Grand Prix of Wales


Chris Lawless of Team Wiggins has won the GP of Wales in Abergavenny today

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results: Grand Prix of Wales


Peloton leaves Abergavenny with 113 miles ahead of them, tough miles say the riders afterwards.


Dominic Jelfs of Madison Genesis led the way with James Gullen of Velosure Starley Primal past Raglan Castle on the first big loop


A little later and it was a rider from  Velosure Starley Primal leading with Sam Williams of One Pro Cycling.


Behind them was a very active peloton


At Raglan Castle for the second time, Peter Williams of One Pro Cycling was leading with lots of splits off the front but the peloton was intact and not in panic mode… yet.


On the way to Abergavenny  and a sizable group had formed with eventual winner Chris Lawless, Dale Appleby, Mike Cuming, Rory Townsend,  Karol Domagalski, George Atkins and leading the way here James Gullen.


The peloton meanwhile was split in three on a section of the course Gareth Pugh, our press car driver who lives locally, said was very grippy and it showed.


The third group on the road which came back together with the second 


From the big group, a small group of four formed, Dale Applebt (NFTO), George Atkins (One Pro Cycling), Mike Cuming (JLT Condor) and for a while, Jack Pullar (Velosure Starley Primal). The four became three when Pullar was dropped.


The gap came down to a dozen seconds or so but still the leading trio held on lap after lap to their lead.


Chris Lawless had a good go at breaking clear and getting to the leaders and is chased by NFTO and One Pro Cycling with Raleigh GAC leading the peloton


Raleigh GAC had good numbers at the front, Same Lowe here, with series winner Steve Lampier doing a lot of work to bring the break back.


Three to go and George Atkins could sense the others in the break with him were getting tired and went clear on his own.


Atkins though was pulled back and Raleigh continued to lead the peloton, Same Lowe on the front.


Bell lap and by George, its Atkins again on the front for his team leading NFTO’s James Lowsley Williams


In a messy finale, where Alex Paton of Pedal Heaven went off the front, chased by Lawless, Graham Briggs (JLT Condor) and Yanto Barker (ONE Pro Cycling), with a official’s car behind a group being lapped stopped on the course said to split the peloton by some riders, Lawless went for it 700 metres from the line and with Briggs closing the gap to him, Barker made his run a fraction to late and the Wiggins rider held on to win. Briggs four laps out had to have a bike change after a rider ran into his rear derailleur but the man in form got back on!


The top three – Yanto Barker, Chris Laweless and Gragam Briggs.

Results – thanks John/Sue
1 Christopher Lawless Team Wiggins 04:13:40
2 Yanto Barker One Pro Cycling same time
3 Graham Briggs JLT Condor same time
4 Von Hoff Steele NFTO 1
5 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC 3
6 Jonathan McEvoy NFTO same time
7 Gabriel Cullaigh 100% ME same time
8 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling same time
9 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling same time
10 Robert Partridge NFTO 8
11 William Bjergfelt SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team same time
12 Matt Cronshaw Madison Genesis same time
13 Dexter Gardias One Pro Cycling same time
14 George Atkins One Pro Cycling same time
15 Sam Lowe Raleigh GAC same time
16 Jonathan Mould One Pro Cycling same time
17 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven RT same time
18 Tom Moses JLT Condor same time
19 Callum Ferguson Zappi’s Racing Team 12
20 George Pym Raleigh GAC 19
21 Dan Fleeman SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team 24
22 Rhys Lloyd NFTO 36
23 Wouter Sybrandy Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT 57
24 Simon Wilson Polypipe Cycling Team same time
25 Harry Tanfield JLT Condor 59
26 Karol Domagalski Raleigh GAC 01:04
27 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT 01:08
28 Daniel Patten Team Wiggins same time
29 Mitchell Webber Pedal Heaven RT same time
30 Michael Thompson Team Wiggins same time
31 Jake Kelly 100% ME same time
32 Connor Swift Polypipe Cycling Team same time
33 Tom Baylis One Pro Cycling same time
34 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven RT same time
35 Ashley Dennis Catford CC Equipe/Banks same time
36 Kristian House JLT Condor same time
37 Ian Bibby NFTO same time
38 James Lowsley-Williams NFTO 01:14
39 Steven Lawley Neon-Velo Cycling Team 01:15
40 Ian Field Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 01:16
41 Lloyd Chapman Richardsons-Trek RT 02:21
42 Dale Appleby NFTO 02:22
43 David Clarke Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT 03:41
44 Adam Kenway SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team 04:22
45 Ben Simmons Team Wiggle 04:28
46 Scott Auld Zappi’s Racing Team 05:49
47 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT 06:07

out of time
48 Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
49 Andrew Hawdon Raleigh GAC
50 Steven Roach Cycle-Tec
51 Richard Harris Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club s
52 Gruffudd Lewis Pedal Heaven RT
53 James Gullen Velosure Starley Primal
54 James Davey Velosure Starley Primal
55 Lee Frost Easton Ritte

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK