News: Wiggo and Cav win Madison


Sir Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish win the Revolution Series Madison on a busy day of racing at Derby

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Wiggo and Cav win Madison

Event Press Release | Photo: Michael Poole 

In the final session of Revolution 52 the pair won the 40km race that was as exciting as it was emotional seeing the two old friends race alongside one another. They alternated in contesting each sprint. Cavendish flew out of the final corner each time to beat anyone that was ahead, whilst Wiggins set  an unrelenting cadence at the sprint bell, riding his competitors off his wheel.


Wiggins said to the BBC after the race, “We’ve qualified now and got some points, I don’t know whether that’s enough to ride the Madison [at the Worlds], I’m not too sure. I’m retired now anyway, I’ve got plenty of freedom but ‘Cav’ he’s got a hectic schedule.”

Belgium’s Kenny De Ketele and Moreno De Pauw finished second by 11 points, with 100% ME’s Chris Latham and Mark Stewart in third a further six points behind.  Ed Clancy dominated the men’s Omnium. Mark Cavendish entered the final points race over 20 points down on the former Omnium World Champion after Clancy won the Kilometre TT, Flying Lap and Elimination Race.

Every time Cavendish attacked, Clancy countered, never letting the gap grow to more than 50 metres. Cavendish slipped to tie third position halfway through the race when John Dibben gained a lap on the peloton. They both sat up accepting their position as first and second with one sprint remaining.

Laura Trott and Jolien D’Hoore went head to head in a tense points race in the women’s Sir Dave Brailsford Omnium. The final result came down to the last sprint, Jolien D’Hoore managed to claim a couple of points back but it wasn’t enough, Trott won by three points, 222 to D’Hoore’s 219.

In the men’s Kierin, Olympic sprint champion Jason Kenny led the race out with two laps to go. Lewis Oliva forced a photo finish, but couldn’t quite get to the line first. Kenny’s form looks to be heading in the right direction at exactly the right time with Rio in mind.

Katy Marchant repeated Kenny’s tactics in the women’s Kierin, leading from the front, increasing her speed all the way to the line. Sandie Clair finished second with Dannielle Khan in third. Jess Varnish won the Kierin minor final, finishing in 7th place, Becky James came 9th, and Shanaze Reade finished 11th.

work in progress …

Womens Omnium – Points Race
1 TROTT, Laura GBR 222
2 D’HOORE, Jolien BEL 219
3 JEULAND, Pascale FRA 172
4 ARCHIBALD, Katie GBR 167
5. BERTHON, Laurie FRA 161
6 KAY, Emily GBR 150
7 OLABERRIA, Leire ESP 143
8 BOYLAN, Lydia IRL 143
9 WOJTYRA, Malgorzata POL 5 12 137
10 NELSON, Emily GBR 124
11 REYBOULD, Rebecca GBR 88
12 LLOYD, Manon GBR 85
13 STEEL, Elizabeth NZL 1 77

Mens Omnium Points
1 CLANCY , Ed GBR 228
3 LATHAM, Christopher GBR 184
4 DIBBEN, Jonathan GBR 183
5 THOMAS, Benjamin FRA 182
6 DE KETELE, Kenny BEL 171
7 STEWART, Mark GBR 164
9 VELDT, Tim NED 129
10 LISOUSKI, Aleksandr BLR 2 126
11 DE PAUW, Moreno BEL 116
12 KNEISKY, Morgan FRA 104
14 WAUCH, Tobias AUT 64
15 RYAN, Fintan IRL 64
16 DOWNEY, Mark IRL 38
17 MATZNER, Stefan AUT
18 KOVALEV, Ivan RUS 31
19 MASTALLER, Stefan AUT 18


1 Mark Cavendish/Bradley Wiggins 32
2 Kenny De Ketele/Moreno De Pauw 21
3 Chris Latham/Mark Stewart 15
4 Matt Gibson/Germain Burton 14
5 Roy Pieters/Stefan Matzner 3
6 Morgan Kniesky/Benjamin Thomas 2
7 Stefan Mastaller/Tobias Wauch
8 Aleksandr Lisouski/Ivan Kovalev
2015-16 season dates
Round 1: 14/15/16 August 2015 – Derby
Round 2: 24 October 2015 – Manchester
Round 3: 14 November 2015 – London
Round 4: 28 November 2015 – Glasgow
Round 5: 02 January 2016 – Manchester
Round 6: 23 January 2016 – Manchester

Tickets 0844 854 2016 –

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,