Report & Results – Brooks Cycles Track League


The Brooks Cycles Track League took place under grey skies on Thursday 20th August at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme , Staffs

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Brooks Cycles Track League

Luckily the rain forecast earlier in the week did not appear and a full nights racing took place. The Freewheelers Races kicked off the night with a good turnout of riders as the youngsters are starting to return from their holidays. After the 13 race program the top point’s scorers were as follows in each group;

Group 1 Zach Edwards Lyme RC 11 Points
Group 2 Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC 7 Points
Group 3 Olly Davis Lyme RC 8 Points

The Main league started off with the 500m Handicap League event which is always a great way to start the night. Martin Stephens ( PM) rode a superb race to win in fine style from the leagues most promising youth rider to emerge this year, Caleb Hill ( Lyme RC) and Josh Spendelow (PM) in third. In the other Sprint events the team of Caleb Hill, Chris Pyatt ( Brooks Cycles) and Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles ) won the team sprint and Joel Partington (PM) won a close finish in the sprint final from Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles).

In the endurance events last years A Class winner Joe Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles) had a good night as he won the 10 lap scratch and the Points Race. First time this year and current World Masters Track Points Champion James Notley won the devil event and Joel Partington won the final 10 mile scratch. In the B endurance races Aiden Morley ( Lyme RC) won the opening 10 lap scratch,the points race and the final 10 mile scratch to have his best ever night at the track league. Mike Perry ( Provision) took the devil to complete the B events.

The Youth events saw some great racing with Harry Horn ( Lyme RC) winning the opening block handicap. Other individual events went to Tom Hughes ( Lyme RC) in the devil and there was such a close finish in the 6 lap scratch that the judges could not separate Charlie Fisher ( Newport CC ) and Alex Coates ( Lyme RC) .

Group 1
Race 1
1st Zach Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC
3rd Ruby Jennings Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Zach Edwards
2nd Natasha Sandbach
3rd Thomas Mould Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Thomas Mould
2nd Ruby Jennings
3rd Zach Edwards

Race 4
1st Zach Edwards
2nd Natasha Sandbach
3rd Thomas Mould

Group 2

Race 1
1st Evie Strachan Stafford RC
2nd Evie Davis Lyme RC
3rd Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
2nd Jamie Good Stafford RC
3rd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Cameron O’Neil
2nd Jamie Good
3rd Holly Edwards

Race 4
1st Holly Edwards
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Christian Morley Lyme RC

Race 5
1st Evie Davis
2nd Minnie McKenzie
3rd Evie Strachan

Group 3

Race 1
1st Olly Davis Lyme RC
2nd Emma O’Neil Lyme RC
3rd Nicholas Sandbach Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Harly Johns Lyme RC
2nd Emma O’Neil
3rd Olly Davis

Race 3
1st Lara Good Stafford RC
2nd Max McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Race 4
1st Olly Davis
2nd Emma O’Neil
3rd Max McKenzie


500m Handicap League
1st Martin Stephens PM
2nd Caleb Hill Lyme RC
3rd Josh Spendelow PM

Youth Block Handicap
1st Harry Horn Lyme RC
2nd Alex Coates Lyme RC
3rd Charlie Fisher Newport CC

A Class 10 laps Scratch
1st Joe Swinnerton Swinnerton cycles

B Class 10 lap Scratch
1st Aiden Morley Lyme RC
2nd George Hancock Lyme RC
3rd Mike Boston Lyme RC

Team Sprint
1st Caleb Hill Lyme RC
Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Harvey Jackson Halesowen ACC
Josh Spendelow PM
Joel Partington PM

3rd Martin Stephens
Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

Youth Team Sprint
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
Harry Horn
Farley Barber Lyme RC
Reuben Blakman Derby Mercury
Alex Coates Lyme RC

A Class Devil
1st James Notley Mammoth RT

B Class Devil
1st Mike Perry Provision
2nd Mike Boston
3rd Phil Powell Newcastle RC

Youth Devil
1st Tom Hughes Lyme RC
2nd Farley Barber
3rd Alex Coates

A Class Points
1st Joe Swinnerton

B Class Points
1st Aiden Morley
2nd Mike Perry
3rd George Hancock

Sprint Final
1st Joel Partington
2nd Sean Mayer
3rd Barney Swinnerton

Youth Scratch
1st Charlie Fisher and Alex Coates
3rd Farley Barber

A Class 10 mile
1st Joel Partington
2nd Caleb Hill
3rd Joe Swinnerton

B Class
1st Aiden Morley
2nd Mike Perry
3rd Mike Boston

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK