News – Brits to Ireland


Ten teams from Britain are heading for Ireland’s flagship Women’s International Bike Race, An Post Rás na mBan

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Brits to Ireland

The last two winners of the British Circuit Race title are among a powerful entry from Britain for this year’s An Post Rás na mBan women’s international stage race.

Nikki Juniper, the reigning British Circuit Race Champion and her immediate predecessor Eileen Roe, who finished second in this year’s decider, will renew their rivalry on the roads of County Clare on September 9th.

Juniper, who has also clinched the British National Road Series, heads a strong challenge from Team Giordana Triton, her five-rider squad including British Olympic Development riders Abby Mae Parkinson and Lizzie Holden.

Meanwhile Roe will guest with the Dutch WV Breda hoping to reprise the success of her fellow Scot Anne Ewing who won the final stage of last year’s An Post Rás na mBan with Chris Rouw’s team.

Another GB Junior Olympic Academy squad member Grace Garner is the standout name on the RST Racing Team squad while Chloe Fraser returns to Clare with unfinished business with the squad.

Fraser led the Wicklow 200 Queen of the Mountains competition into the final day 12 months ago but an ill-timed puncture cost her dear and she slipped from sixth overall and the lead of the mountains on the final day.

The Scottish Road Race Champion will be a key asset for the GB Cycles squad, a stalwart supporter of Rás na mBan over the years.

Terence Williamson’s Fusion RT have been coming to Ireland for many years in various guises and this year the Welsh-based team can include Bedford 3-Day overall winner Natalie Grinczer and stage winner Rebecca Nixon in their powerful lineup.

Team WNT include Belgian national squad member Pia de Quint and Irish national road champion Lydia Boylan in their lineup along with fast finishing British road star Jo Tindley.

PMR@Toachim House is one of several new visiting squads from Britain for the tenth edition of Rás na mBan. The southeastern England-base squad includes prolific winner Laura Cameron.

Team Jadan is a development team from the north east of England, whose squad for their An Post Rás na mBan debut includes National Junior Road Race medallist Henrietta Colbourne.

Devon-based Starley Primal Cycling Team include Josie Gilbert, Gaby Leveridge and Claire Munton for their first foray to Ireland’s top international stage race.

Carnac Planet X include regular Rás na mBan competitors Sandra McKay and Nicola Soden while Team Watt Cycle from Middlesbrough can call on the services of Angela Hibbs, Ellen McDermott and Jenn Batey.

As well as the overall classification, riders on British teams will be eligible for a new British Rider classification and Best British Team award.

Riders from Sweden, Australia, Belgium and Norway are also entered with those teams making it 13 different countries represented on the entry list for the five-day, six-stage event starting on September 9th.

In total there are 112 riders with the 24 different squads and the event can expect record participation levels from overseas and local competitors.

The five-day event begins on Wednesday 9th September.

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK