Report & Result – Junior National Series


Karl Baillie wins the Junior National Series RR on Sunday in Scarborough from Etienne Georgi and Joey Walker

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Junior National Series

Team Report

This weekend, HMT Academy were in Scarborough for round 9 of the British Junior National Road Race Series. The setting for the race was the motorcycle hill climb circuit, Oliver’s Mount which overlooks Scarborough and the surrounding Yorkshire countryside. Although the course was something very different to what the riders are used too, the short laps of the circuit, including the assent of the tough climb each lap, provided a great backdrop for a dramatic race.


Photo: HMT Academy 

The junior race was the final event to a weekend packed full of racing, and it was great for the team to be able to watch the younger riders compete, some of which may even be riding for the team in years to come!

The race started quite late on in the day at around 4:00 meaning the hot temperatures earlier in the day had fallen and racing conditions were good for the penultimate round of the Junior National Series race.

It was Jack Escritt who made the first move of the race, attacking while the race was still on the top, flat circuits. The move which consisted of 2 other riders stayed up the road until the first summit of the climb, which the riders would now complete every lap.


After several laps it was now Karl Baillie who decided to make a move off the front with series leader Etienne Georgi (GiantCC- Halo Films). The pair quickly pulled out an advantage of over a minute, and with only 3 laps to go it became clear that these leading 2 would stay clear. The only obstacle now was the chasing group, made up of Joey Walker, Nathan Draper and Rob Scott who were now half way across to Baillie.

It was now the penultimate time up the climb and Baillie once again showed his strength, pulling out a lead over Georgi out of the tight hairpin at the bottom. Etienne did well to close this gap over the summit of the climb and the pair were together again as they came to the climb for the final time.

Karl Baillie kicked again and this time it stuck, with Karl Baillie taking the win with a 10 second advantage over his break away partner.


L-R: Etienne Georgi, Karl Baillie, Joey Walker & Nathan Draper. Photo: Chris Walker (RST Racing)


1. Karl Baillie, HMT Academy JLT Condor 1.08.21
2. Etienne Georgi, GiantCC- Halo Films at 10sec
3. Joey Walker, RST Racing Team at 36sec
4. Nathan Draper, RST Racing Team
5. Robert Scott, VCUK PH MAS all same time
6. Alex Foster, Border City Wheelers at 1.14
7. Owen Dudley, Manx Viking CC at 1.15
8. Max Williamson, Bike Box Alan/Envelopemaster at 1.17
9. Tom Chandler, Sherwood Pines SRAM
10. Louis Modell, Catford CC Equipe Banks all st

11 Adam Hartley VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Tea…
12 Matthew Bostock Manx Viking Whls CC
13 Timothy Jones Cycle Sport Pendle
14 Robert Hogg Corley Cycles – Drops RT
15 Elliot Redfern Giant Cycling Club – Halo Film…
16 Tim James Bourne Whls CC
17 Stuart Balfour HMT Academy with JLT Condor
18 Buauna Ball
19 Matthias Barnet Spokes Racing Team
20 Kieran Simcox Bike Box Alan/Envelopemaster
21 Fabian Brennan North City Velo Cycling Team
22 Fergus Robinson Allen Valley Velo
23 Josh Housley Beeston RC
24 Louis Carter Corley Cycles – Drops RT
25 Nathan Hinks Manx Viking Whls CC
26 Dylan Thomas VC Meudon
27 Robert Gray HMT Academy with JLT Condor
28 Jack Escritt HMT Academy with JLT Condor
29 Eugene Cross Clifton CC
30 Oliver Peckover Sherwood Pines Cycles SRAM RT
31 James Ireson Wolverhampton Whls
32 Ralf Hodgson VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Tea…
33 Kieran Howarth Nottingham Clarion CC
34 Ryan Ashcroft VCUK PH-MAS Junior Cycling Tea…
35 Daniel Minor Lyme RC
36 Kieran Savage RT – GSG Clothi…
37 Matthew Radford Wolverhampton Whls
38 James Wilkinson Audlem Cycling Club
39 Matt Bridges Strada-Sport
40 John MacLeod Spokes Racing Team
41 Zeb Kyffin Gosforth RC
42 Zak Corum-Haines Project 51
43 Tom Garnett Ilkley Cycling Club
44 Grant Martin Spokes Racing Team
45 Jake Beach Knottingley Velo
46 Euken Ertzilla Martinez Beste Albe La Tostadora Durang…

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK