Tour of Britain News


Tour de France hero Andre Greipel to lead Lotto Soudal at Aviva Tour of Britain

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tour of Britain News

Andre Greipel is the latest star name to confirm he will return to the Aviva Tour of Britain this September, leading the Belgian UCI World Team Lotto Soudal in Britain’s premier stage race.


The sprinter, who won four stages of this Summer’s Tour de France, last raced at the Aviva Tour of Britain in 2010 when he took a hat trick of stage victories. The 33-year-old German won the opening and closing stages of the race in Blackpool and London respectively, as well as a mid-race stage to Great Yarmouth in Norfolk.

“This is great news for British fans who can look forward to seeing Andre Griepel battling it out in the sprints at the Aviva Tour of Britain,” said Race Director Mick Bennett.

“We fondly recall Andre’s previous participation in the race, and are delighted that he, and the Lotto Soudal team are returning to race in Britain. With three or four stages of this year’s race likely to be bunch sprints, there is sure to be stiff competition for stage wins that we are sure will make for great racing.”

Greipel is a ten time Tour de France stage winner who has also won stages in both of the other Grand Tours, with four wins in the Vuelta a Espana and three stage wins in the Giro d’Italia, his most recent this May. He will head to the Aviva Tour of Britain having recently won a stage and the Points Classification of the Eneco Tour, as well as the Vattenfall Cyclassics at the weekend.

Greipel will be joined by compatriot Marcel Sieberg in the Lotto Soudal provisional line-up plus 2013 European Under-23 Road Race Champion Sean De Bie and fellow Belgians Jens Debusschere, a stage winner in Tirreno Adriatico this Spring, and Frederik Frison, as well as Dutchman Pim Ligthart, who recently won the King of the Mountains jersey at the Tour of Denmark.


Former Tour of Britain winners Edvald Boasson Hagen and Dylan Van Baarle are already confirmed for the Aviva Tour of Britain, leading the MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung and Cannondale Garmin teams respectively.


Teams Revealed so Far (provisional):
MTN-Qhubeka: Edvald Boasson Hagen, Gerald Ciolek, Daniel Teklehaimanot, Serge Pauwels, Tyler Farrar, Reinardt Janse van Regensburg.
Lotto-Soudal: Andre Greipel, Marcel Sieberg, Sean De Bie, Jens Debusschere, Frederik Frison, Pim Ligthart

Cannondale Garmin: Dylan Van Baarle, more to be revealed

Stage One Sunday 6 September Beaumaris, Anglesey to Wrexham, 177.7km
Stage Two Monday 7 September Clitheroe to Colne, 159.3km
Stage Three Tuesday 8 September Cockermouth to Floors Castle, Kelso, 216km
Stage Four Wednesday 9 September Edinburgh to Blyth, 217.4km
Stage Five Thursday 10 September Prudhoe to Hartside, 166.2km
Stage Six Friday 11 September Stoke-on-Trent to Nottingham, 192.8km
Stage Seven Saturday 12 September Fakenham to Ipswich, 227.4km
Stage Eight Sunday 13 September London stage presented by TfL, 86.8km

UCI WorldTeams
BMC Racing (USA)
Etixx Quick-Step (Belgium)
IAM Cycling (Switzerland)
Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
Movistar Team (Spain)
Team Cannondale – Garmin (USA)
Team Lotto NL Jumbo (Netherlands)
Team Sky (Great Britain)
Tinkoff – Saxo (Russia)

UCI Pro Continental teams
Cult Energy Pro Cycling (Denmark)
MTN Qhubeka (South Africa)
Team Novo Nordisk (USA)

UCI Continental teams
An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland)
JLT Condor presented by Mavic (Great Britain)
Madison Genesis (Great Britain)
NFTO (Great Britain)
ONE Pro Cycling (Great Britain)
Team Raleigh GAC (Great Britain)
Team WIGGINS (Great Britain)

National Teams
Great Britain Cycling Team
Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK