Tour of Britain Startlist


Alex Dowsett, Mark Cavendish, Taylor Phinney, Andre Greipel and Bradley Wiggins just some of the big names confirmed for the Aviva Tour of Britain

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tour of Britain Startlist

FEATURE: The Route of the 2015 Aviva Tour of Britain here


Latest: Former UCI Hour Record holder Alex Dowsett is the latest star name to be announced for the Tour of Britain, his third consecutive appearance at the Tour of Britain for Team Movistar. A provisional start list is below with all the latest additions.


UCI Hour Record holder and 2012 Tour de France Champion Sir Bradley Wiggins and Taylor Phinney of the BMC Racing Team are the latest star riders to confirm that they will be on the start line for the Aviva Tour of Britain, which begins this Sunday (6 September) from Beaumaris in North Wales.


Wiggins, who won the 2013 Tour of Britain, will lead his own Team WIGGINS in their first appearance in the race.

Phinney was fourth in the Olympic Games Road Race in 2012 on his last appearance on British roads, and will line-up for the BMC Racing Team on their second appearance in British Cycling’s premier road cycling event. The remaining five riders in their provisional line-up will be announced later in the week.


Taylor Phinney. Pic: Photosport International.

The duo head the latest riders to be confirmed for the Aviva Tour of Britain, which also includes the provisional line-ups for the Tinkoff Saxo and Cult Energy Pro Cycling teams.

UCI WorldTeam Tinkoff Saxo will be led by Croatian Robert Kiserlovski, who has twice finished in the top ten overall of the Giro d’Italia, with a line-up that also includes Giro d’Italia stage winner Chris Anker Sorensen and Nikolay Trusov, who won a stage of the 2007 Tour of Britain in Taunton.

The Cult Energy Pro Cycling team will make their debut at the Aviva Tour of Britain, with a strong line-up that includes former Tour de France yellow jersey Linus Gerdemann who won the SKODA Tour de Luxembourg earlier this year and 2005 British Road Race Champion Russ Downing.

Fellow former British Champion and 2012 SKODA King of the Mountains winner Kristian House will also return, leading the JLT Condor presented by Mavic team, in what is his final appearance for the ‘men in black’.

Team Raleigh GAC will be led by this year’s British Cycling Elite Road Series Champion Steve Lampier, joined by Evan Oliphant, who will ride on home roads in East Lothian during Stage Four from Edinburgh to Blyth.

Further British interest comes in the An Post Chain Reaction line-up led by Josh Edmondson, who finished in the top 20 on his last appearance in the Aviva Tour of Britain in 2012. Edmondson won the Ronde de l’Oise stage race in France earlier this Summer


Riding alongside Edmondson (pictured above in the Tour of Britain at Knowsley) will be fellow Brit Alistair Slater, Lithuanian National Champion Aidis Kruopis and 2012 Olympic Team Pursuit Bronze medallist Aaron Gate.

Madison Genesis is one of only seven domestic squads and  multiple stage winner Roger Hammond expressed his respect for the race and the opportunity it gives the team to compete at the highest level. “The Tour of Britain’s prestige on the international calendar has been growing consistently over the last decade and given the star studded group of riders that will line up on Sunday in Beaumaris, this trend is showing no sign of abating.

“We are extremely proud that we have been given the opportunity to shine alongside those stars and the entire team has been working tirelessly to make sure that we are ready to go. I’m sure the spectacular but demanding route will once again encourage exciting racing everyday, we are very much looking forward to being part of that, I cannot wait to see the story unfold.”


Teams & Riders so Far (Provisional)

Cannondale Garmin
1. Dylan Van Baarle NED
Ryan Mullen
Alberto Bettiol
Ruben Zepuntke
Kristijan Koren
Alan Marangoni

Etixx Quick-Step
11 Mark Cavendish (GBR)
12 Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL)
13 Mark Renshaw (AUS)
14 Zdenek Stybar (CZE)
15 Matteo Trentin (ITA)
16 Petr Vakoc (CZE)

Team Sky

21 Ben Swift
22 Andrew Fenn
23 Pete Kennaugh
24 Ian Stannard
25 Wout Poels
26 Elia Viviani

IAM Cycling
31 Stef Clement
32 Stefan Denifl
33 Sondre Holst Enger
34 Roger Kluge
35 Clément Chevrier
36 Jonas Van Genechten

BMC Racing Team
41 Taylor Phinney USA
42 Floris Gerts
43 Stefan Küng
44 Dylan Teuns
45 Danilo Wyss
46 Rick Zabel

Cult Energy Pro Cycling
51 Russ Downing GBR
52 Linus Gerdemann GER
53 Rasmus Guldhammer DEN
54 Martin Mortensen DEN
55 Michael Carbel Svendgaard DEN
56 Fabian Wegmann GER

An Post Chain Reaction
61 Josh Edmondson GBR
62 Conor Dunne IRL
63 Aaron Gate NZL
64 Aidis Kruopis LTU
65 Xandro Meurisse BEL
66 Alistair Slater GBR

Lotto Soudal
71 Andre Greipel GER
72 Sean De Bie BEL
73 Jens Debusschere BEL
74 Pim Ligthart NED
75 Marcel Sieberg GER
76 Frederik Frison

MTN Qhubeka
81 Edvald Boasson Hagen NOR
82 Gerald Ciolek GER
83 Tyler Farrar USA
84 Serge Pauwels BEL
85 Daniel Teklehaimanot ERI
86 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg RSA

Madison Genesis
91 Mark McNally
92  Matt Holmes
93 Mike Northey
94 Matt Cronshaw
95 Tom Scully
96 Tom Stewart

Movistar Team
101 Alex Dowsett
102 Rubén Fernández
103 Gorka Izagirre
104 Juanjo Lobato
105 Igor Antón
106 Beñat Intxausti

Team Novo Nordisk
111 Javier Megias ESP
112 Joonas Henttala FIN
113 David Lozano ESP
114 Andrea Peron ITA
115 Charles Planet FRA
116 Kevin De Mesmaeker

JLT Condor
121 Kristian House GBR
122 Graham Briggs
123 Ed Clancy
124 Mike Cuming
125 Richard Handley
126 Tom Moses

Team Lotto NL Jumbo
Moreno Hofland
Steven Kruijswijk
Nick van der Lijke
Barry Markus
Bram Tankink
Koen Bouwman.

Tinkoff Saxo
141 Robert Kiserlovski CRO
142 Michael Morkov DEN
143 Juraj Sagan SVK
144 Chris Anker Sorensen DEN
145 Nikolay Trusov RUS
146 Antwan Tolhoek

Great Britain
151 Tao Geoghegan Hart
152 Gabz Cullaigh
153 Scott Davies
154 Hugh Carthy
155 Alex Peters
156 Ollie Wood

161 James Lowsley Williams
162 Dale Appleby
163 Ian Bibby
164 Eddie Dunbar
165 Jonny McEvoy
166 Rob Partridge

One Pro Cycling
171 Yanto Barker
172 Marcin Bialoblocki
173 George Harper
174  Josh Hunt
175 Chris Opie
176 Pete Williams

Raleigh GAC
181 Steve Lampier GBR
182 Karol Domagalski POL
183 Morgan Kneisky FRA
184 Andy Hawdon GBR
185 Evan Oliphant GBR
186 George Pym GBR

191 Sir Bradley Wiggins GBR
192 Michael Thompson GBR
193 Jon Dibben GBR
194 Owain Doull GBR
195 Chris Lawless GBR
196 Andy Tennant GBR


Stage 1 | Sunday 6 September Beaumaris, Anglesey to Wrexham, 177.7km
Stage 2 | Monday 7 September Clitheroe to Colne, 159.3km
Stage 3 | Tuesday 8 September Cockermouth to Floors Castle, Kelso, 216km
Stage 4 | Wednesday 9 September Edinburgh to Blyth, 217.4km
Stage 5  |Thursday 10 September Prudhoe to Hartside, 166.2km
Stage 6 | Friday 11 September Stoke-on-Trent to Nottingham, 192.8km
Stage 7 | Saturday 12 September Fakenham to Ipswich, 227.4km
Stage 8 | Sunday 13 September London stage presented by TfL, 86.8km
Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,