Report – Brooks Cycles Track League


Brooks Cycles Track League at Newcastle in Staffordshire saw some close racing on Thursday (27th August)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Brooks Cycles Track League

With the school holidays drawing to a close the numbers are starting to pick up across all groups at the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle, Staffs which saw some close racing on Thursday 27th August 2015.

The nights started with the Freewheelers League with this night being a Go Ride Night. All three groups were keenly contested for the medals with the top three in each group being;

Group 1

Gold Paige Hardy Lyme RC
Silver Izaak Curtis Lyme RC
Bronze Aaron Hardy Lyme RC

Group 2

Gold Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
Silver Evie Davis Lyme RC
Bronze Evie Strachan Stafford RC

Group 3

Gold Olly Davis Lyme RC
Silver Harley Johns Lyme RC
Bronze Gracie Walters Lyme RC

In the main league the sprinters competition saw 15 year old Caleb Hill ( Lyme RC) continue to show his promise in the world of sprinting. After his very good performance at the National Youth Sprint Championship events two weeks ago he had a good night. He won his heat in the 200m standing start race then was a member of the winning Team Sprint Team with Josh Spendelow ( PM) and Joel Partington (PM ). In the Keiren Final there was a close finish with three riders lunging for the line with Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles ) taking the win from Joel and Phil Houlton ( Brook Cycles ) .

In the A Class endurance races there was a battle between last year’s winner Joe Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles) and Ben Hardwick ( Wolverhampton Wheelers ). Joe won the 10 lap scratch and devil while Ben came second in every event to end up scoring equal 9 points with Joe. James Duncalf ( Lyme RC ) won the block handicap and Joel partington soled to victory in the 10 mile.

The B Class events saw Aiden Morley ( Lyme RC ) have another good night as he won the 10 lap scratch and the 10 mile scratch. Mike Perry ( Provision) won the devil and he too is mounting a challenge for the league title. The other B event the block handicap was won by Andrew Bonnet ( Uttoxeter CC).

Alex Coates ( Lyme RC) had a good night in the Youth league as he won the 6 lap scratch and won one of the heats of the Youth Keiren. Reuban Blakman ( Derby Mercury ) won the opening 200m TT in fine style. League leader Tom Hughes ( Lyme RC) won the devil. The other individual race was the other Keiren heat which went to another sprinter in the making, Harry Horn (Lyme RC) .

Group 1
Race 1
1st Izaak Curtis Lyme RC
2nd Paige Hardy Lyme RC
3rd Thomas Mould Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Talisha Morley Lyme RC
2nd Aaron Hardy Lyme RC
3rd Paige Hardy

Race 3
1st Aaron Hardy
2nd Thomas Mould
3rd Paige Hardy

Race 4
1st Izaak Curtis
2nd Paige Hardy
3rd Talisha Morley

Group 2
Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Minnie Mckenzie Lyme RC
3rd Christian Morley Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Evie Davis
2nd Minnie McKenzie
3rd Evie Strachan

Race 3
1st Evie Strachan
2nd Christian Morley
3rd Minnie McKenzie

Race 4
1st Minnie McKenzie
2nd Evie Davis
3rd Evie Strachan

Group 3
Race 1
1st Olly Davis Lyme RC
2nd Gracie Walters Lyme RC
3rd Harley Johns Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Harley Johns
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Gracie Walters

Race 3
1st Harley Johns
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Gracie Walters

Race 4
1st Olly Davis
2nd Harley Johns
3rd Gracie Walters

Youth 200m TT
1st Reuban Blakman Derby Mercury
2nd Aleshia Mellor Lyme RC
3rd Charlie Fisher Newport CC

Sprinters 200m S/S Heat Winners
Caleb Hill Lyme RC
Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Joe Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Ben Hardwick Wolverhampton Wheelers
3rd James Duncalf Lyme RC

B Class 10 Laps Scratch
1st Aidan Morley Lyme RC
2nd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxter CC
3rd Richard Coates Lyme RC

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Caleb Hill
Josh Spendelow PM
Joel Partington PM

2nd Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles

3rd Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
Lauren Quenby Swinnerton Cycles
Paige Dutton Swinnerton Cycles

Youth Devil
1st Tom Hughes Lyme RC
2nd Charlie fisher
3rd Alex Coates Lyme RC

A Class Devil
1st Joe Swinnerton
2nd Ben Hardwick
3rd James Duncalf

B Class Devil
1st Mike Perry Provision
2nd Aidan Morley
3rd Phil Powell Newcastle RC 2001

Youth Keirens
Heat 1
1st Harry Horn Lyme RC
2nd Sam Hall Lyme rC
3rd Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001

Heat 2
1st Alex Coates
2nd Aleshia Mellor
3rd Reuban Blakman

A Class Block Handicap
1st James Duncalf
2nd Ben Hardwick
3rd Joe Swinnerton

B Class Block Handicap
1st Andrew Bonnet
2nd Mick Stubbs Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Richard Coates

Keiren Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Phil Houlton
4th Josh Spendelow

Minor Final
1st Chris Pyatt
2nd Caleb Hill
3rd Steve Cronshaw

Youth 6 Lap Scratch
1st Alex Coates
2nd Charlie Fisher
3rd Tom Hughes

10 Mile Scratch
1st Joel Partington
2nd Ben Hardwick
3rd Joe Swinnerton

B Class
1st Aidan Morley
2nd Mike Perry
3rd Andrew Bonnet
Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,