Report & Result: Beeline Bicycles RR


Danny Axford of Arctic Tacx RT winner of the Beeline Bicycles Road Race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result: Beeline Bicycles RR

A race report from the Beeline Bicycles ( Road Race 2015.
[Words: Richard Mead (Chief Commissaire); Submitted by: Nick Beale (Race Organiser, Beeline Bicycles RT)]

The race started in damp conditions with light rain falling for the first hour, drying later. A stiff SW breeze would impact the race on some exposed sections of the circuit.

Racing got off to a fast start with an immediate attack by William Scott (Bonito Squadra Corse); he was holding a 50s by the time race crossed the finish line with three full laps to go. At the start of the second lap, the race fragmented at the head of the bunch with Scott being caught and a further two riders (Oscar Hutchings [Bikeshed/Exeter Uni] & Chris Morrison [Pearson Cycles) breaking clear and gaining a 20s advantage over the next five miles.

Another three riders (Tim Allen [Corley/Drops RT], Jordan Peacock [Rhino Racing] and David Billings [VC St Raphael]) bridged the gap and helped to build the lead to over a minute by the end of the second lap. Unfortunately, soon after starting the third lap, Tim Allen was forced to drop out of the race, but the remaining four riders continued to work well together, building a maximum lead of 1m37s by Islip, where the course re-joins the B4027 to climb to Beckley.

Soon after starting the final lap, the bunch woke up and the lead fell quickly to 50s, with Peacock now dropped from the break. Approaching the finish, Morrison, Billings and Hutchings continued to hold a 30s advantage but this tumbled on the final climb(s) up to the finish, with eventual race winner Danny Axford [Arctic Tacx RT] passing the leaders to take the win from Hutchings by six seconds, with Billings third close behind, and Morrison a further five seconds back in 4th.

1. Danny Axford Arctic Tacx RT 2nd
2. Oscar Hutchings Bikeshed – Exeter Uni 2nd 00:00:06
3. David Billings VC St Raphael 2nd 00:00:07
4. Christopher Morrison Pearson Cycles CC 2nd 00:00:12
5. Edward Giles RP Racing Team 2nd 00:00:15
6. Jack Stanton-Warren Halesowen A & CC 2nd 00:00:15
7. Michael Burke Welland Valley CC 2nd 00:00:15
8. Kris Jasper Bikeshed – Exeter Uni 2nd 00:00:15
9. Adam Moore TeamMoore Fitness RC 2nd 00:00:15
10. Steve Thomas Dream CRT 2nd 00:00:15
11. Roger Prior Zappis Cycling Club 3rd 00:00:15
12. Thomas Leach Felt Racing 2nd 00:00:20
13. Joe Atkins Ride Coventry 2nd 00:00:20
14. Robin Burrow Kenilworth Wheelers 2nd 00:00:20
15. Stephen Feeney Team Chronomaster 2nd 00:00:20
16. Liam Walsh VC St Raphael 2nd 00:00:20
17. Matthew Exley Corley Cycles – Drops RT 2nd 00:00:20
18. James Plumb 2nd 00:00:20
19. Luke Souter Shutt VR / Digital Keystone 3rd 00:00:20
20. Gavin Francis London Dynamo 3rd 00:00:24
21. Adam Thompson Pro Bike Fit 2nd 00:00:24
22. Benjamin Broughton Zappis Cycling Club 3rd 00:00:26
23. Timothy Allen RP Racing Team 2nd 00:00:27
24. Jamie Francis London Dynamo 2nd 00:00:31
25. James Bradley Twickenham CC 2nd 00:00:31
26. Gavin Howell Bicester Millennium CC 2nd 00:00:31
27. Alex Richardson Rapha CC 2nd 00:00:33
28. Christian Olley TMG Horizon CT 3rd 00:00:33
29. Matthew Thomas Cowley Road Condors 3rd 00:00:33
30. James Moore Welland Valley CC 2nd 00:00:33
31. Steve James High Wycombe CC 3rd 00:00:37
32. Justin Belcher Shutt VR / Digital Keystone CC 2nd 00:00:37
33. Angus Mathers TeamMoore Fitness RC 2nd 00:00:39
34. Scott Holmes Hillingdon Cycling Club 2nd 00:00:39
35. Matthew Cryer Army Cycling Union 2nd 00:00:39
36. Lubomir Belak St Ives CC 2nd 00:00:39
37. Matthew Ullmer Cotswold Cycles RT 3rd 00:00:43
38. Sam Calder Beeline Bicycles RT 2nd 00:00:43
39. Oliver W Bates Rhino Racing 2nd 00:00:51
40. Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop CC 2nd 00:00:51
41. Jamie Scott Corley Cycles – Drops RT 2nd 00:00:53
42. Ben Wilson Personal Best Cycling Services 3rd 00:00:54
43. Kieran Dineen VC Equipe – Flix 2nd 00:01:02
44. Thomas Kirk 2nd 00:01:03
45. Andrew Turner NFTO Race Club 2nd 00:01:03
46. Richard Cleaver Cheltenham & County CC 2nd 00:01:03
47. Josh Beckett High Wycombe CC 3rd 00:01:15
48. James Franklin Velo Club Venta 2nd 00:01:23
49. Andrew Gough Velo Club Venta 2nd 00:01:23
50. Patrick Fotheringham Halesowen A & CC 2nd 00:01:48

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,