NEWS: 2015 USN Welsh Cycling Awards


Welsh Cycling reveals the finalists including Geraint Thomas & Owain Doull in the 2015 USN Welsh Cycling Awards

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

NEWS: 2015 USN Welsh Cycling Awards

Welsh Cycling Press Release

Following the success of the Commonwealth Games in 2014, Welsh Cycling has continued to grow and achieve over the last twelve months. With now over 5,000 members and more than 140 cycling clubs in Wales, cycling is proving to be more popular than ever.

There has also been success for Wales’ elite cyclists with both Geraint Thomas and Luke Rowe competing in the 2015 Tour de France, and world championship medals for Manon Carpenter, Owain Doull and Elinor Barker.

The 2015 USN Welsh Cycling Awards finalists are:

Race Official of the Year
Andy Smith
Richard Hopkins
Anne Russell

Club of the Year
Abergavenny Road Club
Bike Doctor
West Wales Cycle Racing Team
Newport Cycle Speedway

Go Ride Club of the Year
Velo Club Melyd
Gower Riders
Towy Riders
Abergavenny Road Club

Race Organiser of the Year
Abergavenny Road Club for the British Cycling National Cyclo Cross Championships
Maindy Flyers Youth Cycling Club for the British National Youth Circuit Series Round Five
Richard Hopkins for the NFTO Junior Tour of Wales

Volunteer of the Year
Mary Trenfield and Christine Smith
John Wheat
Chris Allen

Coach of the Year
Anthony Jones
Garrie Tillett
Paul Crapper

Colin Thornton Award for Junior Performance
Peter Kibble, Velocity Globalbikes
Joe Holt, County Cycles Road Team
Ffion James, Abergavenny Road Club

Club Cyclist of the Year
Andrew Duggan, Caerphilly Cycling Club
Paul Rees, Bynea Cycling Club
Shan Gwenfron Jones, Clwb Beicio Dwyfor

Outstanding Performance of the Year
Amy Roberts, Ciara Horne & Elinor Barker for Team Pursuit Gold, UCI Track World Cup, Guadalajara
Geraint Thomas MBE for Tour de France 2015
Scott Davies for Under 23 National Time Trial Champion title

Elite Cyclist of the Year
Geraint Thomas MBE, Team Sky
Owain Doull, Team Wiggins
Manon Carpenter, Madison Saracen
Elinor Barker, Matrix Fitness-Vulpine



The Lifetime Contribution to Cycling Award, sponsored by USN, will also be awarded on the night to an individual who has made a lifelong contribution to cycling in Wales, along with the Colin Thornton Memorial Award for Junior Performance. Welsh cyclists’ Elinor Barker, Manon Carpenter, Scott Davies and Ciara Horne are amongst the elite cyclists attending the event in November, with limited tickets still available.

The evening will be supported by local businesses, S&D Sealants, Kilsby and Williams as well as Welsh Cycling’s official nutrition partner USN UK who are all keen to see the sport of cycling grow in Wales.

Anne Adams-King, Chief Executive Officer of Welsh Cycling said: “I am extremely proud of the achievements of all members of the Welsh cycling community over the last twelve months. I know the panel had to make some tough choices during the judging process, but we thank all of our clubs, coaches and volunteers for their contribution to cycling all year round.

The shortlist of finalists is a credit to Welsh Cycling, clubs and fellow members. All those nominated should be proud that they have been recognised by the Welsh cycling community for their commitment to the sport. It will be great to have Wales’ top cyclists and our dedicated clubs and volunteers together to celebrate Wales’ success in cycling.”

The winners will be announced on Saturday 7 November 2015 at the Mercure Holland House Hotel and Spa, Cardiff. Tickets are available for the 2015 USN Welsh Cycling Awards

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK