Report – Central CX League 9


Fay Cripps and Sam Allen two of the winners at round 9 of the Central Cyclo-Cross league at Wokingham

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Central CX League 9

Sunday 22nd November 2015 | by Graham Robins 

Sam Allen (PedalOn) was the winner of the ninth round of the Central League with a commanding race beating team mate Adrian Lansley by 1min 40secs. The two riders quickly pulled out a gap on the opening lap and soon built on it until Allen pulled away on the third lap. Neil Ellison (WDMBC) took the third spot on the podium but finishing nearly three minutes down.


The race was held at the disused golf course and Country Park near Reading and was promoted by GS Henley. The morning started very chilly and the temperature hardly got into plus numbers all day. It remained dry and the course held up really well throughout.

Once the pack was shuffled through the finish line funnel Allen and Lansley quickly passed riders and lead through the first lap while Ellison had Matthew Jones (PM) for company and behind these were Jorge Riberio Manso (WDMBC) and Carl Dalver. It took a couple of laps for the riders to settle in a rhythm but when they did the overall order was complete with just a couple of changes as the race neared it completion.

By mid distance Allen had a lead of a minute over Lansley with Ellison at 1min 12, Jones at 1min 40 along with Tom Ettich (CEP RT) followed by Manso at over 3mins? One rider who was quickly climbing the leader board was Ryan Smith (Team Moore Fitness) and now running eighth. The top ten was topped out by Joshua Curtis (Berkhampsted CC) and Sean Downey (WDMBC). Another rider climbing quickly was Chris Minter (PedalOn) and he was soon to feature inside the top ten.

So with Allen comfortable in the lead the remaining order remained static at the bell and Lansley and Ellison rounded out the top three followed by Ettich and then Jones. Minter finally got past Manso the claim seventh then Dalver and Curtis.

In the vet 50+ race Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden) set of at a quick pace soon building himself a lead over Roy Chamberlain (Corley Cycles) which he maintained to the finish with Paul Caton taking third.

Mike Simpson (Beeline Cycles) initially led the vet 40+ race but he broke the sole of his shoe and despite changing them he fell away down the leader board leaving Sean Dines (CC Luton) to win from Gary Lingard (CC Hackney) with Simpson finally sorting his footwear to finish third.

In the women’s race Fay Cripps (Southdown Bikes) took the lead on the second lap ahead of Lydia Brooks (GS Henley) as Natalie Creswick (Team Mulebar Girls/Sigma Sport slipped away.

From the off in the youth race Callum Macleod (Palmer Park Velo) seemed determined to distance the field and by the first pass of the pits a small lead had developed with a group of five riders headed by George Evans (Kettering CC) looking to chase him down. As the race wore on Evans gapped the others in his pursuit of Macleod dragging Jamie Lloyd (Team Milton Keynes) away before the latter tired. Macleod powered on taking the win with Evans and Lloyd rounding out the podium.

In the girls, Cecelia Hime (St. Ives CC) took the U16 race from Abbie Manley (Eden Veranda) with Naomi Holt in third.

Archie Peet (Team Milton Keynes) stormed away in the U14s with Oisin Murphy (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) in second and Arthur Bolton third.  Anna and Maddie Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) took a one, two in that order in the U14s with Millie Couzens (Zappi’s RT) in third.

Provisional Results
1st Sam Allen PedalOn 1hr 06mins 35secs
2nd Adrian Lansley PedalOn @1min 40secs
3rd Neil Ellison West Drayton @2mins 50secs
4th Tom Ettich CEP RT
5th Matthew Jones PM
6th Ryan Smith Team Moore Fitness
7th Chris Minter PedalOn
8th Jorge Riberio Manso West Drayton
9th Carl Dalver
10th Joshua Curtis Berkhampsted

Vet 50+
1st Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden 44mins 21secs
2nd Roy Chamberlain Corley Cycles @1min 35secs
3rd Paul Caton TMG Horizon @1min 47secs

Vet 40+
1st Sean Dines CC Luton
2nd Gary Lingard CC Hackney
3rd Mike Simpson Beeline Cycles

1st Fay Cripps Southdown Bikes
2nd Lydia Brooks GS Henley
3rd Natalie Creswick Team Mulebar Girls/ Sigma Sport

1st Elliott Haigh Team Milton Keynes
2nd Conal Brown Hemel Hempstead
3rd Harry Rose team Zappi’s



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,