Report – CC Breckland NY 10


Report and Results for the CC Breckland New Year 10 won by Paul Jay at Besthorpe on the B10/3a course.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – CC Breckland NY 10

Weather conditions were typical for a morning in January, about 4° at 11 am, little sunlight, a light SE wind but good visibility. This year’s first times were marginally slower than in 2015, the SE wind slowed the outward leg without giving any useful compensation to the return.

But overall the first 20 times were faster than in 2015, which shows an increasing interest competitive cycling. Every rider got round safely, thanks to his or her own carefulness, a comprehensive set of safety signs, a marshal at every likely danger point and the good sense of other road users at the time.

Congratulations to the overall winner Paul Jay, with a better personal time than in 2015; Andrew Leggett, who was second; Liam Gentry, third; Chris Nudds, first Veteran on Standard; Paul Dennington and Simon Daw, second and third Veterans on Standard; Geoff Frost for the Fixed-wheel prize; Tricia Goulden, Fastest Lady; Team Velovelocity, the fastest team; and, the rest of the field in the first 20 who will have improved on their 2014 times. It was a further pleasure to find an increasing number of new faces taking part.

Time Trials depend on a large array of volunteers to make them run properly. My thanks go to Don Saunders, for the road-safety signs and results board; Mick Madgett, CTT Observer; Andy Moore, start timekeeper; Malcolm Potter, start pusher and observer; Heather Saunders, finish timekeeper; Val Hester and Heidi Davis, finish observers; Roger Sayer, Rodney Hobbs, Nick Crook, Theresa Solomon, Paul Vergette and Martin Badham, course marshals, Bob Day for the Veterans times; Geoff Muller for the artwork, and Maggie Hamon, Kathy Tozer and Kerry Hamon who organised the refreshments. The club hopes we shall see you at next year’s event on the same day, in other of our Open and CCB events in 2016, as listed in the EDCA Handbook. The riders appreciate the wealth of support that watches the event from the roadside and comes the headquarters afterwards, I hope you will all have a successful and happy year both on and off the bike.


The full results are:
1 Paul JAY Team Velovelocity 21.35 1st Scr. & Fastest Team
2 Andrew LEGGETT Team Velovelocity 21.48 2ndScr. & Fastest Team
3 Liam GENTRY VC Baracchi 22.51 3rdScr
4 Tommy POWER Team Pedal Revolution 22.08
5 Alex BAILEY CC Breckland 22.11
6 Alex LUBBOCK Api Metrow 22.15
6= Mark RICHARDS VC Baracchi 22.15
8 Paul DENNINGTON VC Baracchi 22.18 2nd Vet on Standard
9 Simon DAW Velochills Interbike RT 22.28 3rd Vet on Standard
10 Geoff FROST Team Velovelocity 22.53 Fastest Team & Fastest Fixed Wheel

11 Steve WOOD Peterborough CC 22.56
12 Andrew KENNEDY Ipswich BC 23.16
13 Kevin NORMAN Stowmarket & Dist. CC 23.18
14 Harvey HALL CC Breckland 23.20
15 Keith WOLFERSTAN Stowmarket & Dist. CC 23.26
16 Patrick ELLIS VTTA East 23.27
16= Nick ESSER Team Pedal Revolution 23.27
18 Dave SCHINDLER Stowmarket & Dist. CC 23.41
19 James RUSH CC Sudbury 23.53
20 Chris NUDDS CC Breckland 23.59 1st Vet on Standard

21 Mark READY Diss & District CC 24.06
22 Chris WOMACK VC Baracchi 24.34
23 Tricia GOULDEN West Suffolk Wheelers 24.50 Fastest Lady
23= Huw JONES Anglia Velo 24.50
25 Declan DAVIS CC Breckland 24.57
26 Simon ATHERTON CC Breckland 26.34
27 Emma TAYLOR Stowmarket & Dist. CC 26.56
28 Nick PARRAVANI CC Breckland 26.58
29 Peter BEARD Stowmarket & Dist. CC 28.04
30 Kelli LAWRENCE Diss & District CC 32.55
31 Bob BRABBINS Victoria Cyclos Uno 33.05

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,