News: FT Bidlake Prize for Liggett


The 2015 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize has been awarded to Phil Liggett in recognition of his outstanding services to cycling.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: FT Bidlake Prize for Liggett 

“I’m absolutely chuffed to receive the prize,” Liggett said. “I’m well aware of its history and in such a year too, when British riders did so well in every aspect of the sport; in particular, Armitstead and Froome have been the two stars of the season. I understand it was given because of my history, rather than for this year in particular.”

The Bidlake Memorial Prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in British cycle sport; past winners include Sir Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish and Tom Simpson. It was devised in memory of Frederick Thomas Bidlake, the man generally considered to be the father of time-trialling. It is awarded annually to the most outstanding performance or contribution to the betterment of cycling in all spheres.

In a career spanning fifty years in cycling, Bebington-born Liggett started out as an amateur racer and a journalist with Cycling Weekly. He went on to become a UCI international commissaire, organiser of the Milk Race, overseeing it 22 times, and president of the Cyclists’ Touring Club (CTC).

The 72-year-old is arguably best known as a venerable commentator. “The voice of cycling” has reported on the sport’s biggest professional races for four decades, much of them as part of a formidable duo with compatriot Paul Sherwen.

In that time, Liggett has seen a lot of highs and lows. “It’s been through rough times and doping scandals, but my enthusiasm for cycling has never waned. It’s a great sport where you meet many great people,” he said. “I called the first American winner of the Tour and the first Irish winner, but I never thought I’d see the day where I called not one, but three British Tour de France wins in four years.”

“It’s come at the end of my career, but in Britain, cycling is a pastime and sport which everyone is interested in.”

Liggett is showing no signs of showing down, with his 15th Olympic Games and 44th Tour de France pencilled in for this summer. “I haven’t missed a day on the Tour since 1979,” he said. “At my age I should know better, but I don’t.”

Liggett succeeds British time-trial star Matt Bottrill as recipient of the FT Bidlake Memorial Prize.

For further information, including a list of past Bidlake Memorial Prize recipients, visit



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK