Dalton Barracks Winter Crit Series Round 1


Riders faced heavy rain and strong winds at the first of four races being held on the Abingdon Airfield in South Oxfordshire.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Dalton Barracks Winter Crit Series Round 1

by Graham Robins | Saturday 6th February

Riders faced heavy rain and strong winds at the first of four races being held on the Abingdon Airfield in South Oxfordshire. The Outdoor Traders Race Team along with support from the Army CU were promoting the series of early season racing. There were three races on the day with a separate race for 4th cat riders and women, followed by a race for 2nd 3rd and 4th cat riders. Each race was 45mins and two laps in duration.


The day got underway in the worst of weather in very heavy rain and sideward winds with standing water on a couple of the corners. In the fourth cat race the men stayed together for the entire length of the race coming down to a large bunch sprint which was won by Matt Kerin (Oxford Uni CC).

The women’s race saw Tamara Davenne (Zappi’s) attack right from the start and soon pulling out a descent lead. After a couple of laps Maxine Filby (Cannondale Girls) broke free of the group and headed off in pursuit of Tamara but the conditions were not in her favour and she soon found herself alone.

Behind the two leaders a small group had formed despite now being half a lap down. So with the first two places filled it was all done to a sprint for the third step of the podium. Young junior rider Jamie Kimber (Cotswold Veldrijden) riding with junior gearing managed to provide a thrilling sprint to win the bunch sprint.

In the combined 2/3/4 race William Haynes (Reading CC) rode off the front of the bunch after 15mins and soloed his way to a win. Behind William the remainder of the bunch were very active as riders tried and quickly failed to get away and with just two laps to go first Simon Brooks and then team mate Ashley Hutchison (VC St Raphael) broke free in their pursuit of Haynes. At the bell the chasing pair were nearly 30secs adrift but at the finish the pair had closed the gap to within 9secs.



Cat 4
1 Matt Kerin Oxford University Cycling Club
2 Rob Friend G.S. Henley
3 Matthew Vallis VCT Racing
4 Ian Studley Cowley Road Condors
5 Andrew Ruane Cowley Road Condors
6 Ben Kenneally Cowley Road Condors
7 Peter Chapman Thames Velo
8 Nicholas Sanderson Cowley Road Condors
9 Markus Rummel Zappi’s Cycling Club
10 Joshua Axtell

2/3/4 Women
1 Tamara Davenne Zappi’s Racing Team
2 Maxine Filby Cannondale Girls
3 Jamie Kimber Cotswold Veldrijden
4 Lizzy Campbell Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
5 Tracy Best Zappi’s Cycling Club
6 Aimee Fenwick Cowley Road Condors
7 Faith Fisher 3C Cyclexperience
8 Victoria Lovett I-Team Cyclists’ Club
9 Lucy Gowing Bikeshed – Bianchi
10 Stephanie Foster Mickey Cranks CC

1 William Haynes Reading CC
2 Ashley Hutchison VC St Raphael
3 Simon Brooks VC St Raphael
4 Michael Devaney Beeline Bicycles RT
5 Gavin Howell Team Milton Keynes
6 Rob Hardyman North Hampshire RC
7 Tom Sefton RP Vision Racing Team
8 Peter Medhurst Team Jewson-M.I.Racing-Polypip…
9 Harvey McNaughton I-Team Cyclists’ Club
10 David Emms Didcot Phoenix CC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,