Startlist: Tour of the Mining Valley RR


Details on a tough race in Wales, Ystwyth Cycling Clubs’ Tour of the Mining Valley Road Race over 75 miles (March 6)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Startlist: Tour of the Mining Valley RR

Sunday 6th March 2016 10.30am
National B E/1/2/3 Road Race for Senior/Veteran Men & Women

– 74.5 miles / 120km
– HQ Details – Aberystwyth Rugby Club, Plascrug, Aberystwyth. SY23 1HL


1 Lee Baldwin Champion System VCUK Racing Team 1st
2 Kristian Bond Ystwyth Cycling Club 3rd
3 Thomas Brazier Team Elite 2nd
4 Rhys Britton Bush Healthcare CRT 2nd
5 Joshua Burns SportGrub Cycling Team 2nd
6 Richard Bussell AeroCoach 2nd
7 Stephen Cavey Southdowns Bikes – Casco 2nd
8 Daniel Colman West Wales Cycle Racing Team 2nd
9 Dan Coombe Planet X – Northside Cycling 3rd
10 Nick Corbett Equipe Velo 2nd
11 Ryan Coulton Pro Vision SJ Academy 2nd
12 Michael Cripps Army Cycling Race Team (ACRT) 1st
13 David Crowley Port Talbot Wheelers 2nd
14 Daniel Davies 2nd
15 Richard Eakins Ystwyth Cycling Club 3rd
16 Edward Evans Jackpot Racing 2nd
17 Russell Falder Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team 2nd
18 Andrew Feather Saint Piran Elite
19 Ross Flashman Kibosh 3rd
20 Jamie Fletcher Team Elite 2nd
21 Martin Ford Planet X – Northside Cycling 1st
22 George Fowler NFTO 2nd
23 George Fox Wellingborough Cycles Race Team 1st
24 Daniel Gough Swansea University Cycling Team 2nd
25 David Griffiths Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team 2nd
26 Glyndwr Griffiths 73Degrees CC 2nd
27 Ewan Grivell-Mellor Mid Shropshire Wheelers 2nd
28 Justin Harcourt Urban Cyclery 2nd
29 William Haynes Reading CC 2nd
30 Timothy Home Planet X – Northside Cycling 2nd
31 Morgan Hughes Pro Vision SJ Academy 2nd
32 Dexter Hurlock Kibosh 2nd
33 Owen James Catford CC Equipe/Banks 2nd
34 Alex Jones Champion System VCUK Racing Team 1st
35 Edward Laverack JLT Condor 1st
36 Owen Line Pro Vision SJ Academy 2nd
37 Mathew Lythgoe The Nab Racing 2nd
38 Sean McGovern Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1st
39 Mike Morris NFTO Race Club 2nd
40 Tomos Owens Pro Vision SJ Academy 3rd
41 Matthew Page Acycling 3rd
42 Jordan Peacock Wellingborough Cycles Race Team 1st
43 Ayrton Peel 3rd
44 Ryan Perry Metaltek Kuota Racing Team Elite
45 Jacob Phelps Muddybumbikes Cycle Club 3rd
46 Rhys Phillips NFTO Race Club 2nd
47 Richard Pizzey Finsbury Park CC 3rd
48 Jeremy Rees Swansea Wheelers CC 3rd
49 Edward Roberts Team Elite 1st
50 William Roberts County Cycles Racing Team 2nd
51 Josh Rochester-Greet Kibosh 2nd
52 David Scott Rhino Velo Race Team 3rd
53 Thomas Scott-Collins Wellingborough Cycles 2nd
54 Tom Swingler Halesowen A & CC 2nd
55 Ian Taylor Leicester Forest CC 2nd
56 Harry Thomas Worcester Cycle Centre 3rd
57 Mark Thomas Worcester St Johns CC 3rd
58 David Watt Team Elite 3rd
59 Rhys Williams Zappis Racing Team 2nd



Ceredigion mid Wales
The 75 mile course is based around the villages of Trawscoed and Pontrhydygroes on a 13 mile circuit that is ridden four times before the riders head back towards Aberystwyth via the fearsome Hafod climb from Pontrhydygroes to Devils Bridge, finishing near Southgate, 2 miles south of Aberystwyth at approximately 1.30pm.

The race rolls out from Aberystwyth Rugby Club at 10.30am.

Course description

The first 2 ½ miles of the race will be neutralised.

Leave Race HQ and proceed on access road to T-Junction at Plascrug Leisure Centre. Turn left and then right onto A44 (Llanbadarn Road).

After 1 mile, turn right onto A4120 Heol Y Bont. Follow this to roundabout (Morrisons Supermarket) where turn first left. After ½ mile take first left at roundabout onto A487 (Southgate).

Stay on A487 for 1 ½ mile to Llanfarian where turn left A485 (Llanilar). After 1km, after summit of small climb, race is DE-NEUTRALISED.

After racing on A485 for 2 miles, turn left at Llanilar onto B4575 (M) to Trawscoed.

Turns right (M) onto B4340 (6 miles) at Trawscoed to begin first of three and a half circuits.

Follows B4340 to junction with unclassified road (8 miles) where turn left (M) to follow unclassified road to Pontrhydygroes.


Turn left onto B4343 (M) at Pontrhydygroes (11 miles) and left again (M) after bridge in the village onto unclassified road to begin the 1km ascent to New Row. (11.6 miles).

Proceed through New Row and turn left (M) at Abermagwr back onto B4340 to complete 1 circuit (20 miles).

Complete three further circuits with the 1st prime of the race on lap 2 (26 miles).

Upon arriving on the B4343 at Pontrhydygroes Bridge on lap 4 at 62 miles, turn RIGHT (M) here to leave the circuit and climb the ascent of the second prime hill (63 miles).

Follow B4343 until Devils Bridge T Junction (caution descent) with A4120 where turn left (M) towards Aberystwyth (signposted).

Continue on this road for 10.5 miles through Pisgah, Capel Seion and Moriah to finish between Moriah and Southgate, 1 miles west of Moriah.



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK