News – Tour of Yorkshire Teams


Men’s and Women’s Teams Announced for 2016 Tour de Yorkshire – Armitstead confirms she will be a starter in the Women’s event

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Tour of Yorkshire Teams

With a little more than a month to go before the 2016 Tour de Yorkshire, organisers have unveiled the 18 men’s teams and 14 women’s teams which will compete in the race. Full details of the Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire Race were also unveiled at Y16, where it was announced that World Champion Lizzie Armitstead will compete.

The race, which begins in her home town of Otley on Saturday 30 April, will be the first time she will have raced on British roads in her World Champions jersey. In total, the Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire race will see 14 teams, including eight UCI registered, compete over 135km on exactly the same course as the men, who tackle the route later the same day.

Sir Gary Verity, Chief Executive of Welcome to Yorkshire said, “The inaugural edition of the Tour de Yorkshire was a phenomenal success with riders, teams and over one and a half million spectators enjoying three fantastic days of racing. This year we have attracted some of the world’s top men’s and women’s teams as well as a very strong British selection, and combined these will no doubt provide an inspirational and enthralling weekend of racing”.

In total, there are eight British women’s teams:
Wiggle High5
Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
Drops Cycling Team
Great Britain national team (for whom Lizzie Armitstead will ride)
Breeze (British Cycling development squad)
Team WNT
Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Team
Fusion RT Fierlan

And six international teams, who are:
Hitec Products
Cyclance Pro Cycling
Team Liv-Plantur
Lares Waowdeals
Team Footon Velosport



Many of the men’s teams are returning to Yorkshire after the hugely successful first edition of the race in 2015, which was won by Team Sky’s Lars Petter Nordhaug. Team Sky are among those returning, along with BMC, Giant Alpecin and Lotto NL-Jumbo.

In full, the men’s teams are:
Seven World Teams:
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Dimension Data (RSA)
Orica GreenEdge (AUS)
Team Giant – Alpecin (GER)
Team Katusha (RUS)
Team Lotto NL Jumbo (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)

Five UCI Pro Continental teams:
One Pro Cycling (GBR)
Cofidis, Solutions Credits (FRA)
Roompot – Oranje Peloton (NED)
Direct Energie (FRA)
Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL)

Five UCI Continental teams:
Team Raleigh GAC (GBR)
JLT Condor (GBR)
Madison Genesis (GBR)
Great Britain National Team (GBR)

A provisional rider list will be issued in April with riders confirmed closer to the race.




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK