Report: Castle Combe Easter Classic


There were wins for Richard Mardle (NFTO) and Jessica Roberts (LIV Cycling Club) in the Castle Combe Easter Classic meeting

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Castle Combe Easter Classic

Friday 25th March | by Graham Robins 

There were wins for Richard Mardle (NFTO) and Jessica Roberts (LIV Cycling Club) in the two feature races at the Wilshire motor racing circuit just outside of Chippenham. The 1.85mile circuit was bathed in sunlight throughout the day as hundreds of riders over all age and abilities came to race.


In the E/1/2 race Mardle took the tightest of wins right on the line from Ken Buckley (Eden Veranda Racing) after initially eight riders had formed a group and eased off the bunch. The race was 90minutes and the riders completed 20 laps in this time.

It didn’t take long before five riders rode away off the front followed by three chasers, this move turned out to be the move of the race.

The leading group contained Mardle and Buckley, Malcolm Dixon (Dream Cycling), Liam Bromley (Uni of Bath CC), Sean Townsend (Radeon), Robert Moore (Nuun-Sigma Sport), Grant Bayton (Ride 24/7) and Daniel Mcquillan (Tri UK). These eight riders were all working hard and soon their lead was up to 45secs.

The lead was established on lap four and despite riders from the bunch trying to bridge across these eight stayed together until lap 15 when Mcquillan ran out of steam and found himself slipping back to the bunch.

So now the remaining seven continued to the bell still holding most of their lead. As the group approached the finish line Mardle and Buckley were neck and neck with all those on the line agreeing that the NFTO riders had just taken the win. Dixon was in the mix and took the final step of the podium.


In the Women’s race which was 45mins plus one lap it took seven laps before Jessica Roberts and team mate Lauren Dolan (LIV Cycling Club) slipped of the front and quickly built a lead while the remaining women tried in vain to organise a chase. At the bell the two leaders had a slender 12 secs lead which they held to the line. Charmaine Porter (Army Cycling RT) took the bunch kick for third.

Both the 3rd and 4th cat races saw many small attacks but in the main both races stayed intact throughout their race distance of 30mins plus 1 lap and 45mins plus 1 lap respectively.

U16 Boys
1 Charley Calvert Bournemouth Arrow/Hotel Collin…
2 Joshua Price Ride 24/7
3 Harry Gillett Solihull CC
4 Matthew Burke Newport Olympic Cycling Club
5 Nathan Huynh Cotswold Veldrijden
6 Charlie Walters Velo Club Venta
7 James Codd Backstedt Cycling
8 Samuel Beckett Cardiff JIF
9 Tom Temple Primera-TeamJobs
10 Oscar Mingay Cardiff JIF

U16 Girls
1 Ella Barnwell Backstedt Cycling
2 Pfeiffer Georgi Liv Cycling Club – Epic Coachi…
3 Alderney Baker Matrix Fitness p/b Corley Cycl…
4 Lorna Bowler Hillingdon Slipstreamers
5 Niamh Jones Bike Doctor
6 Emily Abram Newport Youth Velo Cycling Clu…
7 Zoe Brookes Hillingdon Slipstreamers
8 Emily Ashwood WXC World Racing
9 Freya Thatcher Giant Cycling Club – Halo Film…
10 Emily Bridson JCAYA

U14 Boys
1 Bryn Davies Towy Riders
2 Bevan Smith Cardiff JIF
3 James Ashcroft Palmer Park Velo RT
4 Ayrton Smith Maindy Flyers Youth CC
5 Samuel Butters Sulis Scorpions YCA
6 Sam Kelly Bristol Cycling Development Sq…
7 Thomas Charles Stratford CC
8 Ryan Phillips Maindy Flyers Youth CC
9 Harry Kirby Outdoor Traders Cycling Club
10 Harry Denness Salt & Sham Cycle Club

U14 Girls
1 Emma Finucane Towy Riders
2 Daisy Davies Gillingham and District Wheele…
3 Anna Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT
4 Alexa Hawkins Palmer Park Velo RT
5 Laura Curle Bristol Cycling Development Sq…
6 Maddie Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT
7 Charlotte-Louise McGreevy WXC World Racing

U12 Boys
1 Jamie Gostick Palmer Park Velo RT
2 Jed Smithson Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 Cameron Still Hillingdon Slipstreamers
4 Alex Barker Halesowen A & CC
5 Joel Maclean-Howell
6 Jamie Whitcher Poole Wheelers CC
7 Lawrence Martindale Chippenham & Dist Whls
8 Kyle Jones Maindy Flyers Youth CC
9 Thomas Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT
10 Jack Hastings Cardiff JIF
11 Finn Hawkins Palmer Park Velo RT
12 George Gray Zappi’s Racing Team
13 Adam Potter I-Team Cyclists’ Club
U12 Girls
1 Zoe Backstedt Maindy Flyers Youth CC
2 Ella Maclean-Howell
3 Caitlin Loveless Hillingdon Slipstreamers
4 Bethany Bennett Towy Riders
5 Niamh Murphy Cotswold Veldrijden

U10 Boys
1 Finlay Hawker Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 James Brown Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 Spencer Corder Stratford CC
4 Edward Charles Charlotteville CC
5 Sam Fisher Maindy Flyers Youth CC
6 Iestyn Jones Maindy Flyers Youth CC
7 Lucas Earthy Team Tor 2000 Kalas Sportswear
8 Ruben Stacey North Devon Wheelers – South F…
9 Reuben Walter Minehead Cycling Club
10 Ioam Holman
11 Joseph Martindale Chippenham & Dist Whls
12 Ben Gillett Climb On Bikes CC
13 Jack Blackburn
14 Joseph Wright Minehead Merlins
15 Pascal Giret Hillingdon Slipstreamers

U10 Girls
1 Erin Loveless Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 Alice Taylor Newport Youth Velo Cycling Clu…
3 Beth Morgan
4 Anwen Crowther
5 Danielle Barker Halesowen A & CC

U8 Boys
1 Tom Beveridge
2 Harry Dunnage
3 George Marjoribanks

U8 Girls
1 Lauren Charles
2 Madelaine Gillett Climb On Bikes CC
3 Martha Little

4th Cat only
1 Lewis Braithwaite Ride 24/7
2 Leon Pesticcio Onit Cycle
3 Jakub Pietrzyk County Cycles Racing Team
4 Craig Wallington Andover Whls
5 Neil Poulton Ogmore Valley Wheelers
6 Michael Lewis Plymouth Corinthian CC
7 Joseph Francis Maidenhead and District CC
8 Matthew Grey Newbury RC
9 James Cook Veloton Team
10 George Wadsworth Performance Cycles

3rd Cat only
1 Barnaby Cox Cycology Sunwise
2 Matt Witts Ride 24/7
3 Nic McKibbin Bath Cycling Club
4 James Tillett Giant Cycling Club – Halo Film…
5 Elliott Joseph University of Warwick
6 Samuel Tillett Giant Cycling Club – Halo Film…
7 Roger Theron Pewsey Velo Cycling Club
8 Alexander Woods Club Corley Cycles
9 Steven Williams Pewsey Velo Cycling Club
10 James Meakin UK-Biking/Copyrite

1 Richard Mardle NFTO
2 Ken Buckley Eden Veranda Racing
3 Malcolm Dixon Dream Cycling Race Team
4 Liam Bromiley University of Bath Cycling Clu…
5 Sean Townsend Radeon-Bike Science RT
6 Robert Moore Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
7 Grant Bayton Ride 24/7
8 Ben Stockdale Cotswold Cycles RT
9 Alex Harvey NFTO
10 Justin Hoy NFTO
11 James Curson Tri UK
12 Anthony Anderson Team Corley Cycles
13 Dominic Spear VC Meudon
14 Jason White Ride 24/7
15 Ben Scott-Munden Sotonia CC

1 Jessica Roberts Liv Cycling Club – Epic Coachi…
2 Lauren Dolan Liv Cycling Club – Epic Coachi…
3 Charmaine Porter Army Cycling Race Team (ACRT)
4 Hannah Walker Team WNT
5 Elizabeth Bennett Liv Cycling Club – Epic Coachi…
6 Amy Hill Team Rytger
7 Karla Boddy Drops Cycling Team
8 Alexandra Jenkins Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
9 Kate Baker Performance Cycles
10 Sophie Williams Elitevelo Kalas Sportswear CRT

1 Alex Brooke-Turner Dulwich Paragon CC
2 Alan Cook Handcycling Association of the…
3 Dan Metcalfe-Hall Handcycling Association of the…
4 David Cooke Taunton Bike Club
5 Simon Benson Handcycling Association of the…
6 Geoffrey Elliott-Howell Handcycling Association of the…
7 Gary Donald
8 Alison Webb Handcycling Association of the…




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,