Results – Lovelo Cinelli Mens & Womens Road Races


Sian Botteley (Womens) and Neil Wass (Mens) winners in the road races on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results – Lovelo Cinelli Mens & Womens Road Races

On Sunday the 10th April 2016 was the first incarnation of the Lovelo Cycle Works Road Race and the Cinelli Women’s Road Race.

The first race of the morning supported by Lovelo Cycle Works in Berkhamsted started at 9am from Cottesloe School in Wing; the race a Regional Level race was made up of local riders, clubs and teams, represented, was Berkhamsted’s Race Team and organisers, Lovelo Cinelli Race Team, local race team TMG Horizon and clubs VCT Racing (Tring) and Hemel Hempstead Cycling Club, Watford Velo Sport also had a strong contingent with Team MK also featuring. The race went out onto the course chaperoned by safety vehicles supplied by Priests Ford of Chesham and Motorcycle outriders.

In the men’s races some strong pushes by Watford Velo Sport’s Kevin Chandler saw him get a gap on the main field, but was reeled in by a heavy showing from Hemel and TMG.

The Tero Sports KOM was won by Jason Baran of TMG Horizon who was the first up the hill to then finish the race.


Photo: John Lloyd.

The field then started to splinter cutting the field down to half it’s size on the drag out of Soulbury toward Stewkley, and on the last lap a strong push and lead out by Rob Abbey (Hemel) wasn’t quite enough to give Ben Stowe (Hemel) the win he needed being beaten by Neil Wass of TMG Horizon. Coming in 3rd was Joel Stewart of Kenton RC.

The afternoon saw a impressive women’s line up of established teams and riders; including Starley Racing, Aprire/HSS, who also supplied the Service Car, Drops Cycling, Matrix Pro Cycling and 5th Floor. Also amongst the line up was Lovelo Cinelli RT’s women’s team, and local team Welwyn Wheelers/Kinetic RT. Some of the ladies riders had travelled all across the country to attend this race. The ladies race started out hard, immediately shattering the race into 3 distinct groups, The front of the race was represented by all of the teams, with a chase group of 12 followed by another group in hot pursuit of 6.

The front of the race had numerous attacks with Starley Racing, very much the aggressor; Tanya Griffiths first to attack getting caught then Lauren Kirchel tried; Karla Boddy (Drops cycling) found her card marked and any move was closed down by other teams. Alice Lethbridge stood the best chance of getting away on the penultimate lap but after setting up a decent solo break, a concerted effort brought her back in.


Photo: John Lloyd.

A strong push for the Tero Sports QOM by former National Hill Climb Champion Alice Cobb was successful despite Anna Henderson of Lovelo Cinelli RT’s efforts; narrowly being beaten by Cobb to the Prime. The finish came down to a sprint, contested by Sian Botteley (Starley) and Harriet Owen (Matrix Cycling), despite Harriet’s efforts, Sian showed a strong sprint with an Elvis impersonation finish, to clinch her 2nd Road victory in 2 weeks following her Dave Peck RR win, with Adeline Moreau (5th Floor) coming in 3rd.

There was a great atmosphere on the course with Villagers of Wing, Stewkley and Soulbury Cheering riders on, as well as strong showing at the Prize Giving, where Chicken Cycle Kit, Lovelo, Tero Sports and Sufferfest Videos supplied the Prizes.


Lovelo CycleWorks RR
1 Neil Wass TMG
2 Ben Stowe Hemel
3 Joel Stewart Kenton RC
4 Ian Baynes TMG
5 Mark Botteley Bourne Wheelers
6 Simon Oxenham WDMBC/Specialized Ruislip
7 Nick Vincent VCT Racing
8 James Richardson North Bucks RC
9 Steven Wootton Team MK
10 Kevin Chandler Watford Velo Sport
11 ??????
12 Elliot Haigh Team MK
13 ??????
14 Adam Whitfield Outdoor Traders Race Team
15 Chris Payne Imperial Racing Team
16 James Vaughn Equipe Velo
17 Adam Botteley Bourne Wheelers
18 Richard Edwards Luton CC
19 Evan Carter Team Corley Cycles
20 Michael Heptonstall North Road CC
21 Phil Dempsey PMRToachim House
22 James Archibald GS Henley
23 Neil Heffernan Kenton RC
24 Tom Burnley Thames Velo
25 Louis Carter Team Corley Cycles
26 Jacob Tresham Team Corley Cycles
27 John Peters Luton CC
28 Daniel Pells Watford Velo Sport
29 Robert Abbey Hemel
30 Jason Baran TMG
31 Barry Selzer Thames Velo
32 Nick Morgan Hitchin Nomads
33 Justin Harwood VCT Racing
34 Andrew Weames Lovelo Cinelli RT
35 Paul Dutton SD Racing
36 David Rickells Hitchin Nomads
37 Andrew Stevenson Hitchin Nomads
38 Kieran Blair Spirit Racing
39 Adam Lowe Mickey Cranks CC

Cinelli Women’s RR
1 Sian Botteley Starley Racing
2 Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness p/b Corley Cycles
3 Adeline Moreau The 5th Floor Cycle Club
4 Alison Lilley Fenland Clarion CC
5 Aoife Doherty The 5th Floor Cycle Club
6 Karla Boddy Drops Cycling Team
7 Gemma Lianne-Sargent Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
8 Emily McLoughlin Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
9 Harriet Mellor Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
10 Sophie Lankford Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
11 Alexandra Jenkins Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
12 Nicola Soden Velo Schils – Interbike RT
13 Gaia Casciello Welwyn Wheelers CC
14 Alicia Speake CC London
15 Gemma Melton Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
16 Katherine Kimber London Phoenix CC
17 Claire Fisk Welwyn Wheelers CC
18 Anna Henderson Lovelo Cinelli RT
19 Lucinda Kerr London Phoenix CC
20 Lauren Kirchel Starley Racing
21 Alice Cobb Matrix Fitness p/b Corley Cycles
22 Megan McDonald Royal Lemington Spa CC
23 Elizabeth Hughes CC London
24 Petra Dolejsova The 5th Floor Cycle Club
25 Alice Lethbridge Starley Racing
26 Rebecca Johnson Fast Test Racing Team
27 Rachel Heptonstall North Road CC
28 Louise Laker Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
29 Isla Rush Matrix Fitness p/b Corley Cycles
30 Tina Winger Dulwich Paragon
31 Louise Marsden VC Norwich
32 Tanya Griffiths Starley Racing
33 Olivia Campbell Dulwich Paragon CC
34 Sophie Edmondson The 5th Floor Cycle Club
35 Agata Woznicka Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
36 Lucy Harper Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
37 Sarah Harrison Islington Cycling Club
38 Charlotte Heywood Twickenham CC
39 Heather Rankin Dulwich Paragon CC
40 Anita Saycell Ystwyth Cycling Club
41 Anneke Prins Welwyn Wheelers CC
42 Tamala McGee London Phoenix CC
43 Jennie Tillott St Ives CC
44 Tatyana Rogozhina Regents Park Rouleurs
45 Charlotte Verrinder Lovelo Cinelli RT
46 Vivienne Tomlin CC London
47 Linda Dewhurst Team Milton Keynes
48 Judith Philip Cycling Club Hackney
49 Orla Shields Islington Cycling Club
50 Helen Frater Islington Cycling Club
51 Hannah Priest Lovelo Cinelli RT
52 Siobhan Carroll Beckenham Rugby Cyclists




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,