Women’s Tour of Reservoir Stage 2


Alice Barnes wins stage 2 of the Women’s Tour of the Reservoir whilst an action packed final lap saw Nikki Juniper take the jersey for the overall

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Women’s Tour of Reservoir Stage 2


A former winner of the race and twice a Women’s series winner, Nikki Juniper won the Women’s Tour of Reservoir whilst Alice Barnes put her bad luck from the day before behind her and won the stage.

Barnes, under 23 champion and second to Lizzie Armitstead, came in well clear of the rest to win the stage.

The first attack of the day came from Jo Tindley, initially with team-mate Hannah Walker for company, but she soon dropped back as Tindley found the legs to open up an impressive lead and hold on to her lead for a long time.

Whilst the climbs would cause splits in the peloton, no-one wanted to press on and it was on the last lap that a group went clear from which Barnes launched her successful move to win the stage.

Video: Alice Barnes post race interview



The peloton approach the race start where Bob Howden was waiting to drop the flag to let the riders commence racing


In the leader’s jersey was Grace Garner.


Jo Tindly went off on a solo mission for some whilst which in the windy conditions was no mean feat.


The climbs would see some action but the race would always come back together


GB riders forcing the pace up the Manor House climb


Peloton splitting on the climb to the feed zone with three to go.


But at the Reservoir, all calm and together


Bell lap and a lone leader 


Overall winner Nikki Juniper is second on the stage 

STAGE RESULT (very provisional)

1. Alice Barnes, GB Academy
2. Nikki Juiper, Ford @ 1 second
3. Lucy Shaw, Drops Cycling
4. Eleanor Dickinson, Drops Cycling
5. Maddi Campbell, Velosport
6. Emily Wadsworth, Beeline
7. Jennifer Hudson, Fusion
8. Natalie Griczer, WNT
9. Alice Cobb, AJCHVA
10. Jennifer Holden, Fusion
11. Sophie Wright Renvale RT
12. Anna Turvey, Ford
13. Melissa Lowther, Breeze
14. Keira McVitty, WNT
15. Karla Boddy, Drops
16. Charlotte Colclough
17. Helen Ralston, Les Filles
18. Neah Evans, Glasgow
19. Rebecca Carter, WNT
20. Eve Dixon,
21. Annasley Park, Breeze
22. Henrietta Colbourne, Ford
23. Abigail van Twisk,Drops
24. Suzetta Guerrini, Footon
25. Laura Greenhalgh, Les Filles
26. Melissa Lowther, Breeze
27. Lydia Boylan, WNT
28. Emily McLoughlin, Aspire
29. Julie Erskine, Ford
30. 114
31. Gema Sargent, aspire
32. Sarah Bradford, Jadan
33. Natasha Reddy, RP Vision
34. Charline Joiner, Ford
35. Ellie Campbell, Fusion
36. Sarah Rose, Team 22
37. Chloe Weller, Army
38. Chanel Mason, Army
39. Fiona Hunter Johnston, Fusion
40. Angela Hibbs. Fusion
41. Verity Appleyard, Brotherton
42. Megan Barker, Breeze
43. Delia Beddis, Les Filles
44. Kerry MacPhee, rock and road
45. Dani Khan, Breeze
46. Louise Laker, Aspire
47. Madeline Gammons, RP Vision
48. Claire Swobaoda,
49. Rachel Crighton, Team 22
50. Nikki Carr, VC Equipe
51. Amdanda Tweedie, Velocity
52. Jenny Noll, Jadan
53. Hetty Niblett, Footon
54. Gaia Casiello, Welwyn wheelers
55. 112
56. Rebecca Johnston, Fast Test
57. Isla Rush, AJCHVA
58. Samantha Wilson, Army
59. Isla Short, Novus
60. Jennifer Batey, Vertex

1 Nicola Juniper Team Ford Ecoboost
2 Eleanor Dickinson Drops Cycling Development Team
3 Maddi Campbell
4 Emily Wadsworth Beeline-Gener8
5 Alice Cobb Matrix Fitness p/b Corley Cycl…
6 Jennifer Holden Fusion RT Fierlan
7 Sophie Wright Renvale RT
8 Anna Turvey Tyneside Vagabonds CC
9 Lucy Shaw Drops Cycling Team
10 Melissa Lowther Team Breeze
11 Alice Barnes 100% ME
12 Jennifer Hudson Fusion RT Fierlan
13 Keira McVitty Team WNT
14 Neah Evans Glasgow Sprint Track Cycling T…
15 Karla Boddy Drops Cycling Team
16 Annasley Park Team Breeze
17 Annabel Simpson Drops Cycling Team
18 Suzetta Guerrini Team Footon Velosport
19 Rebecca Carter Team WNT
20 Eve Dixon
21 Abigail Dentus Team Breeze




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,