Feature Report: Wiltshire Grand Prix


The races in the Premier calendar series continue, this time down south (a rarity!) in Salisbury with the best riders in Britain competing

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Feature Report: Wiltshire Grand Prix

Ian Bibby (NFTO) won the Wiltshire GP today after escaping late in the race with three other riders who joined lone escapee James Gullen (Pedal Heaven).  The race for the top step came down to a sprint in a very technical, (twisty) run in and despite misjudging the sprint, Bibby had enough to hold off Will Fox (Pedal Heaven) and Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis).

It was a wearing down race where the large entry was whittled down lap by lap and on the final lap, only 30 or so riders were in contention with the rest having dropped back beyond the time cut off and blacked flagged. Here’s a photo report….


First time over Fovant Down, Joshua Edmondson (NFTO) led alone.


A few seconds back came a small group with Graham Briggs, Steven Roach (Raleigh GAC), Will Fox (Pedal Heaven), Joe Evans (Madison Genesis)  and just behind them Craig Wallace (Raleigh GAC) with another rider and then the final chaser, Oscar Hutchings (Primera-TeamJobs)


The peloton as you can see did not seem bothered ….


But 35 minutes or so later, came a lone leader from Wheelbase (Matt Nowell) ) chased by Steven Lawley of Metaltek Kuota and then Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis) stirring up things in the peloton with an attack.


But that break didn’t stick and next lap, Craig Wallace (Raleigh GAC) was just head of  small group that included Taylor Gunman (Madison Genesis), Rory Townsend (Pedal Heaven), Graham Briggs, Jonny McEvoy an Dale Appleby (both NFTO).


A lap later and things really getting hot on and off the bike and Taylor Gunman (Madison Genesis) and Dale Appleby (NFTO) were leading alone.


Again, it didn’t stick but the constant chasing down of breaks was seeing riders shelled  and out front was a break with Dan Fleeman (Metaltek Kuota) leading Adria Moreno (Raleigh GAC).


Despite having a rider in the move, JLT Condor rode to bring it back and did so. Pictured is the Yorkshire duo of Russell Downing and Tom Moses lining them out over the climb.


Once the catch was made, JLT Condor continued to lead the race and control the attacks but they couldn’t contain James Gullen (Pedal Heaven) who after nothing happened on the main climb, launched off the front and opened up a gap of twenty or so seconds. Three riders crossed to him, teammate Will Fox, Ian Bibby and Matt Holmes and was these riders that sprinted it out for the win.


Ian Bibby gets the better of Will Fox with Matt Holmes and James Gullen behind in third and fourth respectively.


Graham Briggs beats Alex Blain of Madison Genesis to the line for fifth.


The top three, Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis), Ian Bibby (NFTO) and Will Fox (Pedal Heaven)


Tom Stewart (King of the Mountains winner of Madison Genesis), Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis), Jonny McEvoy (NFTO) lead of the National Series, Ian Bibby (NFTO) and Will Fox (Pedal Heaven)



Second Placed Will Fox of Pedal Heaven

Third placed Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis)

… (… continued after advert)



1 Ian Bibby NFTO 4:02:25
2 Will Fox Pedal Heaven
3 Matt Holmes Madison Genesis
4 James Cullan Pedal Heaven all at same time
5 Graham Briggs JLT Condor +0.05
6 Alex Blain Madison Genesis at same time
7 Albert Torres Raleigh GAC +0.07
8 Jonathan McEvoy NFTO
9 Jack Pullar Pedal Heaven
10 Adria Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC
11 Dale Appleby NFTO
12 Erick Rowsell Madison Genesis
13 Elliott Porter Neon-Velo Cycling Team
14 Steven Lawley Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
15 Joshua Edmondson NFTO
16 Dan Fleeman Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
17 Thomas Stewart Madison Genesis all at same time
18 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor +0.23
19 Matthieu Boulo Raleigh GAC +0.30
20 Jonathan Tiernan-Locke Saint Piran +1.47
21 Chris Lawless JLT Condor
22 Taylor Gunman Madison Genesis
23 James Lowsley-Williams NFTO
24 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
25 Connor Swift Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
26 Russell Downing JLT Condor
27 Alistair Slater JLT Condor
28 Ed Laverack JLT Condor
29 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven



Twitter Updates from Wiltshire

Start List Preview – click here to view


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,