Report: Bourne Wheelers Road Races


Report on the first ever Junior Women’s Road Race and Men’s Road Race too promoted by Bourne Wheelers cycling club

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Bourne Wheelers Road Races
(Photos: Huw Williams) 

Bourne Wheelers CC and Junior Womens Road Races


Prize winners of the first ever junior women’s road race, Charlotte Cole-Hussain, Savannah Morgan, Lizzie Bennett, Jessica Roberts, Anna Henderson and Connie Hudson..

Not only did Sunday witness the very first ever junior womens road race, it also produced one of the most attacking female road races for a very long time. Promoted by Bourne Wheelers, the 41 starters from 54 pre entries tackled 4 and a bit laps of the rolling Witham on the Hill circuit. Almost immediately the racing was on with Sarah Bradford (Team Jadan) picking herself up off the deck after crashing in the neutralised section, and gaining some distance off the front.

Sarah took the first QOM points closely followed by Anna Henderson (Lovelo Cinelli), who’d just got back on after a first lap puncture, and Connie Hudson (RP Racing). Then the real move of the race took flight with Charlotte Cole Hussain (VC Londres), Rosie Walsh (High on Bikes) and Hudson powering ahead. As the gap neared a minute Lizzie Bennett (Liv CC), Louise Surridge (Team Ford Ecoboost), Savannah Morgan (Team 22) and Henderson set off in pursuit and working smoothly caught the leading trio half a lap later.

Cole-Hussain took maximum QOM points ahead of Hudson and Walsh. As the distance and warm conditions started to bite, Walsh dropped back to Jess Roberts and Lauren Murphy (Both Liv CC), the duo having managed to get away from what was left of a depleting bunch.


As the leading 6 took the bell, it was Henderson who mopped up the QOM competition ahead of Hudson and Cole-Hussain, with Roberts 45 secs down. Emily Tillett (Liv CC) had by now also broken clear of the fragmented bunch and was in lone pursuit.

With 4 miles to go Roberts finally got up to the break and with Murphy over a minute down, the £100 first prize was set for a sprint between these seven.
Cresting the finishing climb of Barbers hill, it was still too close to call, but the drag race to the line on the false flat went to Roberts, with Bennett just getting the better of Henderson for second.

After the leading 7 came Murphy in 8th, with Tillett next and Amy Garner (Welland Valley CC) leading home the remnants of the bunch in 10th place, over 5 mins down.


Jess Roberts winning 

1. Jess Roberts(Liv CC)
2. Lizzie Bennett (LivCC)
3. Anna Henderson (Lovelo Cinelli)
4. Savannah Morgan (Team 22)
5. Connie Hudson (RP Racing)
6. Charlotte Cole Hussain (VC Londres)
7. Louise Surridge (Team Ford Ecoboost)
8. Lauren Murphy (Liv CC)
9. Emily Tillett Liv CC)
10. Amy Garner (Welland Valley CC)
11. Maddie Gammons (RP Racing)
12. Megan Chard (PMR@Toachim House)
13. Sam Verrill (Team 22)
14. Jayati Hine (Velosport RT)
15. Anna Kaye (Nutcracker racing)
16. Lizzie Denby (Team 22)
17. Sophie Enever (Speedflex RT)
18. Sarah Bradford (Team Jadan)
19. Jade Mobbs (Welland valley CC)
20. Rosie Walsh (High on bikes)

Mens 2/3/4
1. Chris Limberger (Beeston CC)
2. Geoff Comley (Derby Mercury CC)
3. Martyn Ludlam (Witham Wheelers)
4. Tim James (Catford CC)
5. Adam Biggs (Team Boardman)
6. Edward Pickard (Leisure Lakes
7. Will Perrett (Heanor Clarion)
8. Josh Waters (SRAM Development)
9. Thomas Lowe (RAF CA)
10. Joel Hewitt (Bikechain.Ricci)
11. Adam Egner (Witham Wheelers)
12. Neil Buckley (OVB)
13. Josh Housley (Team PB Performance)
14. Paul Newton (Derby Mercury RC)
15. Robbie Ward (Bourne Wheelers)







Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK