News: Tour Series Motherwell


Start sheets for the Women’s and Men’s races at the Motherwell  (Scotland) round of the Tour Series

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Tour Series Motherwell

Motherwell will welcome Britain’s leading women cyclists on Tuesday (17 May) as the televised Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series gets underway with Round One in North Lanarkshire at 1730.

It will mark the second successive year that Motherwell has hosted the Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series, coming as a part of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series event, which will also see the elite men in action at 1930, and highlights shown on ITV4 on Wednesday (18 May) evening at 1900.

Leading the way will be reigning champions Podium Ambition presented by Club La Santa, who have won the Series in each of the past two years, and with the Series rules being amended to focus on the teams, securing a hat trick of titles is an important aim for the team who boast Katie Archibald and Dame Sarah Storey among their squad.

Commenting on the Series, team manager Barney Storey said; “Podium Ambition Pro Cycling p/b Club La Santa are really pleased to be defending our title in the Matrix Fitness GP Series this year. Having won the team title for the last two seasons, we are even more delighted this will become the focal point of the women’s series.

“As in previous years the team classification will be our aim and with strong competition from other teams, this will be one of the toughest series so far. We are looking forward to being as consistent as possible throughout the series, to defend our team title.”

A line-up of ten other teams will be pitched against the Podium Ambition team, led by fellow international UCI team Drops Cycling, who will be led in Motherwell by Alice Barnes, fresh from her victory in Sunday’s Lincoln Grand Prix and Ellie Dickinson, who secured the National Junior Road Race title in the same event.

Alongside them in Motherwell will be 2012 Matrix Fitness GP Series individual champion Annie Simpson, one of a trio of former champions racing, with 2014 victor Eileen Roe making a one-off appearance on home roads and last year’s individual champion Nikki Juniper leading the brand new Team Ford EcoBoost, which also contains Commonwealth Games medallist and 2015 Croydon race winner Charline Joiner.

Team Jadan Weldtite could also provide spectators in Motherwell with some home riders to get behind, with Stirling duo Rhona Callander and Jenny Holl among their possible contenders.

Team WNT will be led by Irish Road Race Champion Lydia Boylan, while making their Matrix Fitness GP Series debuts will be Team Breeze, the British Cycling women’s academy squad who will head to Motherwell with some of their stars of the future, including Annasley Park, Emily Kay and Mel Lowther.

The full list of teams who will race in all rounds of the Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series are:

Aprire HSS Hire
Drops Cycling Team
Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Club
Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
Sunsport Velo
Team Breeze
Team Footon Velosport
Team Ford EcoBoost
Team Jadan Weldtite
Team WNT
Velo Schils Interbike

Each team will field up to five riders in the Motherwell race, alongside half a dozen individual entries for an expected field of between 50 and 60 riders. Among the individual entries with be Scottish Cycling Performance Plan athlete Neah Evans.

The women’s race gets underway at 1730, lasting for 45-minutes during which time riders will complete around 20 laps of racing.

Following the Motherwell event the remaining rounds of the Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series will take place in Redditch (Thursday 26 May), Stoke-on-Trent (Thursday 2 June), Stevenage (Monday 6 June), Croydon (Tuesday 7 June) and Portsmouth (Thursday 9 June).

Both Stevenage and Portsmouth will be new events on the calendar, while Stoke-on-Trent’s round comes as the city celebrates being European City of Sport in 2016. Highlights of all the races will be shown as a part of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series programmes on ITV4 following each race.

Men’s Race (Provisional)

2 Alex Blain Madison – Genesis
3 Matt Cronshaw Madison – Genesis
4 Felix English Madison – Genesis
9 Gruff Lewis Madison – Genesis
12 Tom Stewart Madison – Genesis

20 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven
23 Will Fox Pedal Heaven
25 Jack Pullar Pedal Heaven
29 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven
30 Ian Wilkinson Pedal Heaven

41 Matthieu Boulo Team Raleigh GAC
44 Richard Hepworth Team Raleigh GAC
45 Morgan Kneisky Team Raleigh GAC
47 Sebastian Mora Team Raleigh GAC
51 Albert Torres Team Raleigh GAC

61 Dale Appleby NFTO
62 Ian Bibby NFTO
63 Edmund Bradbury NFTO
67 James Lowsley-Williams NFTO
70 Johnny McEvoy NFTO

80 Ed Clancy JLT Condor P/B Mavic
82 Graham Briggs JLT Condor P/B Mavic
84 Alex Frame JLT Condor P/B Mavic
87 Chris Lawless JLT Condor P/B Mavic
89 Jon Mould JLT Condor P/B Mavic

100 Liam Holohan Team Wiggins
104 Sam Harrison Team Wiggins

126 Ben Hetherington Planet X Northside Pro Cycling
127 Alex Luhrs Planet X Northside Pro Cycling
128 Ryan Davis Planet X Northside Pro Cycling
129 Will Brown Planet X Northside Pro Cycling
133 Brad Stokes Planet X Northside Pro Cycling

139 Robert Scott VCUK PH Mas Cycling Team
140 Ralf Hodgson VCUK PH Mas Cycling Team
143 Harry Hardcastle VCUK PH Mas Cycling Team
145 Jack Clarkson VCUK PH Mas Cycling Team
218 Ryan Ashcroft VCUK PH Mas Cycling Team

146 Sam Boast Wheelbase Altura MGD
149 Ashley Marshall Wheelbase Altura MGD
150 Ben Rowe Wheelbase Altura MGD
153 David Lines Wheelbase Altura MGD
155 Matt Nowell Wheelbase Altura MGD

159 Andy Brown Scotland Cycling Team
160 Lewis Mulholland Scotland Cycling Team
161 Ruari Yeoman Scotland Cycling Team
162 Grant Martin Scotland Cycling Team
164 Joe Nally Scotland Cycling Team

Women’s Race (Provisional)

2 Lauren Creamer Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
3 Grace Garner Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
4 Amy Gornall Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
9 Katie Prankerd Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
11 Gabriella Shaw Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa
20 Lydia Boylan Team WNT
21 Sam Burman Team WNT
25 Keira McVitty Team WNT
27 Jo Tindley Team WNT
28 Hannah Walker Team WNT
41 Sarah Bradford Team Jadan-Weldtite
44 Rhona Callander Team Jadan-Weldtite
47 Jenny Holl Team Jadan-Weldtite
61 Lucy Chittenden Aprire HSS Hire
65 Louise Laker Aprire HSS Hire
68 Gemma Sargent Aprire HSS Hire
70 Nikki Kovacs Aprire HSS Hire
80 Ellie Coster Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Club
82 Monica Dew Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Club
83 Kristy Howells Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Club
84 Nikola Matthews Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Club
85 Kelly Murphy Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Club
100 Alice Barnes Drops Cycling Team
102 Ellie Dickinson Drops Cycling Team
106 Rose Osbourne Drops Cycling Team
109 Annie Simpson Drops Cycling Team
110 Abi Van Twisk Drops Cycling Team
120 Lou Collins Velo Schills – Interbike RT
121 Caroline Guest Velo Schills – Interbike RT
123 Katherine Kimber Velo Schills – Interbike RT
124 Sandra MacKay Velo Schills – Interbike RT
126 Nicola Soden Velo Schills – Interbike RT
142 Hayley Jones Team Breeze
143 Emily Kay Team Breeze
146 Melissa Lowther Team Breeze
147 Annasley Park Team Breeze
148 Emily Nelson Team Breeze
160 Madison Campbell Team Footon Velosport
163 Suzetta Guerrini Team Footon Velosport
180 Nikki Juniper Team Ford Ecoboost
182 Charlotte Broughton Team Ford Ecoboost
183 Henrietta Colborne Team Ford Ecoboost
184 Julie Erskine Team Ford Ecoboost
187 Charline Joiner Team Ford Ecoboost
200 Eileen Burns Sunsport Velo
203 Josie Knight Sunsport Velo
205 Alice Sharpe Sunsport Velo
206 Maddy Scott Sunsport Velo
208 Genevieve Whitson Sunsport Velo
228 Clemence Copie Les Filles Racing Team
243 Neah Evans Scotland Cycling Team
246 Tanya Griffiths Starley Racing
256 Eileen Roe Lares-Waowdeals

… continued after advert






Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK