Report: Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series


Report & results from the Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series (#3) incorporating National ParaCycling Series at Shrewsbury Sports Village on Sunday (May 15)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series

There was no fairytale end for Invictus Games Hero Josh Boggi as he crashed out of the race on Sunday after losing suction on his prosthetic arm in the Saturday Time Trial. A gloriously sunny day met our handbike riders and a solitary Visually Impaired tandem Joseph Widdowson.

There was a crocodile chain of handbikes tracked by Widdowson for the early part of the race until he and his stoker attacked up the home straight to pull away, never to be seen again. Lucky to finish though, as the testing hairpins broke 3 spokes in the Dolan race tandem.

Boggi was in trouble attacking out of the hairpin, his one able arm and one prosthetic arm putting him at a distinct disadvantage out of the corners. Trying to compensate by going in faster the fearless Boggi overcooked it and rolled his machine. Damage to the prosthetic and the handbike meant his race was done.

It was though great to see stalwart of handcycling in the UK, Chris Madden take a thrilling sprint finish with three handbikes wheel to wheel the photos will be awesome. Leah Ball was a surprise winner of the Women’s race and couldn’t believe her good fortune but a super fast race, animated by Rebecca Richardson and others dulled the speed of the sprinters.

A pedal drama for local Kirk Vickers moments before the race did not prevent him making it 4 wins from 4 rides at Shrewsbury Sports Village this year.  … continued after advert



2/3 Men
1 Kirk Vickers Rhino Velo Race Team
2 Matthew Garthwaite Rhino Velo Race Team
3 Charles Walker Halesowen A & CC
4 Chris Pook Rhino Velo Race Team
5 Peter Banham Team Jewson-M.I.Racing-Polypipe
6 Adam Studzinski Skinline
7 James Walker DMW – BRIDGTOWN
8 Josh Waters Sram
9 Huw Owen ECJ RT
10 Oliver Dighton Halesowen A & CC
11 Christopher Froom NFTO Race Club
12 Will Perrin Gannet CC
13 Bailey Waters EM Velocita
14 Christian Edwards GBC
15 Edward Evans Jackpot Racing
16 Mark McCann DMW – BRIDGTOWN
17 Jonathan Williams Climb On Bikes CC
18 Ian Coe Hafren CC
19 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers
20 Josh Williams Stourbridge
21 Daniel Harris Stourbridge
22 Ewan Grivell – Mellor Mid Shropshire Wheelers
23 John Fradley Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
24 Alex Jones Sigma
25 Oliver Kyte Rhino Velo Race Team
26 Joe Mobbs Halesowen A & CC
27 Jack Williams ECJ RT
28 Elliott Pike
29 Rik Waddon Para-T

4th Men
1 Forrest Lambert-Humphries Halesowen A & CC
2 Dean Sibthorpe Wyre Forest CRC
3 Grant Bigham Velo – M
4 Joe Brennan Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
5 Tyler Brennan The Bulls
6 Alfie Mortimer Mid Shropshire Wheelers
7 Sean Byatt Revolutions Racing
8 Alex Smith Port Sunlight Whls CC
9 Dave Woodvine Mid Shropshire Wheelers
10 Lee West
11 David Cunningham Saracen Road Club
12 William Coley Ludlow Brewery Race Team
13 Lee Truelove Climb On Bikes CC
14 James Kirk NFTO Race Club
15 Stewart Ball
16 Michael Boddice Wyre Forest CRC
17 David Murphy Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC
18 Alec Bond Mid Shropshire Wheelers
19 Craig Whittle DMW – BRIDGTOWN
20 Andrew Milner North Cotswold CC
21 Andrew Plimmer Fred Williams Cycles
22 Philip Jevons Here Come The Belgians
23 Jonathan Benson Mid Shropshire Wheelers
24 Rory Evans NFTO Race Club
25 Joshua Andrews Climb On Bikes CC
26 Adam Owens Liverpool Century RC
27 James Morris Hereford & District Wheelers
28 Cameron Mould Horwich CC
29 Matthew Sonn Climb On Bikes CC
30 Gary Hodkinson
31 Cameron Reedy
32 Ben Holland DMW – BRIDGTOWN
33 John Preece
34 Alexander Naylor Army Cycling Union
35 Richard Smith Bynea CC
36 Krispin Gardiner Bristol Cycling Development Squad
37 Jamie Harding Newport Olympic Cycling Club

1 Joseph Widdowson
2 Chris Madden
3 Steven Arnold
4 Alex Brooke-Turner Dulwich Paragon CC
5 Luke Jones TRCC (Towy Racing Cycle Club)
6 Rob Wickham Handcycling Association of the UK
7 Dan Hopwood
8 Dan Metcalfe-Hall Handcycling Association of the UK
9 Edward Jones Petuaria RC

1 Leah Ball Brotherton Cycles
2 Melissa Baker Wolverhampton Whls
3 Cadi Jones ECJ RT
4 Catherine Coley Ludlow CC
5 Rebecca Richardson Hafren CC
6 Elain Davies Ynys Mon Racing Team
7 Annie Glover Ynys Mon Racing Team
8 Vicki Boddice Wyre Forest CRC
9 Karen Ager Ynys Mon Racing Team
10 Lauren Booth Carnac-Planet X
11 Kristy Howells Boot Out Breast Cancer C.C
DNS Katie Toft Mossley CRT

Youth A Boys
1 Tom Mitchell Birkenhead North End CC
2 Josh Sandman Climb On Bikes CC
3 Twm Bryn ECJ RT
4 Brendan Thompson Liverpool Century RC
5 Matthew Redworth Mid Shropshire Wheelers
6 Tomas Miller Beeston RC
7 Darren Ride Mercia CC
8 Osian Griffiths ECJ RT
9 George Higgins Birkenhead North End CC
10 Olly Bill Wyre Forest CRC
DNS Brendan Thompson Liverpool Century RC

Youth B Boys
1 Samuel Cooper Wyre Forest CRC
2 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Hayden Norris Lichfield CCC
4 Wil Truelove Climb On Bikes CC
5 Rhys Thomas M and D Cycles / Fusion RT / WORX
6 Josh Field Halesowen A & CC
7 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers
8 Lewis Page Mid Shropshire Wheelers
9 Ryan Greaves Mid Shropshire Wheelers
10 William Dale Mid Shropshire Wheelers
11 Jack Young Mid Shropshire Wheelers
12 Max Williams Climb On Bikes CC
DNS Baden Green Stratford CC

Youth A Girls
1 Cadi Jones Energy Cycles Junior Road Team
2 Cara Louise Randall Energy Cycles Junior Road Team
3 Erin Boddice Wyre Forest CRC

Youth B Girls
1 Kate Pugh Mid Shropshire Wheelers
2 Kinga Ingram Wyre Forest CRC
3 Aimee Lane Wyre Forest CRC
4 Rhiannon Tansley Mid Shropshire Wheelers
DNS Tia Froom NFTO Race Club

Youth C Boys
1 Emyr Truelove Climb On Bikes CC
2 Louis Smith Wyre Forest CRC
3 Charlie Boddice Wyre Forest CRC
4 Nathan Fullwood Mid Shropshire Wheelers
5 Fred Meredith Hafren CC
6 Ben Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers
7 Harry McDougall Climb On Bikes CC

Youth C Girls
1 Bethany Bennett Towy Riders
2 Daphne Jones Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Cerys Simmonds West Wales CRT
4 Posie Forrester

Youth D Boys
1 Joshua Jackson Lyme RC
2 Max Bufton Hafren CC
3 Sam Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers
4 Ben Gillett Climb On Bikes CC
5 Izaak Curtis Lyme RC
6 George Joyce Hafren CC
7 Felix Forrester Wyre Forest CRC

Youth D Girls
1 Rebecca Woodvine Mid Shropshire Wheelers
2 Cerys Greaves Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Youth E Boys
1 Noah White Mid Shropshire Wheelers
2 Finley Boulton Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Rocco Schumacher Lyme RC
4 Joshua Lambert Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Youth E Girls
1 Madelaine Gillett Climb On Bikes CC
2 Jessica Bufton Hafren CC




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,