Barnsley Road Club – Road Races 2016 Preview


Today at Hade Edge in Yorkshire, sees Barnsley Road Club put on a day of racing, hosting a Regional B Road Race (Reg BCat3/4) on the Flight Hill Circuit, and in the afternoon is the inaugural Bill Miles Memorial Road Race (Natb E123) using the Carlecotes circuit. 

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Barnsley Road Club – Road Races 2016 Preview

This Sunday at Hade Edge in Yorkshire, sees Barnsley Road Club put on a day of racing, hosting a Regional B Road Race (Reg BCat3/4) on the Flight Hill Circuit, and in the afternoon is the inaugural Bill Miles Memorial Road Race (Natb E123) using the Carlecotes circuit. Both races come with a large prize fund.

These two spectacular circuits are absolute brutes, with Flight Hill seeing more than 1500m of climbing, and Carlecotes seeing 2500m of climbing through their passage. The course is very exposed and will certainly lead to cross winds, challenging the field to stay together.

Racing starts at 9.30am for the Regional B, and 1pm for the National B
Amongst the competitors in The Bill Miles Memorial Trophy, is last years’ regional B winner Thomas Traviss Pollard, who’s meteoric rise through the ranks has seen him take his first ever race win in his first ever race, in our 2015 event….. he has then graduated through the ranks in Polypipe, and now sees him at Metaltek Kuota racing amongst some of the UKs best in the premier calendars, particularly the edition in the Isle of Man taking on no less the boys from Team Sky. Other notable entrants include his team mate Ryan Perry, Envelopemaster Giant Sheffields’ Connor Swift and Jake Tanner, Old team mates with Sigma Sport Kit Gilham and Tom Murray, and many top level UK racers.
Last years winner Thomas Traviss Pollard, now with Metaltek Kuota

Bill Miles was a founding member of Barnsley Road Club in 1924. Bill, who was known as Mr Barnsley Road Club, is father of current President George Miles, and son of the first President G W Miles.

Barnsley Road Club, established 1924, is the largest and oldest cycling club in Barnsley supporting all forms of cyclesport. Barnsley Road Club run weekly club time trials, Open time trials and later this year run a full day circuit race event, and charity Barnsley Boundary Heroes Ride sportive fundraising for Help for Heroes

Regional B 3/4 Road Race 9.30am Entrants
Paul Allen Dinnington Racing Club
Tom Andrews University of Sheffield CC
Andrew Ashton Albarosa Cycling Club
David Beachill Geared Up Cycles
Luke Beswick Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles
Adam Biggs Team Boardman
Stephen Bottomley Crosstrax
Anthony Bromley Barnsley RC
Daniel Brough Lyme RC
Michael Brown Geared Up Cycles
Jack Brown Holmfirth Cycling Club
Chay Curtin Geared Up Cycles
Joshua Cutler 3RT
Matthew Dalby Harrogate Nova CC
Paul Davis Pedalsport Cycling Club
Thomas Davison Knottingley Velo
Joseph Dobson Manchester Bicycle Club
Chris Dwyer Lancashire RC
Tiago Fougo Greenwheel Cycles
Robert Fox VC Lincoln
Jasper Frary Squadra RT
Tom Garnett Ilkley Cycling Club
James Gough Barnsley RC
Nick Grogan Cheshire Maverick CC
Glen Hale Holmfirth Cycling Club
Gary Hides Out Of The Saddle
Steven Howe Rutland CC
Lewis Jackson Wold Top Actif RT
Matthew Kellett 3RT
Will King Prologue Racing Team
Adam Lathbury Rutland CC
Timothy Mansfield HD Revolutions (HDR)
Simon Mayfield Sowerby Brothers CRT
Struan McInnes RST Racing Team
George Milner Private Member
Harry Myers 3RT
Jody Paxman Huddersfield Star Wheelers
Julian Pearce FTR
Ross Phelps Bristol RC
David Price Chorlton Velo
Joshua Ravn Wold Top Actif RT
Jordan Reed Bike Box Alan
Brian Rigby Champion System VCUK Racing Team
Adam Snow VeloViewer
Dan Stephenson Out Of The Saddle
Daniel Stocchero 3RT
Louis Szymanski ABC Centreville
Daniel Thut Chorlton Velo
Jamie Tune Bike Box Alan
James Wakefield Huddersfield Star Wheelers
Mark Walker Hull Thursday RC
Richard Walker Sowerby Brothers CRT
James Ward Geared Up Cycles
Andrew Whiteley Private Member
George Whittaker Private Member
Joseph Wilkinson FTR
Richard Wilkinson Rutland CC
Joe Williams Prologue Racing Team

National B E123 Road Race 1.00pm Entrants
Lee Baldwin Champion System VCUK Racing Team
Tobias Bartlett Acre Racing Team
Jake Beach Speedflex Race Team
Jacob Booth Bikehaus by Ridley
Jonathan Bridge Acre Racing Team
Toby Carway Groundwater Engineering Race Team
Joseph Clark Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
Archie Cross University of Sheffield CC
Eugene Cross SSLL Racing Team
Alex Dalton Wold Top Actif RT
Shaun Dolby Birdwell Wheelers
James Ellmore Rhino Velo Race Team
Russell Falder Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team
Martin Ford Planet X – Northside Cycling
Jonathan Fowles Champion System VCUK Racing Team
Matthew Garthwaite Rhino Velo Race Team
Kit Gilham Private Member
Nick Guest FTR
Steven Guymer Feather Cycles Racing
Michael Harris HD Revolutions (HDR)
Bob Hewitt Yh Training Scarborough RC
Joe Higginson Catford CC Equipe/Banks
James Higginson Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Peter Hitt TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
James Jobber Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Alex Jones Champion System VCUK Racing Team
Richard Jones Planet X – Northside Cycling
Ross Lamb Godfrey Bikewear Race Team
Alex Luhrs Planet X – Northside Cycling
Richard Middleton Batley Cycling Club
Robert Mitchell Out Of The Saddle
Tom Murray Tom Murray Cycling
Andrew Nichols Langsett Cycles RT
Daniel Nieto TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
Matthew Nowell Wheelbase Altura MGD
Alex Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Altura MGD
Ryan Perry Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
Charlie Renshaw Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
Billy Robinson Squadra RT
Ben Rowe Wheelbase Altura MGD
Joshua Ruddiman HD Revolutions (HDR)
Gregory Saunderson Wold Top Actif RT
Kieran Savage University of Sheffield CC
David Scott Rhino Velo Race Team
David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels Race Team
Benedict Spencer Loughborough Students CC
Oliver Swan Acre Racing Team
Connor Swift Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
Harry Tanfield Pedal Heaven
Jake Tanner Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
Gavin Taylor Prologue Racing Team
Thomas Traviss-Pollard Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
Adam Turner Andy Moore Autocentres Racing
Julian Varley Bikehaus by Ridley
Kirk Vickers Rhino Velo Race Team
Andrew Webster Bikehaus by Ridley
Harry White Bike Box Alan
Joseph White Acre Racing Team
Martin Woffindin Bikehaus by Ridley






Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK